We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth
Ranked #11 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent!!!!”
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

I have just returned from a short 2 night stay at the Hermitage hotel with my girlfriend . Well first off I would say 2 nights certainly isn't long enough. We stayed in the superior room which had everything we needed for a very comforting stay. The sea view was lovely to wake up to and the huge comfortable bed made sure we had a good nights sleep . The room was very clean on arrival and the staff were all very happy to help in any way they could. In general the hotel had a very classy feel to it and we felt like we were being looked after at all times . If I had to think of a negative I would struggle, the only thing I would say was the cooked breakfast could be improved slightly. Overall 10/10 we will be going back

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank benhoward6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    807
    332
    116
    36
    17
See reviews for
261
519
84
165
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (427)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

My husband and I 96 year old mum in law stayed for two nights.Both rooms had sea views, although our bed was a little small, the room and facilities were super. The food was lovely, the staff helpful and were very kind and polite to mum (who said she had a wonderful time and can't wait to go back again) The hotel is in great order, decor and furnishings are a great mixture of traditional and modern and its obvious that the customer is important. The hotel is between the two theatres so no need for taxis, its next to the park and a hop skip and a jump to the beach, very very convenient

Room Tip: have a sea view if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sue n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chard, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We always stay at this hotel when we come to Bournemouth, the staff are very helpful and friendly, our room was nice and clean, every thing about the room was fine, the other areas of the hotel were also clean and all kept up together, will stay here again in the future, well worth the 4 stars, also very close to the BIC.

Room Tip: We always stay in a double room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank josephine m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidcup, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We had a delightful second visit made special by the change of staff!
Charles in the restaurant is a perfect host and the reception staff second to none.
Location perfect for the beach and town.
Breakfast plentiful and dinners delicious.
Only prob was room was exceptionally hot and due to location of room we couldn't leave window open.

Room Tip: Choose a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheWeatherheads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton On Trent
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

My husband and i stayed for 2 nights at the Hermitage with my 2 sisters and brother-in-law's for a family get together whilst visiting the Pavillions to see the Bootleg Beatles. The Pavillions and the Bournemouth International centre is within a few minutes walking distance, as is Bournemouth town centre, the pier and beach.
The hotel was lovely. Our room - 212 was on the 2nd floor and located right outside the lift. Very easy access if you had mobility issues. It is a lovely large, quiet room with a big bay window which overlooks the pier and has a wonderul view of the sea. There is a large king size bed which was not really that comfortable. i spoke to Reception about it the next morning and when we retired to bed that evening, a mattress topper had been put on and this made it much more comfortable.
We were on a half board basis. The dinner was superb. The food was excellent and the service by Charles and his team was friendly and very professional. When we asked for more vegetables they were brought to us without any hesitation. The breakfast on the first morning was buffet style but served on the 2nd day. The buffet style was nicer, as was the selection to choose from. We all preferred to serve ourselves.
The tariff to stay at this hotel is quite expensive but I guess the service and food quality justifies the price. All the guests staying at this time appeared to be mature. I did not see any children present as there really isn't anything for them to do there since the swimming pool no longer exists. This is a shame but I guess as the beach and sea are very close and if the weather is good then there may not be a need for a pool.
I would most certainly stay at this hotel again and hope to return again shortly.

Room Tip: 212 - very large quiet room overlooking the sea and pier with large king size bed and fridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We visited Bournemouth overnight in March for the first time since our son started at Bournemouth University. Our room was fine, a decent size and with a newly updated bathroom. We had an evening meal in the hotel and that was good too. Breakfast was nothing special and service at breakfast seemed chaotic.The real problem came when we were leaving the hotel and the duty manager came out to show us that our car had been damaged by a wheelie bin during the night. In fact the wing mirror had been completely destroyed. We were told that the hotel would not accept liability, we took some pictures and left as we were already late for our lunch out with our son. When we got home I looked into liability rules and contacted the hotel as the cost of the damage was much higher than expected and legal forums suggested that the hotel may accept liability. The hotel were extremely slow at responding to emails. The hotel refused to accept liability ( if they had parked the car for us then liability would have been theirs), the cost was such that it didn't make sense financially to claim on insurance, nor to pursue damages through the small claims court. Eventually the hotel offered to pay 50% of the cost as a good will gesture, which we accepted. Unfortunately by the time the hotel accountants got to it 50% became 42%, which is what we have been paid. We had seen signs about the car park being covered by CCTV and been reassured by them ( our car was in an area NOT covered by CCTV though). Apparently there are signs about 'Parking at owners risk' but we did not see them.The shame is that the hotel had been good up to the point of showing us the damage and had they honoured their goodwill offer in full we may have returned. Needless to say we will not be going back as we no longer trust them. It's a shame.

Room Tip: If you are going to park you car at the hotel, get them to park it for you so that it would be cover...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kazzerbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helimad3, General Manager at The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
To explain, you parked your car in our complimentary car park and unfortunately this was damaged, there was no evidence, or indication of how this happened.

As a gesture of good will, we offered to pay towards the cost, through fear of a negative review suggestion.

Your garage invoice identified additional works; fluid top up, engine oil top up ,replacement break light bulb, wash and vacuum, Tyre pressure settings, to name but a few - all supposedly FOC.

Our goodwill payment represented more than 50% of the actual damage caused.

We do not believe that we acted unfairly and have been penalised with your negative comments, when in fact the damage was not caused by anyone or anything associated with the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Sorry, this place is REALLY convenient for the BIC and the staff are LOVELY but the hotel is tatty, tired, too warm and not worth its 4 stars. The corridors are narrow and cramped, the lift is dirty and tiny and the rooms are basic to say the least. The breakfast was ok but to be honest, this was the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. Bournemouth itself doesn't help. Its filthy and decaying.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sharon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.7 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,448 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.3 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Park Central Hotel
Park Central Hotel
#7 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,141 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Bournemouth
Hilton Bournemouth
#15 of 66 in Bournemouth
991 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#19 of 66 in Bournemouth
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth

Property: The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth
Address: Exeter Road, Bournemouth BH2 5AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#6 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star AA rated Bournemouth hotels, the Hermitage Hotel commands the very best location of all Bournemouth hotels - directly opposite the Pier, Beach, Pavilion and Bournemouth International Centre (BIC) with direct level access to the town centre gardens. Privately owned hotel with 74 en-suite rooms, many with sea views, complimentary onsite parking and WiFi for all guests. AA Rosette for food excellence serving breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea and dinner, a quality Bournemouth restaurant. Perfect for residential conferences, fully equipped meeting room hire with boardroom layout facilities or the ideal venue to hold private parties and celebrations, ladies festival or Christmas office parties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bournemouth Hermitage Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing