We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth
Ranked #14 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

1,289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    793
    330
    115
    34
    17
See reviews for
259
512
77
165
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (420)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eastleigh, Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We took a group of visually impaired people for lunch at the Hermitage. We were very well looked after and enjoyed a really delicious lunch. Those members who were unable to walk into the gardens were free to stay in the lounge of the hotel and chat and/or have tea and coffee. This outing proved to be one of our most successful!

Room Tip: We were not resident in the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pauline034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Having not been to Bournemouth for twenty five years it was a surprise to find Bournemouth and the surrounding area well worth a visit. The conference centres are modern which are a big improvement since my last visit.
The hotel have excellent staff . I believe that reception staff set the tone of a hotel . Right from the front door to the bedroom staff the quality showed through.
The breakfast was superb. The bacon was the proper stuff and the whole buffet was excellent.
We had a few evening meals which were well presented with the fish dishes a speciality.
The head waiter never stopped and made sure our every need was supplied.

Room Tip: The front rooms have a great view but are too hot especially when the sun is at his best. The wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthernIreland8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Just returned from our third stay at the hermitage and as usual a faultless stay again! From the Reception staff to the cleaning staff all extremely friendly and helpful. Food excellent and such a restful ambiance . Will be returning

Room Tip: For single travelers rooms 411 and 412 sea view excellent but still not enough plugs!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We booked into this hotel very last minute and were given a wonderful sea view room! It was beautifully clean, well decorated and very comfortable. We had a brilliant sea view and enjoyed the fireworks on the pier from our grandstand view.

We had lovely clean fluffy towels and good toiletries. There was a variety of drinks on the hospitality tray and biscuits for us both which was a nice touch. Just would have liked a light by the tray as it was in a dark corner and was worried about spilling boiling water. Bedside lights were also a little inaccessible. It was great to have two chairs and a table to sit and have a cuppa and read the paper and watch the sea.

Breakfast was good with quite a variety to choose from. The hot chocolate was wonderful and they had my favourite jam which signifies to me a hotel with class! We had one evening meal in the lounge area and this was very tasty and good value for money too!

The ambience and decor in the hotel were very good and it was a very welcoming environment.

All the staff were friendly, helpful, diligent and welcoming. We have stayed in a number of hotels in Bournemouth over the years and this is one of the best we have stayed in! We will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed in a family room (603) and it was like a separate flat - almost unbelievably spacious. Perfect for us.

I thought the service at breakfast was poor - none of the girls spoke English and I had to get up twice to ask for coffee (which was nice) and toast (which was stone cold). The hot breakfast selection was fine (apart from the raw sloppy scrambled egg) and the ubley yoghurt was lovely, as was the fresh fruit and juice. The only real let down was the cheap nasty pastries.

We would definitely stay here again, location is fantastic. Reception staff were very welcoming and efficient, as was the bar staff. Well done!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank katelouise_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I was there for a little meeting with my business partner couple weeks ago , then unfortunately I miss my train back to Liverpool thanks God the Hermitage has an amazing receptionist they help me to found the wright and better solution for my last minute stay over night the take my problems like was their problems and I have to thanks all the reception above all special two lady which of course I don't remember their names one speaks with a touch latin accent and another sounds Russian I think BIRBA is her name (apologize) very tall lady. anyway I just want to thanks all the Hermitage hotel the management and the housekeeping for the cleanest room .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carleverton10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,387 reviews
0.0 mi away
Park Central Hotel
Park Central Hotel
#7 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#6 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hilton Bournemouth
Hilton Bournemouth
#15 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth

Property: The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth
Address: Exeter Road, Bournemouth BH2 5AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#6 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#9 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star AA rated Bournemouth hotels, the Hermitage Hotel commands the very best location of all Bournemouth hotels - directly opposite the Pier, Beach, Pavilion and Bournemouth International Centre (BIC) with direct level access to the town centre gardens. Privately owned hotel with 74 en-suite rooms, many with sea views, complimentary onsite parking and WiFi for all guests. AA Rosette for food excellence serving breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea and dinner, a quality Bournemouth restaurant. Perfect for residential conferences, fully equipped meeting room hire with boardroom layout facilities or the ideal venue to hold private parties and celebrations, ladies festival or Christmas office parties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bournemouth Hermitage Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing