We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classy facade, brassy room” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth
Ranked #12 of 68 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Wimbledon
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Classy facade, brassy room”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2008

Stayed there this weekend. The hotel is in a good, but not necessarily the best location, its a moot point. It has direct access to the main park/water gardens that leads to the town centre. It would be great with its night time fairy lights if it were not for local youths drunk out of their skulls. The hotel also has acess to the pier and beach without having to cross the road and some of the better restaurants are about ten minutes walk away. A tad disappointed with the hotel itself though. A car park way too small, means you have to double park and leave your keys with reception. The hotels impressive facade, including a mysterous glass rotundra and uniformed staff, give it an oldy world and high class feel. However, the rooms also hark back to another era. Ours was big and very clean, but it was also very cold when we arrived and I had to call reception. A portable heater was promptly provided however. It was clearly an issue on the minds of at least one other guest, as it was under discussion at reception. The decor and furniture though adequate were not warm, nor was the lighting and the bed side lamps difficult to operate. The bathroom was a good size and seemed more modern. On a bizarre note, in order to reach our room we had to cut through a main dining area, which at one point was holding a private function. The staff were OK but very uneven in the service provided especially at reception. Value for money yes, would we stay there again, possibly. Its location is probably its strongest selling point. In terms of facilities it could do a lot better.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Facilities and car park
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RaynesMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    784
    323
    112
    32
    16
See reviews for
253
501
76
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
48 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2008

We stayed in the hotel as part of a group for a large function on the Saturday night.

The hotel itself was faultless, we were pleased with our room which was spotlessly clear if not a little on the small side. We understood that there were larger rooms - perhaps we drew the short straw - so worth asking!

We arrived just after midday on the Saturday to check in, although this is normally from 2.00pm onwards. The person on the desk made a bit of a song and dance about this and so when we asked her to check if the room was in fact ready, she told us that it was and we could go to the room straight away.

Our 6 course dinner was excellent, overseen by the highly efficient Charles who has apparently been at the hotel for years - what a character! He rules his staff with a rod of iron and this certainly pays off as the service and attention to detail were impeccable. Only slight criticism was the ineffective ventilation and air conditioning in the dining room. This does need attention as the heat was unbearable and as a result not all the guests stayed on for the disco afterwards.

With its proximity to the beach and town centre certainly made The Hermitage an excellent choice for us.

  • Liked — Its superb location and proximity to the sea front and town centre.
  • Disliked — Slightly small bedroom and poor ventilation in the dining room.
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank awmw2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aldershot
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2008

Came with 40 colleagues for a Weekend Conference early October and have nothing but praise for the high standard of cuisine , sheer professionalism of staff and high quality of rooms and of course the very best location. Highly reccomended !

  • Liked — newly tastefully refurbished ,warm and comfortable.
  • Disliked — some traffic noise
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank pavloAldershot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wiltshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2008

First of all we recommend that you check out booking through lastminute.com! we nearly halved the price!!!

The hotel is situated at the heart of the city center with everything you could ever need on your doorstep! pubs and clubs arent too far away and just a stones throw away from the beach! hotel lobby is very clean and tidy... we could hardly believe it was only a three star! when we arrived at the room we found it to be very tidy and spacious. everyhting was just as we expected and we even had an extra bed! plenty of space for clothes and other items. If you get bored when you first get there and find yourself at a loose end, try and fit in the wardrobe! my girlfriend could!. THE BEDS ARE VERY QUIET. the one quibble we have with the place is that we didnt have a freeview or wi-fi but we think that was just our room (suite 3 room 613) but you dont go to a hotel to watch tv anyway... do you? overall we satisfied with our stay but if your going to use the breakfast facilities we recommend you take your own as the basic one is pretty damn poor to say the least. we recommend just going to wetherspoons just round the corner. if you go down in the morning you may notice a piano that plays itself! i realise this may not interest everyone but would encourage you to watch it for a bit incase it entertains you as much as it did us! to sum it up we had an excellent stay and would recommend it to anyone!

  • Liked — piano
  • Disliked — waiter at breakfast
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lukecottis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west midlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2008

give us this day our daily bread !

Stayed at the Hermitage Hotel for one week at the end of July.

The Hermitage is an impressive looking Victorian hotel right in the heart of Bournemouth, it's position means that you can walk to the pier and beaches,lower gardens and shopping centre without having to cross a main road.

The reception area/lounge is very relaxing with chesterfield settees and a huge wooden fireplace, reception staff were very friendly and helpful ,as are all the staff in this hotel.

Bedrooms vary a lot in size and shape,all with high ceilings and are kept spotlessly clean with nice fluffy white towels in the bathroom, unfortunately, the first impressions of the rooms seems that they have not been "made up" by the cleaning staff.

The beds only have duvets on them,this means that the base of the beds are on show with the manufacturers name all over them and steel brackets holding the two halves together, in my opinion it spoils the whole look of the room because the beds are not "dressed"correctly.

The restaurant is very nice and spacious with plenty of light coming in from the leaded patio doors halfway round the room, again , the room has a huge wooden fireplace.

Breakfasts are the usual help yourself cold meats/cereals/fruits first course followed by English breakfast, but these were disappointing in quality and quantity,egg, one slice of bacon, half a tomato, half a flat mushroom if the mushroom was more than 3" in diameter and two very thin sausages with very thick skins! and black pudding.

Main meals were an endurance test , for half of the week it took nearly two hours to serve 3 courses and although butter was on the table ,we had to ask for bread most of the week!.

Quality of the main courses were mixed considering their AA rosette for culinary excellence with some being very nice but others especially the beef and fish were disappointing.

Vegetables were served onto the plates from small dishes using fork and spoons, this took ages and in most cases if four people were on the table this was not enough to go round.

Please Hermitage- just put the vegetable dish on the table so that we can help ourselves- this will speed up the dining experience.

All of the deserts were delicious.

Although I have split hairs in some areas, on the whole it was a very enjoyable holiday, and the hotel management are improving the hotel all the time by upgrading rooms and making improvements for the better.

  • Liked — clean hotel great location
  • Disliked — no air conditioning
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wandererWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckingham
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2008

Paid £98 for double room (inland facing) & continental breakfast. Check-in was efficient & friendly. Room was surprisingly large and light although the view of / noise from the generator could have been better (room 203). Nice new plasma TV. Good wardrobe space. Bathroom tired but ok - at least it was clean. Reception desk very helpful in getting a taxi for us, and in chasing it twice when it took an age to arrive. Barman / night receptionist was friendly & efficient. To 'upgrade' to full English breakfast was only an additional £2.75 each! Well worth it - very tasty, but not a huge portion. Only real negative of the whole stay was the intrusive door between the dining room / kitchen which slammed shut each time the staff came through it - very loud and needs addressing by the hotel. Oh and the parking was limited and VERY tight. Not good if you have a medium to large size car (unless you have a good co-driver!)

  • Liked — Great location
  • Disliked — Slamming dining room door
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
83 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2008

I wanted a nice romantic hotel to celebrate our 12th year wedding anniversary. This hotel was absoluteley fabulous, clean and very comfortable and I particularily liked the character to the reception and restuarants. Would recommend this hotel if you want a central hotel for the shops that is made better by being on the sea front.

Thanks for a great weekend.

  • Liked — Style and authenticity
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julesby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
0.0 mi away
Park Central Hotel
Park Central Hotel
#6 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#15 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
1.1 mi away
Derby Manor Hotel
Derby Manor Hotel
#1 of 68 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth

Property: The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth
Address: Exeter Road, Bournemouth BH2 5AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#6 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#9 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star AA rated Bournemouth hotels, the Hermitage Hotel commands the very best location of all Bournemouth hotels - directly opposite the Pier, Beach, Pavilion and Bournemouth International Centre (BIC) with direct level access to the town centre gardens. Privately owned hotel with 74 en-suite rooms, many with sea views, complimentary onsite parking and WiFi for all guests. AA Rosette for food excellence serving breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea and dinner, a quality Bournemouth restaurant. Perfect for residential conferences, fully equipped meeting room hire with boardroom layout facilities or the ideal venue to hold private parties and celebrations, ladies festival or Christmas office parties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bournemouth Hermitage Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing