We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite a Find”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth
Ranked #11 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Pembury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Quite a Find”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I recently had to go to Bournemouth on business and found myself booked into this excellent hotel. The Hermitage is ideally located - a very short walk from the beach but also close to the town centre. The room was comfortable and the public areas light and airy but what really made it stand out for me was the staff. Everyone we dealt with there was extremely helpful and very pleasant to deal with. We had a very early start to the day the following morning. The desk staff apologised that they couldn't provide us with a hot breakfast that early (6am) but offered to deliver a continental breakfast to our rooms - and it was excellent and there was plenty of it.
A really enjoyable stay in a friendly and comfortable hotel. It well deserves its 4 star status.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rickbtv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    805
    332
    116
    35
    17
See reviews for
261
519
81
165
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

It was 1st time we stayed Hermitage I must say We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and in particular the Excellent staff. I could not describe highly enough of the dedication in ensuring our stay was totally memorable. Specially reception staff(Anneles) as I have been served 3 times. staff really worked hard on our needs, Reception staffs are very informative & polite.especially as we had a vehicle involved they allowing us to park extra 3 hours after we checked out.This hotel got a very good parking facilities.Hotels in a top location.we stayed room 308 Beds were great rooms spacious,lovely sea view ,Excellent Breakfast well worth the effort.we will definitely coming back soon.Highly recommended .

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HATCH GATE I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
212 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Although the hotel web site has several room types, we used Booking.com which only had "double room" so did not have high expectations. Our room was very large, additional area with desk, coffee etc, and very large bathroom. All were spotless, and we had a sea view. Only food we had was breakfast, which was very good, and the dining room is very well run. Tables cleared promptly, coffee and toast order taken quickly, and supplied within minutes. A better fruit selection would have been nice would be only criticism. Location, with free car parking could not be better.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Al H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The Hermitage is our favoured hotel of the six in which we have stayed in Bournemouth. It is situated some 200 yds from glorious beaches and a short stroll through the well manicured park to the very good shopping centre. We stayed in a "superior " room with some features not often found in more prestigious establishments (a Nespresso machine, Terry towelling bathrobes, tissues and bottled water) The hotel's Victorian origins are seen in high ceilings and elaborate coving in the well appointed public areas which reflect thoughtful updating.
Menus are varied, well presented and good value. The wine list is balanced and refreshingly short; house wines start at around £17.
The only downside to a sea view room was the persistent sound of pop and rock in the evening from the covered stage some 200 yds away offset only partly by double glazed windows.

Room Tip: Look for a superior room on the second or higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stayed at the Hermitage with my partner and 3 boys in a spacious family suite. Hotel staff very helpful and welcoming. Breakfast menu quite extensive . tasty full English! Drink prices very reasonable. Only grumble was it was too hot . We did have a fan in the room though. Air Conditioning would have made our stay perfect.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank carlin_baker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Just come back from a three night stay at The Hermitage Hotel. My wife says I'm fussy when it comes to staying in hotels and she's right! I can't stand roughing it and I'm glad to say I couldn't complain about anything at The Hermitage Hotel. The family suite (617) was very spacious and the bathroom was large, there wasn't a view from the windows but we booked last minute and were just glad they could find us a room. The hotel is situated in the best possible location, just minutes from the beach and the town is a short pleasant walk through the wonderful gardens. The staff are very helpful and professional and I must mention the cleaning staff who made our room look like new every day.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This hotel had lovely staff and they are very friendly and helpful but for me the breakfast let it down. I do not eat a cooked breakfast and lack of fresh fruit and not a good choice of cereals .Coffee was warm not hot most morning and toast not done enough When I ask for porridge it came warm not hot .

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank k_booroff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.7 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,421 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.3 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Park Central Hotel
Park Central Hotel
#7 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,125 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Bournemouth
Hilton Bournemouth
#15 of 66 in Bournemouth
957 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Collingwood
Hotel Collingwood
#8 of 66 in Bournemouth
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth

Property: The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth
Address: Exeter Road, Bournemouth BH2 5AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#6 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star AA rated Bournemouth hotels, the Hermitage Hotel commands the very best location of all Bournemouth hotels - directly opposite the Pier, Beach, Pavilion and Bournemouth International Centre (BIC) with direct level access to the town centre gardens. Privately owned hotel with 74 en-suite rooms, many with sea views, complimentary onsite parking and WiFi for all guests. AA Rosette for food excellence serving breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea and dinner, a quality Bournemouth restaurant. Perfect for residential conferences, fully equipped meeting room hire with boardroom layout facilities or the ideal venue to hold private parties and celebrations, ladies festival or Christmas office parties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bournemouth Hermitage Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing