We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, close to the beach and great service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth
Ranked #12 of 68 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
London
1 review
“Clean, close to the beach and great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2009

We arrived in Bournemouth not having booked ahead and discovered this hotel when we were driving past the beach. It is a 3 star, but makes a very good attempt at being better than that. It is seconds from the pier and a beautiful park containing the famous (infamous!) Bournemouth Eye, which is an experience.

The staff were friendly and we were upgraded to a superior room at no extra cost. The room was spacious and clean.

Very pleased with this hotel and happy to recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryandMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    784
    323
    112
    32
    16
See reviews for
253
501
76
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Staines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2009

Our party was of 69 in total. Some were staying the whole weekend and a few could only make it for the Saturday night. Everyone agreed at the end of the weekend what a great time was had by all. All the staff were polite and friendly and would go that extra yard to ensure that our stay was enjoyable.
The accommodation is of a high standard the rooms being light and airy, clean and with all the usual amenities - coffee making, TV, hairdryer, iron etc. However no mini bars.
The restaurant staff were attentive and the food was exceptional, well presented and sufficient for even the heartiest trencherman. Breakfast is buffet style and continually replenished.
Position wise you couldn't want for a better place - directly opposite the pier and next to the gardens. No roads to cross when you want to go for an after dinner consitutional along the promenade.
All in all an extremely friendly hotel.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrickyMickyStaines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2009

The best thing about the hotel is the location. Literally a stone's throw from the BIC, The Hermitage is a striking building with sea views. We got a free upgrade to a superior room with a sea view (just about!) as we changed our booking at the last minute, which was a result, but did highlight how expensive it is as the new room was large and bright and with some period style, but not the height of luxury or anything.

It's very quiet (a few creaky floorboards from upstairs notwithstanding) and the room was very clean. We didn't eat there, although the restaurant and eating areas are spacious and quite plush. Room service had a distinct lack of veggie options - none! - but we weren't planning on using it anyway and I'm sure they would sort something out if asked.

I agree with another reviewer that it is pretty geared up for older, well to do people, and there was certainly a masonic vibe on one of the evenings as I'm sure I saw a funny handshake or two at a large function they were holding. So, all a bit Hyacinth Bouquet in the lobby etc.

I would probably stay here again, especially if I was going to the BIC or Pavillion, but for a longer stay I reckon there are probably better bargains to be had.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LolaBirdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2009

I can understand why this hotel has some very good reviews, but I am 30 and my feeling is that it would generally be more to the taste of older visitors.

My room was perfectly clean and tidy and reasonably sized. The hotel staff were extremely pleasant and helpful and the location was good for both the sea front and the centre of the town. The continental breakfast was also fairly decent and served in a very light dining room. There is free wi-fi, which functioned very well.

I have given it a neutral rating to reflect the fact that I thought it had a very dated feel notwithstanding the wi-fi. I got a strong sense that the hotel was aimed at older visitors. The decor seemed dated, albeit not especially worn. The newspaper on the reception desk was the Daily Mail. I think the place is popular with Masonic lodges. The atmosphere in the breakfast room was not particularly relaxed and the service a little bit over-attentive for my liking.

I think that my choice of this hotel was influenced by the very modern impression given by the glamorous photo of the hotel lit up at night used on the hotel's tripadvisor page. In my view it is not representative of the whole.

Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonTraveller1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2009

Stayed one night on business - wasn't sure what to expect but opted for this hotel based purely upon earlier reviews. Turned up at midday - booked in no problem. Was given free room upgrade to a suite which was very nice indeed. The room and hotel are pleasantly decorated and clean (these being important criteria to me), the staff very helpfull and breakfast excellent. Location was a pleasant surprise with the hotel being directly opposite the pier but sufficiently back enough to avoid blast of coastal winds. Only note of slight discontent was when booking out the receptionist tried to make me pay even though I'd already paid via booking website - luckily I had my Blackberry and was able to show her mail containing pre-paid voucher.

  • Liked — Value
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BizTravels_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northamptonshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2009

We have just returned yesterday, our second time at this wonderful hotel, the reception staff, restuarant staff,show professionalisam at all times, the high standards of the hotel are absotuleley wonderful, rooms are spotlessly clean, and i can say you would have to go a very long way to find such wonderful food i have stayed in 4 and 5 star hotels but not eaten such lovely food as you will find here, going back next jan already booked,
THANK YOU TO ALL THE STAFF

  • Liked — EVERYTHING
  • Disliked — NOTHING
  • Stayed January 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drywhite1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ninfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2008

Paid for a superior room and it was lovely. Large well equipped bedroom and bathroom with lovely view across to the pier and beach. Breakfast and dinner were enjoyed each day and all the staff were friendly. In response to my food intolerance to dairy products, the hotel supplied soya milk and ensured I had a choice of food in the evenings. Newspaper was outside the door before 7 a.m. We would recommend room 314. We stayed for four nights and the main purpose was just to be looked after for a few days. The Hermitage did just that.

  • Liked — clean, warm and comfortable
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank JofNinfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
0.0 mi away
Park Central Hotel
Park Central Hotel
#6 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#15 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
1.1 mi away
Derby Manor Hotel
Derby Manor Hotel
#1 of 68 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth

Property: The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth
Address: Exeter Road, Bournemouth BH2 5AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#6 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#9 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star AA rated Bournemouth hotels, the Hermitage Hotel commands the very best location of all Bournemouth hotels - directly opposite the Pier, Beach, Pavilion and Bournemouth International Centre (BIC) with direct level access to the town centre gardens. Privately owned hotel with 74 en-suite rooms, many with sea views, complimentary onsite parking and WiFi for all guests. AA Rosette for food excellence serving breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea and dinner, a quality Bournemouth restaurant. Perfect for residential conferences, fully equipped meeting room hire with boardroom layout facilities or the ideal venue to hold private parties and celebrations, ladies festival or Christmas office parties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bournemouth Hermitage Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing