We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding, 5 star treatment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth
Ranked #9 of 67 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2010

We attended a Wedding reception at the hotel , the service was 5 star from start to finish, from Mr Moss, Maria and Sarah to the kitchen and Restaurant and Portering nothing was too much trouble it was like being in a top notch hotel. The food was cooked to perfection, served HOT and plentiful portions at each course considering our reception was 103 it was excellent, and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel for a stay or function. The evening buffet was also well organised and plentiful as well, and the staff throughout the hotel went out of their way to make it a great celebration without any fuss, keep up the great work you all achieve its the BEST bournemouth has to offer

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ianexamsBournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,358)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,220 - 1,226 of 1,358 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2010

The title says it all really. We had a brilliant stay here and were very impressed with the attentive staff, great breakfast with huge choices, lovely furnished, comfortable room and fantastic position. We WILL be back.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hello-grandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2010

We had a lovely stay at The Hermitage, all the staff were well trained, welcoming and professional. The rooms were up to scratch and the location couldn't have been better. We literally stepped out of the front door into Bournemouth Gardens with the beach and pier a stones throw away, perfect for a bit of exploring. To top it off the restaurant was exceptional with my partner particularly enjoying the fillet steak - compliments to the chef! We look forward to returning next year.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gemlizmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2010

On our first night we noticed the hot tap was faulty, when coming back to our room from breakfast we reported it. Within 20 mins a man was knocking at the door to solve our little problem. Could you want more?
Reception staff are very warm and welcoming.
We asked for a sea view, in room 107 you can see the sea between the trees but the flat roof is a bit of an eye sore, but hey we could see the sea, so thats ok.
Room was ok, but very clean, our tv was fine, but we did not go away to watch telly.
ALL YES ALL STAFF are very good. Breakfast always looked fresh and very tasty, and it was ( BLOODY GOOD FRY UP) and my wife enjoyed the healthy options.
As the title says YES WE WOULD BOOK AGAIN.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ADILes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2010

A bit of a disappointment considering the price and the previous tripadvisor reviews.
Location is superb, 2 mins from the beach, park & conference centre, 5 mins from the balloon & 10 mins from the town centre.
The hotel website says 'please note that all views are pleasant'. This is clearly not the case, our room 217 overlooked a fire escape & the rear of the hotel, a really grotty view! I asked for 2 room keys and was told that they didn't have a spare key! The window lock did not work and this was temporarily adjusted but failed again the next day. Annoying, particularly bearing in mind the fire escape & a sign on the window telling you to keep the window locked. The room itself was acceptable, very clean and the beds & shower OK. The Freeview TV however was useless, virtually no reception on any of the main channels, again very annoying.
The hotel does have an 'old' feel about it but this is not a bad thing. Breakfast was pretty standard fare. Staff above average, very polite waiter at breakfast.

West Beach fish grill to the right of the pier, 2 mins from the hotel is recommended. Oysters, lobster, fish of the day all excellent, we paid £75 for lunch for 2 including wine.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank si469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2010

Stayed here for the first time for one week, but definitely not the last . We can understand why people book and book again. The majoriity of the customers we spoke to had all stayed before and some of them on a regular basis. The position of the hotel with its proximity to the gardens, pier and shops speaks for itself and cannot be beaten by any other.We had a recently refurbished large sea-view room on the first floor- excellent views.
The food is very good and we feel they have a hand-picked butcher; the meat being of excellent quality. Well done everybody and a big thankyou to your gem on reception - Julie

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Johm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2010

This hotel benefits from being situated in one of the best locations on Bournemouth seafront. It is located adjacent to the gardens and directly opposite Bournemouth Pier. I arrived early at the hotel but my room was not ready. This was not a problem and the room was available when I checked back with the hotel shortly after the guaranteed check in time. I had booked a single sea view room. The room was located on the third floor and my first impression on entering the room was that it was an acceptable size given that I was travelling alone and the view was excellent. Free wifi was also available in the room and tea/coffee and small flat screen tv with Freeview channels was also provided. However, the corridor outside my room was quite narrow and at times during the night I was disturbed by other guests brushing and knocking up against my door. The room also had quite a musky smell initially which thankfully evaporated later in the day. I can only assume that the smell belonged to the previous person who stayed in the room! Check out and staff service was very good and overall it was a positive experience but there are areas to be improved.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ViennaVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0 mi away
Park Central Hotel
Park Central Hotel
#5 of 67 in Bournemouth
1,236 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Exeter Hotel
Royal Exeter Hotel
#8 of 67 in Bournemouth
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 67 in Bournemouth
3,614 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#4 of 67 in Bournemouth
932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth

Address: Exeter Road, Bournemouth BH2 5AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#6 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: £79 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star AA rated Bournemouth hotels, the Hermitage Hotel commands the very best location of all Bournemouth hotels - directly opposite the Pier, Beach, Pavilion and Bournemouth International Centre (BIC) with direct level access to the town centre gardens. Privately owned hotel with 74 en-suite rooms, many with sea views, complimentary onsite parking and WiFi for all guests. AA Rosette for food excellence serving breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea and dinner, a quality Bournemouth restaurant. Perfect for residential conferences, fully equipped meeting room hire with boardroom layout facilities or the ideal venue to hold private parties and celebrations, ladies festival or Christmas office parties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bournemouth Hermitage Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing