We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“returning to the Ullwater Hotel”
Review of Ullswater Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ullswater Hotel
Ranked #49 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“returning to the Ullwater Hotel”
Reviewed 7 June 2013

We have booked our 2 week break again with the Ullswater, last year was fantastic, well looked after, good food, comfortable room and short walk to the beach can't be bad can't wait for the 15th June.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Irene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    58
    45
    17
    13
See reviews for
33
83
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

My Husband and I stayed at the Ullswater Hotel on Saturday 1st June.
The welcome was friendly and the staff efficient.The room was clean and nicely decorated.
We ate at the Hotel and for £15.95 each we had a 3 course dinner and coffee.
The service in the restaurant was very good and the food served hot,and good value for money.
This Hotel has a really nice atmosphere and friendly staff.
We definately will be staying there again.

Room Tip: Room 2 is a great family room,and room 7 has a really nice queen size bed which was very comfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 May 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in mid May and had a very enjoyable experience. Once from the beginning when we arrived, we were made to feel very welcome. Nothing was too much and the staff were all very friendly. At breakfast the service was excellent too, with the coffee on continuous supply. It was in a great location to the station and Bournemouth town centre. Would definitely recommend and will return next year.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo0582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UllswaterBournemouth, Owner at Ullswater Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Thank you for your realistic, positive comments.
As a small family run hotel we strive to offer great value for money and have great staff, unlike many of the large 4-5star hotels, who do not have "hands on" management.
We look forward to you visiting us again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We were in Bournemouth for a convention at BIC and had been booked into the Ullswater, reception was fast and efficient, and our room though not large was on the 3rd floor, however there was a small, not modern, but efficient lift which answered our calls more quickly than some with high level software. The shower room had a rather too high step into the shower with no grab handle - a potential problem for people with either knee or hip problems. The whole room was clean and well maintained, the bed soft enough for my husband to have no back problems.
Breakfast service was as eficient as it could be, given the number of staff on duty.
My main problem was with the group meal we'd ordered, no vegitarian option on the menu, the soup felt to be pre prepared, and the chicken & mushroom pie's pastry was only acceptable, veg sweetcorn & savoy cabbage, the potatoes I didn't eat.
Bar prices felt high but I don't drink in hotels very often.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EABlam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Not having stayed at Bournemouth before, the task of finding a nice hotel that fitted our budget was as daunting as ever. Then we located details of the Ullswater Hotel, looked closely into what was said and made our decision. It sounded really good....and it was. From the smiling faces at reception to the clean and well presented room, it was indeed a hidden gem. We stayed nearly a week and enjoyed the location. Breakfasts were served in good portions and seconds for toast or coffee were never an issue. Servicing of the room was done regularly and thoroughly. The Ullswater is a easy walk to the Esplanade and the walk around the high cliffs is a joy, but take a jacket if the weather isn't sunny. There is an evening meal available if you require one and the bar is open to quench your thirst after a long walk.
All in all, our stay was everything we wanted. Don't believe any poor reviews until you have experienced the Ullswater for yourself.
Susanne & Gerard

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shamrock-Estates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

I went to this hotel on March 4th for 5 days, we arrived at the hotel approximately5 45 pm , the first thing that hit us when we walked through the front door was the heat, I was amazed as there were so many bugs around, we all know that bugs thrive on heat.......there was a coach in from Torquay, and ours from Scotland, The food in this hotel was poor, there was no vegan choice at all......by the end of the 5 days the devon bus had the driver and some of the passengers down with sickness and dhiarea ....and our bus with the same and flu virus, after our stay we were told there was more coming in at weekend and next week, the hotel needed a good cleaing and fumagating I know our bus was being done this week, I will not be going back to this hotel at all,the area we visited ...Winchester,Burley and Salisbury and Lindhurst were beautiful places, loved the New Forest too, would love to see those places again , but definately NOT at the Ullswater Hotel................................

Room Tip: My friends had a very good room that was a twin no. 10 on first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lynda M E S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliveBournemouth, Owner at Ullswater Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
Dear Madam, as Hotelliers we have to take on board guests comments to enable us to provide the best possible service and accomodation.
However, having read the absolute garbage that you wrote, i feel compelled to respond accordingly.
Firstly, I have been in touch with the coach company that bought you and they have advised that they have received no complaints from the last 4 tours they had at this hotel, which averaged 45 passengers each tour. Not only that, the passengers who were actually ill advised us that people already had the bug on the connecting mini-bus to the coach and that is where they believed they caught it ! The coach driver also confirmed people were already ill on the way down.
The other coach, a bowls tour from Torquay were certainly not the culprits although their driver ended up falling ill on the day of departure.
Had the hotel been cold the i suppose you would have cause to also complain !
The coach company has also advised us they did not have mention of anybody being a Vegan when booking so they are also dismayed by the comments about the menu. In fact our vegetarian menu has 6 dishes suitable for vegans out of 11 possible choices.
Had you bought any problems to our attention we could have provided a solution to your dilemma, but you chose not to for some reason.
You mention the coach being fumigated and that the hotel needed to be deep cleaned. Well i take offence at this particularly as you have not the slightest knowledge of our cleaning chemicals and techniques when somebody is taken ill. Its is certainly more than just a fumigation.
Why all the postive approving points marked at the bottom of the review may we ask ?
May i suggest that should you wish people to take notice of such reviews you improve the spelling as well as useing a full stop or two !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

We booked this hotel for the Christmas, twixmas and New Year break. When we arrived we were not the only guests booking in. In fact there were possibly eight or nine other couples in front of us. We prepared for a lengthy wait. How wrong could we be. The queue cleared in what seemed like seconds. We were greeted by Samantha and quickly found ourselves in the lift on the way up to our room.

Ours was a fairly late booking so we weren't expecting the finest room in the hotel. I had also emailed ahead to request a particular facility in our room, it was provided without fuss. Our room exceeded our expectations with all modern fittings, easy chairs, lots of hanging space, flat screen TV and what we discovered was a very comfortable bed. The newly refurbished shower room was superb with a spacious curved cubicle and exceptional flow of water. We could not have wished for a better room. It transpired that the cleaning was first class and throughout our stay the central heating was controllable so we were never too hot or too cold. It should be said that the management close the hotel to visitors in January in order to refurbish a number of rooms and certain parts of the hotel.

Having described the room I should say that we had booked to celebrate Christmas and the New Year and didn't expect to spend much of the break in the room so we were soon down in the lounge bar. It is well stocked with reasonable prices and the service is second to none. Always someone on hand whatever time of day or evening. It is a comfortable area, sometimes quiet, other times busy but because of the intimate atmosphere it was very easy to become friendly with all of the hotel guests. I can't recall speaking to many people that had not stayed at the Ullswater previously. Some had been visiting for many years and it was not difficult to work out why. The proprietors were simply outstanding in everything that they did.

The restaurant staff were first class, nothing was ever too much trouble, the service was effiicient and friendly but never rushed, it was just perfect. The Christmas menu was nothing short of outstanding, always plenty of choice, well presented which left us thinking that we had a very special meal. Same went for New Year and even twixmas was excellent.

Entertainment was brilliant throughout our stay. The Christmas package includes a mystery tour and a visit to the pantomime at the local theatre. The weather was very wet throughout most of our stay but there was always something happening in the lounge bar, bingo, quizzes competitions, visit from Mr Christmas, tea, coffee biscuits, chocolates on the bar, bowls of fresh fruit dotted around and bar snacks.

There is, however, one negative aspect to our stay and that is that our holiday, eventually had to end. When we left we received a sincere and friendly farewell from our hosts Samantha and Paul and their lovely daughter Molly and son Jack. All in all this was a memorable festive break, packed full of fun and laughter but on the financial side this holiday was unbelievably good value for money. I can wholeheartedly recommend the hotel and the break as having the lot.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobLaight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UllswaterBournemouth, Owner at Ullswater Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
Many thanks for your kind comments. It certainly was enjoyable and a good time had by all, even Santa Claus when he visited with presents. We are pleased to hear you had such a good, relaxing stay and hope you choose to spend another holiday with us sometime. We wish you both a happy and healthy 2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
West Cliff Inn
West Cliff Inn
#52 of 66 in Bournemouth
399 reviews
0.2 mi away
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
#51 of 66 in Bournemouth
482 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#35 of 66 in Bournemouth
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Durley Grange Hotel
Durley Grange Hotel
#33 of 66 in Bournemouth
402 reviews
0.2 mi away
New Westcliff Hotel
New Westcliff Hotel
#50 of 66 in Bournemouth
494 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Montague Hotel
Best Western Montague Hotel
#46 of 66 in Bournemouth
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ullswater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ullswater Hotel

Property: Ullswater Hotel
Address: West Cliff Gardens, Bournemouth BH2 5HW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ullswater Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Ullswater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing