We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“spot on”
Review of Ullswater Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ullswater Hotel
Ranked #46 of 67 Hotels in Bournemouth
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Wanted a hotel near the BIC and ullswater fitted the bill. Only 200yds from beach and 5 mins to the BIC.We had a room on the 3rd floor front and if you looked between the buildings on the front you could even see the sea.The room was clean,warm,comfy had just what was needed for our stay. We asked for a ice bucket and staff were happy to help no problem.Breakfast was good again staff helpful friendly.Only drawback is on street parking can be difficult but reception happy to help, they may ask to keep your keys to move vehicles if you need to block someone in, so if you get a spot leave it there.Overall a great stay thanks.

Room Tip: top floor front, can see the sea thru the houses
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank adam b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 210 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2013

stayed here for four nights ,room was (44) quite big nice and clean the only down side was the sink in the room much prefer sinks in bathrooms, the shower was very small and it only had two
settings red hot or ice cold, the menu on the hotels web site says that there is a different fish dish every night eg red sea bream, scampi, cod, the fish that was on the menu we had was hake every night, the breakfast was very good and the staff were very helpful over all it is a good hotel

Room Tip: ground floor room are noisy at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank diverden22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We booked this hotel as part of a group travelling to Bournemouth to play golf. It is a lovely friendly hotel. Excellent value and the rooms have been recently decorated. The food was good, and the staff extremely friendly and helpful. While we were there they had a murder mystery weekend. We hadn't specifically booked, but they let us join in anyway. It was great fun, and the company that did it were very professional. I would highly recommend it for a different weekend break.
Parking is a bit of a problem. If you block someone else in, they ask you to leave your car keys, so that your car can be moved.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
3  Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Stayed here for the Air Festival weekend and really could not fault any aspect of it. The staff/owners were excellent, friendly and very helpful and the hotel itself is far better than you would expect for a 2 star. It knocks spots off many 3 stars! Can't say any more than excellent all round and would definitely recommend/stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lee0310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Stayed here for one night as its dog friendly and close to the beach.
On arrival parking was good.
Reception were very welcoming and gave us any info we needed.
The hotel is very old fashioned but its right next to the beach and cheap so cant complain.
The room had a funny smell.
We left something in the room and the staff were very helpful and kept it behind the front desk for us to collect.
Great location if you are looking for a day at the beach, wouldnt stay here for more than one night though.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UllswaterBournemouth, Owner at Ullswater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Many thanks for your feedback. You did say that you had not taken your dog away before and therefore was the smell possibly due to the different new surroundings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Nicely positioned with a five minute walk to cliff top, and town centre/Pier a pleasant twenty min walk, we had great weather, which made it all the better. Bournemouth is a great place to visit with its sandy beaches, pier,parks and attractions, shopping and eateries, any age would find this town great!
Parking is tight at the Ullswater, but don't fret, park outside and leave the keys with the staff who will move if necessary.
Room pleasant, clean and comfortable,although dated,bathroom water not drinkable, which as its not mains fed is perfectly understandable, but 2 complimentary bottles of water would go down well here, the room is above average in price, so would of really expected this.
Pillows were very flat and as my husband has a health problem and has to be sat up during sleep, at around 10pm we requested extras which were brought immediately to our room, great service!
Hang on though, two minutes later, same chap bangs door(husband near naked, me half undressed) 'I need to ask u how many people you have in room' I reply, err two, to which he then says 'because we ordered xtra pillows, he will need to come in and check its just us!!!! ' so in he comes and checks! I still cant believe it?! How rude!
Breakfast was good by the way, but would stay at the hotel my son and his partner stayed in next time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank honestlady72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UllswaterBournemouth, Owner at Ullswater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Many thanks for your feedback, which, everything seems was ok until you were disturbed by our Manager -Apologies, but let me explain why !
You originally booked 2 double rooms , but your husband rang and said he wanted to bring your daughter and 2 children. Manager advised that we were full due to bank holiday and your husband said he did not mind if you all shared and Manager stated we would put z beds in one room for a small extra charge.
On arrival you told the staff you had booked 3 rooms ( incorrect) and Manager reiterated conversation you had. All seemed fine until you returned to the hotel saying that the original couple who you booked, had found another hotel and that your daughter and children would be staying-and further questioned whether the extra bed was still in the room.
Therefore with the extra pillows request and the fact that it was a bank holiday with very little last minute accommodation, he found it strange that we were now accommodating the additional persons and not the original.
Unfortunately, we do find the public do sometimes think that because they have booked a room they can put any number of persons in it. Unfortunately this is not the case, and his concern was for the hotel.
Once again, if it was handled inappropriately the please accept our profuse apologies and yes ,the hotel which had a vacancy would probably be better for you next time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We stayed at the Ullswater for 4 nights. We booked a family room. The room was large and very spacious and easily accomodated our large family. The decoration was absolutey fine. It was cleaned to the highest standards. The room carpet was of a very high quality. The wardrobe was double deep. The bathroom was spacious and nothing to complain about,.
Overall, the room was top notch and better than expected.

The staff were friendly and very helpful. Location was very good with good parking. Parking was a problem leading up to the weekend as all the hotels in the area got busy.

I would book here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blue_rock77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Montague Hotel
Montague Hotel
#45 of 67 in Bournemouth
505 reviews
0 mi away
West Cliff Inn
West Cliff Inn
#52 of 67 in Bournemouth
407 reviews
0.2 mi away
Durley Grange Hotel
Durley Grange Hotel
#34 of 67 in Bournemouth
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bourne Hall Hotel
Bourne Hall Hotel
#56 of 67 in Bournemouth
308 reviews
0.1 mi away
New Westcliff Hotel
New Westcliff Hotel
#50 of 67 in Bournemouth
510 reviews
0.2 mi away
Devon Towers Hotel
Devon Towers Hotel
#44 of 67 in Bournemouth
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ullswater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ullswater Hotel

Address: West Cliff Gardens, Bournemouth BH2 5HW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 67 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range: £38 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ullswater Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Ullswater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing