We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No complaints”
Review of The Savoy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Savoy Hotel
Ranked #39 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
warrington
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“No complaints”
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Just returned from a 5 day break with Shearings. The public rooms have been upgraded
to a high standard with lots of comfortable sofas. Lovely to sit and relax and take in the
view of the gardens and the sea beyond. Single room (323) on the third floor was dated
and overlooked the car park but it was a decent size and was clean and comfortable.
The bathroom was also a good size for a single room and was spotlessly clean.
The food was excellent with plenty of choice and the service very quick. All the staff were
excellent, they worked very hard always smiling and spoke good English. I shall return !

Room Tip: Garden fronting rooms are best but all singles are at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tillytops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnwtaylor, Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, 23 December 2011
Thank you for the lovely review, please note that we do have Single Garden fronting rooms for no extra charge, when you book just give the hotel a call in advance and I am sure we can allocate you in a single room with a garden view. The staff are always so pleased to see comments like this, although we often thank them for their hard work there is no better way to express what a great job they do than by reading it on trip advisor!!! We are all looking forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    335
    147
    52
    39
See reviews for
105
442
30
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
ilkley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

The good points. The food was excellent the staff were excellent. BUT the room No 130 was disgusting to say the least. The bathroom was absolutely awful it should have been shut down as a health hazard. The walls were thick with grime and dirt that had been there for months.The taps and shower fittings that should have been shiny chrome were a dull grey covered in old soap and hairs. The shower screen was very dirty.The light above the sink was also filthy. Around the bath was a sort of brown mildew. It was very plain to see that this bathroom had not had a serious clean for months nor had it been inspected by a more senior person other than the cleaner. It was also noticed that the staircase hand rail , posts and doors were covered with brown sticky hand dirt that had never been cleaned for months.This was pointed out to the manager who said "I thought it was the paint coming off" I know that the hotel is slowly being upgraded but even old places need to be and can be kept CLEAN.

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank john h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnwtaylor, Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, 23 December 2011
Room Tip: Stay here! We aim to never let anyone down during their stay and I am sorry to hear we were not successful in making your stay enjoyable. Cleanliness is one of our priorities and whatever happened that certain day will certainly not happen again. The housekeeper and area manager took your comments very seriously and was inspecting your complaint straight away. Although we aim to please every person who comes through our doors we understand that unfortunately sometimes this wont be the case. I am very pleased with all the comments we get on trip advisor and certainly happy that there are more “good/excellent” than “bad”, however we are always looking at ways to improve and better ourselves so we can give you the customer a lovely experience when staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We stayed for 1 week up to Friday 2nd September and went by car from York. Throughout our stay all the staff (Polish, Latvian, Hungarian, Mexican, Peruvian, Spanish and English) were absolutely fabulous - attentive without being patronising but all very efficient, courteous and polite. Good variety of choice on the dinner menu and the breakfast choice was more than adequate. The bedroom was comfortable, clean and large enough but I think we'll upgrade to Premier next time! The weather wasvery kind to us also and we shall definitely go back again within the next 18 months, despite the travelling distance involved. Had a wonderful time !

Room Tip: Go Premier for an extra £10 per ROOM per day although standard room is adequate
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FCA141937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnwtaylor, Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, 23 December 2011
What can I say after such fantastic comments, I do indeed agree with you in all areas there!!! What you said is what we aspire to achieve, friendly staff, comfort together with delicious food at great prices. Looking forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Drove down to Bournmouth fron Yorks to meet up with American friends who were already booked in. No single room available so had to take a double with 'garden view'. Room was on the 4th floor, quite large, clean, nice bathroom, excellent view over garden and sea.
This is an old hotel but it is being gradually re-furbished. My room had an old CRT TV, small screen and only five analogue channels, a relic from the last century, tried to get a decent TV but no luck. This was a rather minor problem, I was assured that flat screens were gradually being fitted throughout. The meals were quite reasonable. There is only one quite tiny lift, about 4 persons max. The evening entertainment was mediocre,
The location of the hotel is good, you can stroll to the beach and the pier is only a short walk away. The car park is tight so you may need someone to check clearances if the hotel is full (which it was, late August)
The staff were mainly young persons, usually female, form the continent. All spoke good English and I thought that they were first class.
The lounges , terrraces and dining room were clean and spacious. Don't count on the putting green, looks like they abandoned it years ago.
Overall I had a pleasant stay, the staff that I had dealings with were all brilliant, and this went a long way to boost my satisfaction rating. My fellow guests were mainly seniors, all of them very friendly, many were regular visitors.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnwtaylor, Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, 23 December 2011
The Savoy is a beautiful hotel in such a lovely location, the staff are definitely an asset to us and I can say they truly enjoy working here and meeting new people day in day out, I am sure customers like you give them job satisfaction and pride in what they do. I am happy to hear you had a great time with your friends and do hope this means you will visit us again sometime. The putting green…well I am not sure what happened to it during your stay but this has been very popular amongst our customers, we will always make sure it is in great condition so you can have a go at it on your next visit!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Hotel quite good but room 17 ruined it for us. So shabby you wouldn't believe. How can they offer it to a paying customer? No option for an upgrade, no clue how bad room was from photos posted on site, rooms shown look great. Room was damp musty, condensation black marks round badly fitting broken-handled windows, bed springs very obvious!!, TV reception useless, only 4 channels (interference louder than progs), staff not really interested in putting anything right, no alternative TV offered, WC seat won't stay up (not very convenient), bar staff need to know what a club sandwich is (3 slices!!). Staff generally work hard, very good but not able to alter our plight. Wouldn't have booked if state of room was known!! Hotel otherwise quite good, sorry.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank dave w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnwtaylor, Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, 23 December 2011
Upgrades can be available at the hotel but as you are aware we are very popular and fully booked because of the lovely summer season which made it impossible to offer you an alternative. I am very surprised by your comments about the staff, they do care and always do their best to put things right, in fact this area is one of our strengths on the Trip Advisor site. I am sorry you did not like the room and hope you stay with us again in future, please give us the opportunity to change your mind, I am sure you will not be disappointed!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

I have just returned from a lovely 5 day stay, with my 93 year old mother, at the Savoy, travelling with Shearings. We paid for a garden view (which is actually also a sea view over the tree-tops) and got a large room with bay window and balcony. The food was very tasty with a varied choice and always well presented. You could even have a breakfast ‘special’ of smoked salmon and scrambled egg on toast. The pool was available from the second day and I had a lovely (if cool) swim in it. The deepest end is only 4ft 11ins so is good for even the less confident swimmers. It was clean and set in a little sun trap at the bottom of the garden. There are also two lawns for putting and croquet, as well as a pleasant veranda for catching the sun. All the staff were very good, pleasant and attentive – waiters, bar-staff, cleaners, reception staff (who were most helpful in ensuring that our room had two beds) and not forgetting our coach driver, Steve who was ever cheerful, friendly, polite and informative.

It was a very enjoyable holiday which was good value for money.

Room Tip: Garden/sea views are worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunshineholidaygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnwtaylor, Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, 23 December 2011
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and so happy you had a lovely time with your mother. The views from the Garden view rooms and superior rooms are truly special, I am glad you were able to enjoy it. The chef and all members of staff will be so happy with your lovely comments which we will pass on to them. The hotel surroundings are absolutely gorgeous, we are also proud of our hotel and location, but most importantly we are happy we made you and your mum happy!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2011

Have just spent a week at this hotel for us it was great the staff the room and also the food I am a coeliac so a G/F and wheat free diet is a must .At this hotel they knew all about the condition so I was able to have a worry free holiday with a wide choice of food and both my wife and I could totally relax .It was a same about the weather and the flooded central gardens

Room Tip: Always upgrade to a garden facing room on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnwtaylor, Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, 23 December 2011
That was a unique week for Bournemouth; I have never seen so much rain in one day!!! I am thrilled to hear it did not spoil your holiday and that you and your wife enjoyed your time with us. We are here to take care of you and all your needs and special diets are never any trouble, I think the chef quite enjoys it too!!! I will hold you on the “we shall return” and say SEE YOU SOON!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
1.0 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,420 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#29 of 66 in Bournemouth
263 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,488 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Collingwood
Hotel Collingwood
#8 of 66 in Bournemouth
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Savoy Hotel

Property: The Savoy Hotel
Address: 39 West Hill Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5EJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Savoy Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Savoy Hotel is a prime example of Victorian architecture. It is one of the closest hotels in Bournemouth to both beach and town centre, and stands in extensive grounds on the town’s fashionable West Cliff, and provides a scenic and relaxing location for leisure travellers. Inside, the hotel is has been sympathetically decorated and maintained. Bournemouth boasts over two thousand acres of parks and gardens. With an excellent climate, the town nestles in chalk cliffs, sheltered by the Purbeck Hills. Stroll around stylish boutiques in elegant Victorian arcades, or roll your trousers up and enjoy miles of golden sandy beaches.The Hotel houses all of the amenities and facilities you would expect from a Coast & Country venue. In addition, our staff will offer you a warm, friendly welcome, and make sure that your stay is as relaxing and memorable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Bournemouth
Bournemouth Hotel Savoy
Savoy Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing