We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Midweak Break”
Review of The Savoy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Savoy Hotel
Ranked #36 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Midweak Break”
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Food and service excellent, but very disappointed with bedroom, which can only be described as poky. Requested garden room which we were told would be one of the bigger ones, but it was more like a broom cupboard, although the view was very nice. The bedroom next door had a built in wardrobe which enroached into our bedroom, thus taking up more of the already limited space, and every time the wardrobe was used to hang or take out clothes, we could hear a noise which sounded almost like squeaking animals. Also, we requested twin beds, but one of the beds had just been pulled over, which meant I had no headboard, making it very uncomfortable to sit up and read if desired. On checking out of the hotel we were able to see into some of the other rooms of the same grade, and they were nearly twice as big, which made us think we had been palmed off with one of the worst rooms possible. One other point, the only lift was very tiny. supposed to take 6 persons, but 4 were too many, and if you had luggage to take, you could wait for ages before you could get in. The room was in was in dire need of a makeover, a big iron burn on the carpet screamed at you when you went in.

Room Tip: On no account take room 306, one of the worst rooms available
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheila940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnwtaylor, Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
The Savoy is a grand building full of charm, however like nearly any victorian building rooms sizes can vary. One great advantage of this building is that over 50% of the bedrooms are either on the ground floor or accessible from only having to walk up one flight of stairs. The lift does hold four people comfortably and yes six would be a squeeze however this generally isn't an issue for most people.The rooms are in a rolling refurbishment plan with some of the largest sea view rooms being converted to our superior style which come with a small supplementary charge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    334
    145
    52
    39
See reviews for
104
439
30
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

just got back from a 5 day shearings break. Hotel not too bad but food was'nt very good.Did not do much plain english food so went out 2 nights to eat. breakfast was good.Had to change our room from 1st floor to 4th floor next day because we did'nt get a wink of sleep all night. It was very noisey people talking in corridor and generrater under bedroom.Was'nt even offered help to move luggage to 4th floor and my husband is disabled. Very dissapointed.Hotel was in good location. Only 1 small lift for size of hotel. Only held 6 people.Will not go again.

Room Tip: Dont have room 112 on first floor very noisey. Higher floors are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnwtaylor, Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
I can only appolgise on behalf of the hotel for not assisting you with your luggage. Regarding the food, we do have a good value traditional daily menu that is often included in your break however this is also compimented with a very nice A la carte menu that is competitively priced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Had a great time hotel was very good, food brilliant, service was first class, nice garden to walk round beautiful view out to sea, 10 mins from town centre beautiful walks along the front.

Room Tip: all rooms had a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mickthetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnwtaylor, Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Thank you so much for your genuine review. Please come back again and see us soon - we are just putting in all new lounge furniture which is going to look great.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Having just returned from a weekend at your hotel.Thehotel was clean and comfortable,Food was good but a limited menu. Entertainment was very good. Also enjoyed drivers parking there cars in CARPARK then could not OPEN the DOORS to get out. Car park needs new lines

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnwtaylor, Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Hi Stephen, thank you for your review, i am just in the process of getting the prices to re line the car park (some of the 50+ spaces are a bit tight!) Hopefully by redesigning the layout we wont lose any spaces but they will be bigger - its magic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

I did leave a review on the shearings web site but it was not displayed this I feel it was because it was not all good any way
Value for money was good
The Bed was really comfortable
I felt more cleaning was required in the bar area were really large dark cobwebs been there sometime behind the curtains but well visible
Toilet in our room was black under the rim
General the room was tired need a paint up
The location of the room was nice overlooking the gardens

Room Tip: garden views are nice and sun all day the 1st floor has large balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daffiedee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnwtaylor, Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Thank you for your comments all the issues raised have been actioned, hopefully we haven't put you off staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Just got back from this lovely hotel, I was on my Hen Weekend with 7 other girls. We had a great time and the food was great considering how much you pay. A great value for money hotel and would recommend it to anyone. A special hello to the lovely barman Stuart.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaynegooduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnwtaylor, Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Hi Jayne, thanks for the nice review. May we wish you and your husband a happy and healthy life together. Why not revisit us for your anniversary and Stuart says hello.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plymouth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We stayed at the Savoy recently on a Shearings holiday. Our room was a garden room, which was huge and well appointed. In the summer months there would be direct access to the lovely gardens and a private patio was also included.

We both enjoyed the food and entertainment on provided,

We would definitely visit this hotel again if we were visiting Bournemouth, excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Garden rooms are larger but be aware the lounge/entertainment is above you at night so not for early...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sootystar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnwtaylor, Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
thank you for the lovely review - we are looking at upgrading and redecorating our garden rooms (1 to 10) as they are such great rooms and always requested. Come back and see us in the summer and I'll make sure that you get one of these rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Collingwood
Hotel Collingwood
#8 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Park Central Hotel
Park Central Hotel
#7 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,109 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Savoy Hotel

Property: The Savoy Hotel
Address: 39 West Hill Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5EJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Savoy Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Savoy Hotel is a prime example of Victorian architecture. It is one of the closest hotels in Bournemouth to both beach and town centre, and stands in extensive grounds on the town’s fashionable West Cliff, and provides a scenic and relaxing location for leisure travellers. Inside, the hotel is has been sympathetically decorated and maintained. Bournemouth boasts over two thousand acres of parks and gardens. With an excellent climate, the town nestles in chalk cliffs, sheltered by the Purbeck Hills. Stroll around stylish boutiques in elegant Victorian arcades, or roll your trousers up and enjoy miles of golden sandy beaches.The Hotel houses all of the amenities and facilities you would expect from a Coast & Country venue. In addition, our staff will offer you a warm, friendly welcome, and make sure that your stay is as relaxing and memorable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Bournemouth
Bournemouth Hotel Savoy
Savoy Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing