We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SavoyHotel via Shearings Bournemouth”
Review of The Savoy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Savoy Hotel
Ranked #36 of 67 Hotels in Bournemouth
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Just returned from 5 days coach holiday with Shearings 7 Sep 2012- found the staff amazing nothing too much trouble, food was varied, enjoyable and exciting.
Dining room staff waiters/waitresses excellent the meal times were as fine tuned as a symphony orchestra, I was amazed how efficiently these people delivered the wonderful array of food, at no one time did I ever see a ? restaurant manager/supervisor etc on the premises, yet all diners were served promptly and with great courtesy. Well done, our table,number 63 was serviced by Judith, Allona, and several others ,their un retiring attention to detail must be complimented.The hotel is well located and appears to be undergoing some modernisation/decoration. The housekeeping staff maintained a great standard of cleanliness, the only small gripe would be that one had to ask at reception for replacement bath/shower gel daily[ surely the cleaning staff could keep these on hand and replenish as they did with tea, coffee, milk etc.
How wonderful to have an electronic piano in the dining room but please increase the volume as many diners altho interested voiced the same opinion-almost inaudible.The Savoy is a fine hotel and the deal with Shearings was good.Coach driver Tony,his first visit to the area was both professional and caring.... pity we had to wait on homeward journey at Woodall Service area for almost two hours for interchange to take place, but still a great holiday experience ,well done and thanks to Shearings and all concerned. We will be back
BH

Room Tip: Single room 126 no sea view but quieter and easy accessible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank barryj H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnwtaylor, Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2012

Thank you very much for your wonderful review - I have passed on your great comments to the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (849)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

653 - 659 of 849 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2012

would never return again after being charged £5 aday parking fee. we were told that there was free parking in the street , we tried there was no spaces. so wye was we not informed about the charge like many other drive customers none of us would not return again..your loss sheerings.

Room Tip: pay extra for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank derrick m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnwtaylor, Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2012

I'm sorry that you were unhappy with our car park charges, however this new initiative has come about from looking at what is happening in the industry and comments/requests from guests about their desire to be able to reserve a car parking space for a small sum - £5 isn't bad I had to pay £12.50 the other day at a hotel I stayed in.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

An old fashioned hotel in need of a bit of tlc.

On the Westcliffe in Bournemouth (close to the pier) with a downhill stroll to the Lower Gardens, so you can be on the beach in minutes or take the cliff lift (but this closes at 6pm!!)

The grounds are lovely and over look the sea. Our room needed a refurbishment and the shower needs to be look at as it was not fitted correctly. The room was extremely hot and only one window worked as the other was screwed shut. Neither window in the bathroom would open, but after the third request, one window worked.

The food was tasty and there was plenty to eat at breakfast. The staff were courteous and helpful.

We did not stay in for the evenings, so I cannot say what the evening entertainment was like.

Car parking was bad as the spaces were extremely small and it was difficult to manoveour out of the space when there were cars around you.

Room Tip: Ask for a Garden view room as these have the best outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dormouse101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnwtaylor, Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2012

Like all hotels yes, all hotels. some rooms will need refurbishing more than others. I am pleased to say that this year we have already converted 9 rooms to our superior spec after reading the comments on TA and will be continuing to further our bedstock over the comming few months. Nearly every room has had some investment in them over the past three years.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

we went to this hotel on a self drive break last sept and really enjoyed our stay .one thing i would say although the bar and dineing room aare really nicely decorated the bedroom was really in need of some t.l.c. !! very tired and old fashioned with curtains that are too short !! food was excellent as was the entertainment so the room didnt bother us to much as we wernt in it very often .

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hairdressertina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnwtaylor, Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2012

Thank you for your kind comments - I take on board your comments regarding your bedroom and we are as previously stated working on upgrading and improving our bed stock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

This hotel is owned by the Coast and Country chain. My wife and I had stayed at their hotel in Bath a few years ago, found it very good so decided on another in the group. We were not disappointed. We travelled by air direct to Southampton from Belfast using rail and bus transport thereafter. The trains from the airport to Bournemouth are fast and efficient.
Although the town bus service is sometimes not on time it is reasonably good and there are bus stops just around the corner.
The hotel outlook from dining room is excellent, a good sea view and reasonably kept grounds.Our 2nd floor room was large and well maintained. Dining room very spacious with very helpful and speedy service.

Room Tip: Try for one facing seawards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elwyn_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnwtaylor, Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2012

Thank you very much - I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Arrived at hotel without prior booking and had the last available room. It was room no 3 on the lower level with a door leading to the beautiful garden area. The room was in very good order with modern facilities. We were offered another room on our 2nd day with a view from the 3rd floor but on inspection the room was very dated and not in any way up to the standard of our room, so we opted to stay put. The staff were all most polite and helpful, the reception girl always seemed to be at her desk whatever time of day and always very pleasant as was the bar tender. A very good singer with a Bubble /Sinatra type tribute entertained on Saturday night and bar prices were in keeping with the area. Breakfast was a little dissapointing as only streaky bacon was on offer and the poached eggs very watery and undercooked. Overall it is a very relaxing place to stay and I would return for a further stay and would mark it 7 / 10.

Room Tip: Ask for a superior room, these have been modernised and are well up to 4 star standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank simon-caudle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnwtaylor, Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2012

I'm pleased you enjoyed your visit and yes I agree I think our garden rooms are very nice even if they cost a little extra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Amazingly patient and helpful staff in spite of the poor manners of some guests . Close enough to the town but in a quiet residential road.
Food traditional and fresh.
Communal area s were spacious and comfortable with entertainment most nights.

Yes some aspects of our room were a little tired but brightened up by new furnishings and large enough .

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Happyhomelands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnwtaylor, Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2012

Thank you for your kind words and appreciation towards the staff in your review. I admit they do a great job particularly when dealing with certain people!:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 67 in Bournemouth
3,616 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#23 of 67 in Bournemouth
2,066 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
0.1 mi away
Hotel Collingwood
Hotel Collingwood
#7 of 67 in Bournemouth
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Savoy Hotel

Address: 39 West Hill Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5EJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: £45 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Savoy Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Savoy Hotel is a prime example of Victorian architecture. It is one of the closest hotels in Bournemouth to both beach and town centre, and stands in extensive grounds on the town’s fashionable West Cliff, and provides a scenic and relaxing location for leisure travellers. Inside, the hotel is has been sympathetically decorated and maintained. Bournemouth boasts over two thousand acres of parks and gardens. With an excellent climate, the town nestles in chalk cliffs, sheltered by the Purbeck Hills. Stroll around stylish boutiques in elegant Victorian arcades, or roll your trousers up and enjoy miles of golden sandy beaches.The Hotel houses all of the amenities and facilities you would expect from a Coast & Country venue. In addition, our staff will offer you a warm, friendly welcome, and make sure that your stay is as relaxing and memorable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Bournemouth
Bournemouth Hotel Savoy
Savoy Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing