We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top rate Hotel with top rate food and staff”
Review of The Savoy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Savoy Hotel
Ranked #37 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Reviewed 24 February 2013

The Annual Presentation of Poole Town Anglers was held in the Victoria Room of the Savoy Hotel on the evening of Saturday 23rd February 2013. The standard of this hotel is extremely high and certainly recommended. The staff are a credit to the services that the hotel provides and they could not be more helpful.

A finger buffet was organised for the evening and the food was absolutely superb with a wide selection of culinary delights.

Thank you to the Manager, Deputy Manager and staff who made the evening so memorable, relaxing and enjoyable.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chriscolledge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnwtaylor, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2013

Wow!!! What a fantastic review this is Chris!

I have nothing else to add except a big thank you for such a wonderful review.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (860)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

618 - 624 of 860 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2013

Arrived on Monday with my husband Martin, from Kent to meet our friends who was joining us from Yorkshire. On arrival we were given a really small basic room where everywhere you stepped the floorboards were creaking like anything.
Went and asked at reception if any other rooms available was given a garden room which although the room needed refurbishing, was much better. There was an adjoining door where we could hear the people who were next door talking and could hear everything that was being said. Not good when they were getting up at 5am ish! Also parts of the room smelt very strongly of smoke....
Food was a bit of a let down, menu sounded ok, but didn't look the part on the plate. Staff were absolutely lovely! Nothing too much trouble, and were always pleasant.
Hotel situated in lovely place, but is sadly lacking in atmosphere....

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laytos118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnwtaylor, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2013

Thank you for your review. We do have a non-smoking policy in our hotel and we enforce fines should we catch someone smoking in the building.

I am glad that you have found our staff “absolutely lovely” and I believe they are an asset to our company.

I hope this will not be your last visit with us.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Just finished our third visit to the Savoy. Good week as we met friends from Kent shame the entertainment let us down the food not as good as in the past also the lounge area quite cold. Don't think we will try fourth time. Go back to Majestic once they have finished their decorating much more evening entertainment

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnwtaylor, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2013

Thank you Barbara for your review and sorry to hear that our entertainment program let you down even though it is provided five times a week.

I am sure you will enjoy your time at the Majestic and who knows, we might see you another time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

My husband and I found no faults with our stay at The Savoy. We found the staff very pleasant and helpful. The Savoy is excellently situated with only a short walk to the beach. The rooms have every thing one would need in a hotel room. I understand the rooms are in the process of being refubished and ours was a little tired but comfortable. The meals were varied and the waiting staff were attentive and worked very hard. Overall we enjoyed our stay very much and hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Judith T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnwtaylor, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2013

Great review Judith. Thank you very much and glad to read how much you have enjoyed your holidays with us.

See you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

The last time we were at the Savoy was in December 2008, since then the rooms have been updated. However as a previous reviewer has said the bathrooms do not all have heating, they need to get a heated towel rails in ASAP. We were on the first floor and none of our rooms [2 double and a single] had heating in the bathroom. The other two rooms had portable heaters in as the radiators were not working properly. Our friend's single room had a leaky radiator, it was fortunate not to be a freezing weekend or it may have been a problem.
We knew that you now have to pay £5 a day for the car park, as friends had been at Christmas, it was not a concern as the whole break is such a great deal for what you get. However a man checking in before us was most upset about the charge, it needs to be in the website info really.
The other piece of info that needs to be on the website is that there is no entertainment on a Thursday and Sunday now. We were a bit dissapointed to have no entertainment last night.
Now the moan's are out of the way, we had a fantastic time, the staff were great and excellant food. The young waitress from Latvia called Mara who looked after us all weekend was superb and with me being Gluten Free she went out of her way to help me. A really sweet, intelligent young lady.
The entertainment on Saturday night was amazing, it wasn't a Caberet weekend but we had a Duo called Station Rd [Chris & Danny] They had great voices and personalities, singing all sorts Micheal Buble and Swing, Take That and lot of other music.I think they could have sung anything really well, hopefully we shall see them again at Shearings.
All things considered a great weekend and such good value.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank worzelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnwtaylor, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2013

Thank you for your nice review.

Just so you know, we are putting heated towel rails in bathrooms being refurbished. I will pass your lovely comments to Mara as I am sure she will be pleased and I am glad that you did found us value for money.

See you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

We booked a four day self drive holiday here for my wifes birthday in February. Our holiday break started of badly when we had to cancel our arrival on the Monday due to a dental emergency. We arrived at the hotel on the Tuesday.The Reception Staff were friendly and welcoming and we were allocated room 21 on the ground floor. Our room was basic, but roomy and well decorated, with a good sized on-suite bathroom complete with an excellent shower bath facility. A flat screen TV was provided with all the Freeview Channels with excellent reception.The beds were very comfortable and good sized, our windows looked out onto a wall / pathway area so apart from a couple of flowerpots there was no external view, however throughout our stay it was very quiet except first thing in the morning when the hotel deliveries arrived on a trolley and passed through this area.The heating system was very efficient, but you are unable to adjust it, we were fortunate in being able to open both of our windows to reduce the room temperature when it became excessive. Our room was cleaned daily throughout our stay by a very friendly lady (Alexandra) and new towels provided every two days. We looked forward to our mealtimes,the breakfast provided was excellent with a good multiple menu choice all well presented and prepared.We seemed to have different waiters every day? All of the dining room staff who attended to us were friendly and attentive. The evening meal menu was also very comprehensive with a good choice of dishes every day throughout our stay, our selections were all well prepared and tasty. Entertainment was provided in the evening every night with the exception of the Thursday (Valentines Day) which we thought was an ommision. A lady singer / comedienne (Amanda James) deserves a mention as she was excellent and we both enjoyed her performance. The bar credit you receive (£25) on AI soon disappears with the typical hotel bar prices that you pay, but the bar service is excellent, however they could improve their Wi Fi coverage which appeared to be very patchy throughout the communal areas and subject to frequent signal drop out throughout our stay. I would advise everyone travelling here by car to book a place in the hotel carpark (£5 per day) as the on street parking surrounding the hotel is scarce at most times throughout the day even with a Disability Pass. All in all we both enjoyed our stay at 'The Savoy' and would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone seeking a clean, comfortable and reasonably priced hotel in this very beautiful area of Dorset.

Room Tip: Room 21, Quiet, fair sized on suite, clean and well decorated and on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rayad45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnwtaylor, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2013

Thank you for this very detailed review Ray and I am glad to see that we have ticked all the boxes and that you did found us to be a good value for money hotel.

Looking forward to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

The reception area, dining room and lounge were very welcoming. A pity the same cannot be said of my room. It was very shabby with stains on the carpet. The bathroom was cold and shabby - no heating at all. The extractor fan was extremely noisy. It was said that some rooms are being refurbished, if so, I hope this is next on the list. The staff were excellent as were the meals.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room if available..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rambler1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnwtaylor, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your holidays.

We are having fourteen bedrooms refurbished at this time and I am sorry that you were not satisfied with yours.

I would like to know what bedroom you stayed in if you could contact me.

I will pass your lovely comments to the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Collingwood
Hotel Collingwood
#7 of 66 in Bournemouth
692 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bournemouth
Hampton by Hilton Bournemouth
#11 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,683 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Bournemouth Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Savoy Hotel

Address: 39 West Hill Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5EJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: £49 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Savoy Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Savoy Hotel is a prime example of Victorian architecture. It is one of the closest hotels in Bournemouth to both beach and town centre, and stands in extensive grounds on the town’s fashionable West Cliff, and provides a scenic and relaxing location for leisure travellers. Inside, the hotel is has been sympathetically decorated and maintained. Bournemouth boasts over two thousand acres of parks and gardens. With an excellent climate, the town nestles in chalk cliffs, sheltered by the Purbeck Hills. Stroll around stylish boutiques in elegant Victorian arcades, or roll your trousers up and enjoy miles of golden sandy beaches.The Hotel houses all of the amenities and facilities you would expect from a Coast & Country venue. In addition, our staff will offer you a warm, friendly welcome, and make sure that your stay is as relaxing and memorable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your The Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Bournemouth
Bournemouth Hotel Savoy
Savoy Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing