We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Savoy Hotel Bournemouth”
Review of The Savoy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Savoy Hotel
Ranked #35 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Reviewed 17 January 2014

The trip was for the second time. We enjoyed Dec. 12 so much we decided to repeat the experience in Dec 13 and were very pleased to find that standards and service exceeded our expectations. Bournemouth was well decorated for Christmas and the shops and Christmas Market pleasurable. Hope to return in the not too distant future.

Room Tip: Book a little earlier for choice
See more room tips
Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Rosemary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnwtaylor, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is pleasing to hear that you decided to come back to us for a second visit and found that our standards and service exceeded your expectations.
Bournemouth has a fantastic atmosphere at Christmas with the decorations, music and the Christmas market, making it an enjoyable experiance for a pre Christmas break to do some shopping. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (845)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

505 - 511 of 845 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2014

We enjoyed our break here Dec.2013 to Jan. 2014 for New Year.
The room we had was clean & comfortable.
The food choice was excellent & the table service very good.
The staff were very helpful too in the rest of the hotel.
The entertainment each evening was of a good standard.
However the only complaint was that the manager's guests on New Years Eve were noisy & ill behaved. Several times they were asked to be quiet so we could hear the comedian/musician but along with others we were ignored.
Hope next year they have noted this & will be more considerate.

Room Tip: Family rooms are roomy & well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank spender49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnwtaylor, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Dear Guest,

It's pleasing to hear that you enjoyed your New Year break with us. We have a wonderful team of staff here providing excellent service and standards all round. The entertainment including the comedian was a great hit at New Year, enjoyed by all. With approximately 200 guests staying with us at New Year it is difficult to keep all the excitement and celebrations of everyone down.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

My husband and I spent a week-end at the Savoy recently with friends to celebrate my husband's birthday.

Our room was lovely, huge and very comfortable with a balcony and overlooked the garden and the sea beyond - we had upgraded and it was well worth the extra. Two of our friends had booked a similar room and were equally as pleased. As for our other friend - she had booked a single room (she had wanted to upgrade her room but was told that all single rooms were of the basic standard). The room was next to ours, overlooked the sea with a small balcony. This is where the similarities ended. The room was tiny, and in great need of refurbishment. She could not get into the wardrobe without having to move a chair and the bathroom was tiny. Considering Shearings by nature has a high volume of single guests I would have thought that they could have been treated the same as couples, especially as there is a small supplement for a single room. We had tried to book her a double room but were told that she would also have to pay for two people's food.

The food was average and the service very good. There seemed to be a problem with the dishwasher as it was difficult to find a clean bowl at breakfast.

Overall our week-end was enjoyable but spoilt by our friends dismal room. My husband and I may consider staying at the Savoy again on our own but not with our single friend. There are plenty more hotels where you can book a double room for a single person on a room only basis and then pay for the food as taken.

Room Tip: Well worth upgrading if you are a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trish W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnwtaylor, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Dera Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad that you found your room lovely and worth paying extra for the upgraded and view room, we can only apologise that your friend did not enjoy the same experience. We have recently completed a phase of refurbishment including single rooms and I'm sure your friend will find them worth another try.
It's dissapointing to hear that you found the food average as we normally have such positive comments about our food however your comments have been passed on to our Chef, as have the comments about the bowls at breakfast and can assure you that this is not our normal standard.
We do hope to see you, and your friend here again at the Savoy.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

My wife and I stayed here recently, initially for an evening function, but we made more of a weekend by turning it into a mini-break.
We kicked off with a lovely cream tea on the afternoon we arrived, having booked into a great room overlooking the gardens and cliff top.
Food was fantastic, and the staff were so friendly.
The location is great for Bournemouth town centre - a short 10 minute walk, and the stroll back up gives you an appetite for the next meal!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LandIAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnwtaylor, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a lovely review. Our location is indeed great for getting out and about in Bournemouth and working up an appetite! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us, including our cream teas. We do hope you will visit us again soon.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We reserved a Garden Room for a post dinner party stay and were delighted with the size of the room and the quality of the fittings.The staff were very helpful,and the food superb.I will definitely be staying here again.

Room Tip: A garden room gives direct access to the extenivie gardens.Not quite so private,but well worth it fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnwtaylor, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

Dera Guest,

Thank you for such a wonderful review, we are very happy that you were delighted with your room, and that you found the food superb. We have a very good team of friendly, helpful staff who are always happy to please. We look forward to welcoming you back again at the Savoy. Wishing you all the very best for 2014.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Had a night in this hotel for a function.
Staff very helpful , room was really clean cant fault this venue at all .
Right on seafront great gardens and stunning view , recommend this hotel for short break or treat yourself to a longer stay ,
Food was brill what more can i say apart from try it ..................

Room Tip: 211 overlooks garden and sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnwtaylor, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Dear Guest,


Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. Its lovely to here that you enjoyed your stay and function with us, and look forward to welcoming you back for more nights to remember!

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed Here overnight after a Christmas dinner and everything was great.
Our room was huge and excellent value for money.
I would definitely stay here again.
The staff are helpful and kind.
The location is great, walking distance to the town centre and the beach.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnwtaylor, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

Dear Guest,

It's lovely to hear that the Christmas dinner went well and that you had a great time with us. We do offer excelllent value for money in our many holiday packages, which can be booked online or here at the hotel. The Savoy is ideally situated for all of Bournemouths delights. We look forward to seeing you again. Wishing you all the best for 2014.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
0.4 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#23 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,044 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 66 in Bournemouth
208 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
1.0 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Savoy Hotel

Address: 39 West Hill Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5EJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: £45 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Savoy Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Savoy Hotel is a prime example of Victorian architecture. It is one of the closest hotels in Bournemouth to both beach and town centre, and stands in extensive grounds on the town’s fashionable West Cliff, and provides a scenic and relaxing location for leisure travellers. Inside, the hotel is has been sympathetically decorated and maintained. Bournemouth boasts over two thousand acres of parks and gardens. With an excellent climate, the town nestles in chalk cliffs, sheltered by the Purbeck Hills. Stroll around stylish boutiques in elegant Victorian arcades, or roll your trousers up and enjoy miles of golden sandy beaches.The Hotel houses all of the amenities and facilities you would expect from a Coast & Country venue. In addition, our staff will offer you a warm, friendly welcome, and make sure that your stay is as relaxing and memorable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Bournemouth
Bournemouth Hotel Savoy
Savoy Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing