We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“27th February.2014” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Savoy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Savoy Hotel
Ranked #36 of 68 Hotels in Bournemouth
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“27th February.2014”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

I have just returned from the savoy today, what the heck are people complaining about, it was fabulous , I was in a single room, the room was 214 . Which I had read a huge complaint about on here, so when I got the key I thought oh no this is gonna be bad, what a lovely room, spotlessly clean, ample wardrobe, more drawers than I could have filled if I'd been staying a fortnight, clean comfy bed, flat screen tv with free view , plenty hot water, very quiet, only slight prob was the bathroom window was draughty, I could live with that, reception staff, waiting staff and bar staff were exceptionally polite and did their job superbly, the food was very good, served hot and quickly, how anyone could complain about this hotel I don't know, I would definitely stay here again, well done all at savoy, I applaud you.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank suekeith123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnwtaylor, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Guest,

What a positive review, thank you. It's lovely to hear that despite reading a previous complaint about the room you were in that you were not dissapointed. We offer guests all the comforts of home at the Savoy...without the cooking and cleaning to do!!
It's great to hear such positives about our staff who work so hard and these will be passed onto all of them.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    322
    137
    50
    37
See reviews for
102
422
29
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

It was a bad experience from the 1st minute to the last.We was in 3 different rooms within 12 hours as I didn't get what I had booked.The hotel was cold & dirty with ripped furniture.The staff were incompitant & unhelpful.I will never stay there again

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Rich G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnwtaylor, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Guest,

We are really sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your holiday experiance with us, and that you never had the room you booked at the time. We have looked into the ripped furniture issue and could not find any and can assure you that this would definately not be our normal standard.
Our staff are hardworking, always striving to ensure our guests have an enjoyable experiance with us, which is reflected in previous reviews, and feel dissapointed that this was not the case for you.
We do hope that in the future you will try us again, please do not hesitae to contact the hotel regarding any future bookings or queries.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hereforshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

spent four days here last week,hotel clean,room fine,staff pleasant,nice young man from hungry
behind the bar he couldnt do enough for us,food nice,just a pleasant stay ,will be going again later in the year. jennie

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennifer h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnwtaylor, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a lovely review. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again later in the year.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morecambe
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

Just returned from a 4 night stay with Shearings coach tours. We booked a Grand Tourer holiday but found that we had been lumped in with another tour that was not classed as grand tourer and was considerably cheaper.We did get a glass of bucks fizz and did not have to pay the £10 entrance fee to beaulieu but this seems little reward for the extra cost. Our room was at the back with a view over the car park if you could climb the two steps to look out of the window. The hotel was great clean and tidy the staff were excellent nothing too much trouble for them the food was good and plentiful, we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bare-cple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnwtaylor, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We offer many different tour packages with a variety of options. As you stated the other guests not booked on your tour did not receive the bucks fizz reception and had to pay for their excursions. Also included in the tours are a £25 in house credit voucher per person to spend on both food and beverages within the hotel.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel great, clean and tidy. Our aim is to always exceed our customers expectations and go that extra mile.

We do hope that you will come back to the Savoy again.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

For the second year running the Savoy Hotel was able to accomodate, in the Victoria Room, the Poole Town Anglers 'Trophy Presentation Evening'.
I cannot speak more highly of how the staff were so helpful and all that they did to make the evening so memorable and special, especially the Manager, John Taylor and Deputy Manager, Catriona King. Catriona assisted with all the arrangements to make it all perfect and really excelled herself. Thank you.

Following the club's presentaion there was a buffet arranged and the food was superb and it would come up to the standard of any fine hotel in London.

Some of our members travelled from afar and booked into the hotel overnight. They cannot speak more highly of this Shearings Hotel, excellent staff and accommodation.

The Savoy Hotel is welcoming and set in the most delightful setting of the prestigous West Cliff, Bournemouth. A most lovely loaction with sea views, well maintained gounds, and a team of staff which are a credit to the hotel. Greatest Appreciation.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chriscolledge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnwtaylor, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a fantastic review, it was a pleasure to take care of the arrangements for your presentation evening. Its so lovely to hear that we made your evening memorable and special. The lovely comments that you have said have been passed on to all persons.
We look forward to seing you all again soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, U.K.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

The trip was for the second time. We enjoyed Dec. 12 so much we decided to repeat the experience in Dec 13 and were very pleased to find that standards and service exceeded our expectations. Bournemouth was well decorated for Christmas and the shops and Christmas Market pleasurable. Hope to return in the not too distant future.

Room Tip: Book a little earlier for choice
See more room tips
Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosemary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnwtaylor, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is pleasing to hear that you decided to come back to us for a second visit and found that our standards and service exceeded your expectations.
Bournemouth has a fantastic atmosphere at Christmas with the decorations, music and the Christmas market, making it an enjoyable experiance for a pre Christmas break to do some shopping. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallingford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

We enjoyed our break here Dec.2013 to Jan. 2014 for New Year.
The room we had was clean & comfortable.
The food choice was excellent & the table service very good.
The staff were very helpful too in the rest of the hotel.
The entertainment each evening was of a good standard.
However the only complaint was that the manager's guests on New Years Eve were noisy & ill behaved. Several times they were asked to be quiet so we could hear the comedian/musician but along with others we were ignored.
Hope next year they have noted this & will be more considerate.

Room Tip: Family rooms are roomy & well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spender49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnwtaylor, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Guest,

It's pleasing to hear that you enjoyed your New Year break with us. We have a wonderful team of staff here providing excellent service and standards all round. The entertainment including the comedian was a great hit at New Year, enjoyed by all. With approximately 200 guests staying with us at New Year it is difficult to keep all the excitement and celebrations of everyone down.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Collingwood
Hotel Collingwood
#7 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
1.0 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#15 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,260 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Central Hotel
Park Central Hotel
#6 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Savoy Hotel

Property: The Savoy Hotel
Address: 39 West Hill Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5EJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Savoy Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Savoy Hotel is a prime example of Victorian architecture. It is one of the closest hotels in Bournemouth to both beach and town centre, and stands in extensive grounds on the town’s fashionable West Cliff, and provides a scenic and relaxing location for leisure travellers. Inside, the hotel is has been sympathetically decorated and maintained. Bournemouth boasts over two thousand acres of parks and gardens. With an excellent climate, the town nestles in chalk cliffs, sheltered by the Purbeck Hills. Stroll around stylish boutiques in elegant Victorian arcades, or roll your trousers up and enjoy miles of golden sandy beaches.The Hotel houses all of the amenities and facilities you would expect from a Coast & Country venue. In addition, our staff will offer you a warm, friendly welcome, and make sure that your stay is as relaxing and memorable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Bournemouth
Bournemouth Hotel Savoy
Savoy Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing