We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely weekend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Savoy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Savoy Hotel
Ranked #36 of 68 Hotels in Bournemouth
Kent u.k.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“lovely weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

I travelled with Shearings coach tours for a weekend break at this hotel. We were booked in quickly and efficiently by the cheerful reception staff. As I was booked into a single room and had noticed that the garden rooms had a nice view I asked if I could be upgraded into one of them and this was done quickly and with no quibbles. It was also refreshing to note that all single guests were asked if they would like to share a table or dine alone, although I chose to share as it is a good way to make new friends.
My room (305) was small but clean with a small balcony that looked out over the hotel gardens and the sea. It had a flat screen t.v. with a good choice of freeview channels and radio. The shower was very small but worked perfectly and the towels were white and fluffy. There was also a hospitality tray with tea, coffee and biscuits. There had been a problem with the heating but this was quickly resolved.
The meals are of a good standard with plenty of choice to suit everyone but you could also choose items from the a la carte menu with an allowance against the price.The lounges were very comfortable and it was nice to chill out and read the Sunday papers with the sun streaming through the large windows. We were very lucky with the weather and although it was raining and very windy when we arrived on Friday I woke to a view of the sun on the sea on Saturday and our free day on Sunday in the resort was made very pleasant by the appearance of the sun once more. The hotel is in a very good position on the West Cliff promenade and also within easy reach of the many shops and restaurants.
I would certainly use this coach company and hotel again. I couldn't fault the staff who were all impressively efficient and cheerful. The only tiny gripe was the piano in the dining room right next to our table which became a little wearing by the time the meal had finished but that still wouldn't deter me from returning.

Room Tip: the garden rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andysgirl49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnwtaylor, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Dear gingersgirl67,

Thank you for taking the time to right such a lovely and informative review of your recent stay with us.
Our hotel is in a very good position for enjoying Bournemouth's town and accessing the beach, especially when the sun does decide to shine.
Our staff take pride in ensuring our guests have an enjoyable stay with us and your lovely comments will be past on to them.
We do hope you will visit us again soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    322
    137
    50
    37
See reviews for
102
422
29
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
128 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

As I was planning to stay here in May with a group of 16 my wife & I decided to try it out in February.
We knew the weather would not be great but then there is always plenty to do in Bournemouth
& Shearings had excellent offers including a free bottle of wine & £25 bar vouchers/person.
You simply could not beat the value & I defy anyone that complains about the hotel to find one better value. I agree with the previous reviewer that ther was an issue with the heating but we were provided with 2 electric radiators for our bedroom.
I am certainly looking forward to our group holiday there in May. A special mention must be made of Marko serving the food in a very pleasant manner.

Room Tip: Although the garden view rooms have a supplement their view is superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank An_English_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnwtaylor, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Guest,

It's pleasing to hear that despite the weather you decided to venture away and enjoyed your stay with us. We do have many offers and promotion on, offering value for money all round. Your lovely comments for Marko will be passed on to him.
We look forward to seeing you all in May.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

Stayed first week on February 2014, when the weather as dreadful. This hotel is very conveniently situated within easy walking distance of the seafront and town centre even for those with restricted mobility (age in our case). The outstanding feature of the hotel is the staff who, without exception, were polite, friendly, and efficient. Our room was the standard grade, and was large, clean, with comfortable beds. The en suite was also clean, but was really in need of up-grading. Everything worked but the plumbing was prone to strange noises, and the ceramic and bath items were different colours. However it turned out to be the quietest room we have ever had bearing in mind the hotel was nearly full (just under 170). The food was plentiful with a choice to suit most and veggie options included. We stuck to the table d'hote offerings and were completely satisfied. There was an interesting range on the a la carte menu, which initially looked expensive, but the prices are substantially discounted if replacing the included table d'hote. Bar prices were about the norm, but we benefitted from the £25 per person vouchers provided to mid week clients, so ended up paying very little extra at the end of our stay. As indicated the weather was very bad and it appeared there was an issue with the central heating system, particularly in the otherwise superb lounge and dining room which were cold with non operational radiators. This was a pity and the source of critical comment by a number of guests we spoke to.
All in all we can not think it is possible to get better value, and in criticism we remind ourselves of what we got for our money - a great deal!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnwtaylor, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing such an informative review. We do feel we offer excellant value for money with £25.00 per person in house credit to spend on food and beverages within the hotel, with a varied menu each evening and the choice to pay a supplement for items on the a la carte menu.
We have an on-going refurbishment programme of bedrooms at the Savoy with16 rooms completed in December and more planned for this year. Your lovely comments for our staff will be passed on to the team. We do apologise for the issues we've had with the heating downstairs, this is something that is being looked into at the moment.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards



Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

A Shearings four night break in January as a solo traveller. I was made to feel welcome not only by the other passengers on the coach but by the lovely people also staying at the Hotel from around the country.

The Hotel is in an excellent position and I found it easy enough to walk into the town although the steep hill back was enough to make me realise that I really needed to do more exercise.

Staff were absolutely wonderful and could not be faulted with their can-do attitude and customer service.

The food was really very good and we had the tastiest roast lamb on the Friday night that was excellent. I think there was a good choice in the standard menu, especially considering how much the holiday cost.

My bed was comfortable, the bedding was crisp and clean, and the only thing offputting was the squeaky floorboards, but this is an old building after all.

The entertainment was very good ( I agree with the review from FandMD about Tuesday and Thursday entertainers) and we were also blessed by a lively party from Liverpool staying who really enjoyed having a good time and welcomed everyone one into their fun.

I would like to go back to Bournemouth during the summer months and would not hesitate to stay at the Savoy.

Well done to the management and staff of the Hotel and to Shearings for making it all happen.

Room Tip: If you find you are in a room that does not suit, why not politely ask the charming reception staff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mariji1005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnwtaylor, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. It's lovely to hear that as a single traveller everyone was so welcoming towards you, people can make such a differance to a holiday.
We are in a great location for seeing the sites of Bournemouth, for the less fit amongst us there is a bus service running in and out of the town center just around the corner of the hotel. Our menu is varied and different each evening with a choice to suit all tastes.
Thank you for a great tip for future guests, if there is anything we can do to make your stay more comfortable and enjoyable, please do not hesitate to see our Reception team who will only be too happy to do their best.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

very cold hotel/room ..room not clean we cleaned bathroom ourselves all crockery chipped even in restaurant bar v.cold...staff lovely...food lovely ..room modern but cold and cleanliness let it down will not go again shame as special surprise

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank char489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnwtaylor, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay. Our sincere apologies for the let down on what was a special occasion. We are dissapointed to hear that you found your room cold and not clean, this is by no means or usual standard and your comments have been passed on to the relevant persons.
It is lovely to hear that you found the food and staff lovely. Should you change your mind in staying with us again please contact the hotel direct.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

We stayed at The Savoy for four nights on a Shearings coach holiday. This is the best Shearings hotel we have been to so far.
Booking in was slightly delayed because two coaches had arrived at the same time, but this was hardly the hotel's fault. Our actual checking in was straightforward and quick with pleasant and efficient reception staff. We had paid extra for a "garden view" room and were not disappointed. Our room (206) had obviously been refurbished as it was nicely decorated, had new looking furniture, a flat screen T.V. and was lovely and warm. The beautiful view from the balcony over the gardens to the sea was well worth the extra money.
The dining room, looking out over the gardens, was nicely decorated and the furniture looked new. The food was excellent with a good menu choice, good portions, well presented and all served by very pleasant and friendly staff. We also liked the system of choosing the time you wished to dine as this meant the staff were not rushed.
The evening entertainment was very good, especially on the Tuesday and Thursday nights, and a big bonus for us was the bliss of there not being any Bingo or pub quizzes. Consequently there was no mad rush of guests finishing their dinner to grab seats in the entertainment area.
We would agree with the comments that some of the public areas felt rather cold, and although the lift was supposed to be able to hold six people, most thought four was about limit. As for the comments about the charge for parking, we noticed that you could park on the street for free.
We really enjoyed our short stay at the Savoy and hope to return some day. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Well worth paying extra for a "garden view" room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FandMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnwtaylor, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. It's wonderful to hear that we have been your best Shearings hotel so far. When coaches arrive together it can take a liitle longer to get everyone checked in, we try and make it as quick and efficient as we can with a high volume of guests.
We are glad that you enjoyed one of our newly refurbished rooms, the garden view balconys are lovely to just sit back, relax looking out at the views.

Its lovely to hear that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay with us and found the service good and our staff pleasant and helpful. We can only apologise for the temperature you felt in some of the public areas, this is an issue we are looking into.

We do hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ipswich
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights and had a really good time. Book in was fast and efficient and all of my booking requests had been satisfied.Meals were tasty and offered real choice.The Hotel benefits from a near perfect location with dining room an lounge overlooking extensive gardens with the sea beyond. Good Hotels become great when people are great. All the staff were extremely polite and accommodated every request. I look forward to visiting this Hotel again .

Room Tip: Garden room worth extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twophonesipswich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnwtaylor, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Guest,

It's always great to hear our guests views about their recent holidays with us. Our location is indeed almost perfect, getting out and about in Bournemouth and the surrounding area is easily accessable from the Savoy, and our garden rooms do boost lovely views of our gardens and the sea beyond, well worth the extra supplement if you wish to sit back relax and look out.
It's lovely to hear that you found our staff polite and helpful and we all look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Collingwood
Hotel Collingwood
#7 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
1.0 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#15 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,260 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Central Hotel
Park Central Hotel
#6 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Savoy Hotel

Property: The Savoy Hotel
Address: 39 West Hill Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5EJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Savoy Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Savoy Hotel is a prime example of Victorian architecture. It is one of the closest hotels in Bournemouth to both beach and town centre, and stands in extensive grounds on the town’s fashionable West Cliff, and provides a scenic and relaxing location for leisure travellers. Inside, the hotel is has been sympathetically decorated and maintained. Bournemouth boasts over two thousand acres of parks and gardens. With an excellent climate, the town nestles in chalk cliffs, sheltered by the Purbeck Hills. Stroll around stylish boutiques in elegant Victorian arcades, or roll your trousers up and enjoy miles of golden sandy beaches.The Hotel houses all of the amenities and facilities you would expect from a Coast & Country venue. In addition, our staff will offer you a warm, friendly welcome, and make sure that your stay is as relaxing and memorable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Bournemouth
Bournemouth Hotel Savoy
Savoy Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing