We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Savoy Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$171
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Park Central Hotel(Bournemouth)
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
US$98
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Cumberland Hotel(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
US$146
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$100
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Suncliff Hotel(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
US$68
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
US$197
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$87
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$172
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$107
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$101
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (885)
Filter reviews
885 results
Traveller rating
241
372
166
61
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
241
372
166
61
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden viewcoast countryshearings holidayshearings hotelsself drivesnooker roomon a half board basisevening mealwest cliffweekend breakcoach driversmall lifta ground floor roomlong weekendtown centrethe hotel car parkper day
Filter
Updating list...
530 - 535 of 885 reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We stayed at the Savoy for a 5 day coach trip at the end of January which we booked rather last minute and so got a very good deal (which also included the £25 in-house spend). We normally stay at the Majestic when in Bournemouth as we like the friendly atmosphere there. However, we had a lovely stay at the Savoy. Food was very good as was the service both at the bar and in the restaurant. Entertainment was good (Amanda Jane from the Majestic on the Tuesday was super as always). The lounge areas were a little cold at times but our room was warm enough. We had a standard room which was fine but it was on the ground floor at the rear of the hotel and our view was of a brick wall. However, the Savoy is very well situated and we enjoyed the gentle walk down to the town via the cliff walk and the gardens (bus back as it was uphill) and also the views of the gardens and the sea are nice from the restaurant and lounge area. We like Bournemouth as there plenty of shops, a very nice sea front, and the gardens. plus buses are available for trips to Exeter, Christchurch, Poole, Salisbury etc. Generally staff were friendly and helpful (especially the young lady behind the bar) although the 'trainee' manager who gave us initial information about the hotel when we first arrived gave us incorrect details regarding the entertainment saying it had been changed and would now be on Mon, Tues & Wed when in fact it was on Tues, Wed & Thurs (none on the Monday), this resulted in several people waiting around for entertainment on the Monday with none materialising. The last time we stayed at the Savoy was before it became a 'Cost & Country' Hotel but we thoroughly enjoyed this holiday (despite the really wet weather) and will doubtless book again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seasidedancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnwtaylor, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

Dear Seasidedancer,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. Its pleasing to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that this recent bad weather never put you off travelling.
We do have a variety of rooms available here at the Savoy with various options on room types and views available.
We apologise for the misunderstanding with evenings that entertainment is on, we had just recently changed it, it is indeed on a Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday night.
Your lovely comments for Amanda Jane and our young bar lady Seonaidh will be passed on to them.
We do hope to see you again some time soon.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

A 2 day weekend at the Savoy with a friend in Feb. Coast & Country, It was a birthday treat.
We had been before in Dec 2012 for a pre Christmas shopping break.
This time round we were checked in quickly as we arrived later than expected due to filthy weather travelling. We were surprised to find we had a garden room which was nice but would be great in the summer.
Cannot complain about value of the weekend, room, breakfast, supper overall great. Of course there would be niggles if one looked close enough, like no heat in the bathroom. But hey it was fine.
One thing though supper on friday night included a choice of "Duck pudding" well I tried it.
Mistake!!!! I don't know why or how the chef thinks this is an acceptable meal to offer guests but it was dreadful, avoid at all costs. The veg were fine which saved the day.
Music and entertainment on Friday and Saturday eves was good.
Great value would definitely recommend for a value break.

Room Tip: We were on a value break so cannot comment on other rooms. Probably better but ours was fine.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan_KKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnwtaylor, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

Dear Jan_KKent,

We're pleased to hear that you chose to come back and stay with us for a birthday treat, and that you enjoyed most aspects of you're holiday.

We do offer value for money on a slection of different mid-week and weekend breaks with us. Our garden view rooms are indeed nice even more so when the weather is kind to us.
We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the Duck Pudding, we do have many guests who do enjoy this dish.

Thank you for your review and we do hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I travelled with Shearings coach tours for a weekend break at this hotel. We were booked in quickly and efficiently by the cheerful reception staff. As I was booked into a single room and had noticed that the garden rooms had a nice view I asked if I could be upgraded into one of them and this was done quickly and with no quibbles. It was also refreshing to note that all single guests were asked if they would like to share a table or dine alone, although I chose to share as it is a good way to make new friends.
My room (305) was small but clean with a small balcony that looked out over the hotel gardens and the sea. It had a flat screen t.v. with a good choice of freeview channels and radio. The shower was very small but worked perfectly and the towels were white and fluffy. There was also a hospitality tray with tea, coffee and biscuits. There had been a problem with the heating but this was quickly resolved.
The meals are of a good standard with plenty of choice to suit everyone but you could also choose items from the a la carte menu with an allowance against the price.The lounges were very comfortable and it was nice to chill out and read the Sunday papers with the sun streaming through the large windows. We were very lucky with the weather and although it was raining and very windy when we arrived on Friday I woke to a view of the sun on the sea on Saturday and our free day on Sunday in the resort was made very pleasant by the appearance of the sun once more. The hotel is in a very good position on the West Cliff promenade and also within easy reach of the many shops and restaurants.
I would certainly use this coach company and hotel again. I couldn't fault the staff who were all impressively efficient and cheerful. The only tiny gripe was the piano in the dining room right next to our table which became a little wearing by the time the meal had finished but that still wouldn't deter me from returning.

Room Tip: the garden rooms are good.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Andysgirl49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnwtaylor, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

Dear gingersgirl67,

Thank you for taking the time to right such a lovely and informative review of your recent stay with us.
Our hotel is in a very good position for enjoying Bournemouth's town and accessing the beach, especially when the sun does decide to shine.
Our staff take pride in ensuring our guests have an enjoyable stay with us and your lovely comments will be past on to them.
We do hope you will visit us again soon.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

As I was planning to stay here in May with a group of 16 my wife & I decided to try it out in February.
We knew the weather would not be great but then there is always plenty to do in Bournemouth
& Shearings had excellent offers including a free bottle of wine & £25 bar vouchers/person.
You simply could not beat the value & I defy anyone that complains about the hotel to find one better value. I agree with the previous reviewer that ther was an issue with the heating but we were provided with 2 electric radiators for our bedroom.
I am certainly looking forward to our group holiday there in May. A special mention must be made of Marko serving the food in a very pleasant manner.

Room Tip: Although the garden view rooms have a supplement their view is superb.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank An_English_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnwtaylor, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Dear Guest,

It's pleasing to hear that despite the weather you decided to venture away and enjoyed your stay with us. We do have many offers and promotion on, offering value for money all round. Your lovely comments for Marko will be passed on to him.
We look forward to seeing you all in May.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Stayed first week on February 2014, when the weather as dreadful. This hotel is very conveniently situated within easy walking distance of the seafront and town centre even for those with restricted mobility (age in our case). The outstanding feature of the hotel is the staff who, without exception, were polite, friendly, and efficient. Our room was the standard grade, and was large, clean, with comfortable beds. The en suite was also clean, but was really in need of up-grading. Everything worked but the plumbing was prone to strange noises, and the ceramic and bath items were different colours. However it turned out to be the quietest room we have ever had bearing in mind the hotel was nearly full (just under 170). The food was plentiful with a choice to suit most and veggie options included. We stuck to the table d'hote offerings and were completely satisfied. There was an interesting range on the a la carte menu, which initially looked expensive, but the prices are substantially discounted if replacing the included table d'hote. Bar prices were about the norm, but we benefitted from the £25 per person vouchers provided to mid week clients, so ended up paying very little extra at the end of our stay. As indicated the weather was very bad and it appeared there was an issue with the central heating system, particularly in the otherwise superb lounge and dining room which were cold with non operational radiators. This was a pity and the source of critical comment by a number of guests we spoke to.
All in all we can not think it is possible to get better value, and in criticism we remind ourselves of what we got for our money - a great deal!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnwtaylor, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing such an informative review. We do feel we offer excellant value for money with £25.00 per person in house credit to spend on food and beverages within the hotel, with a varied menu each evening and the choice to pay a supplement for items on the a la carte menu.
We have an on-going refurbishment programme of bedrooms at the Savoy with16 rooms completed in December and more planned for this year. Your lovely comments for our staff will be passed on to the team. We do apologise for the issues we've had with the heating downstairs, this is something that is being looked into at the moment.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards



Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews