We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Savoy Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The Suncliff Hotel(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
US$54
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
US$80
US$51
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Elstead Hotel(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
US$70
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ramada Encore Bournemouth(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
US$95
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$93
US$84
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
US$77
US$75
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Chine Hotel(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
US$97
US$94
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Celebrity(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
US$67
US$65
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Hotel Royale(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
US$68
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (877)
Filter reviews
878 results
Traveller rating
240
371
163
60
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
240
371
163
60
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden viewcoast countryshearings holidayshearings hotelsself drivesnooker roomon a half board basisevening mealwest cliffweekend breakcoach driversmall lifta ground floor roomlong weekendtown centrethe hotel car parkper day
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
521 - 526 of 878 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights last week. We had a very good value half board deal.The food in the restaurant was excellent with plenty of choice both at breakfast and Dinner. Lovely views of the sea from the dining room.
We were there during the storm on Valentines Day night. It was hair-raising to say the least,never heard wind like it. We were so glad we were tucked up safely in the hotel and not out in it! There was a lot of damage though trees down etc.However by Sunday what a change,we were sitting out on the promenade with no coats!
The entertainment was good we thought so need to go out in the evening which was just as well in the Winter.
Our room was a good size and comfortable however bathroom in desperate need of updating.We could have paid extra and had a modern bathroom. Really all that was needed in the room we were in[room 21] was re-tiling,bath taken out and replaced with shower and it would have been fine. Not a huge amount of money,I would have thought.
The other major gripe I have and this applies to many other hotels and public buildings is the ridiculously high temperature in the hotel,especially the dining room,it was most uncomfortable. We had to get the handy man to come to our room and turn off the radiator with a spanner. Can you believe that there was no way of switching the radiator off? The heating was going day and night,utterly ridiculous.what a complete waste of money,damage to the environment and most of all the huge financial loss to the hotel which could be used to do up the bathrooms.I will say just one thing loudly and that is"TURN IT DOWN"!

Room Tip: Probably worth paying the extra to have a superior room.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizNorthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnwtaylor, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

Dear LizNorthampton,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us. Valentines Day night was indeed a wild one here in Bournemouth, it was a safe choice to stay in and enjoy the nights entertainment.
Our hotel does have some lovely views, from the restaurant and lounge areas of the sea and our gardens.
We have an on-going refurbishment programme at the Savoy, with more bedrooms and bathrooms scheduled to be done this year.
We have many different inititives in our hotel to help reduce damage to the environment, and can only aplogise for the problem with your heater which will be looked into. Our heating is normally on a timed system and I can only assume that this had been altered over the weekend you were here.

We do hope to welcome you back to a less windy Bournemouth again.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Lovely old character building with large rooms and open spaces, high ceilings. He garden is beautiful. With the window open we heard the sea at high tide. The food was ver good and staff were wonderful in the restaurant. The evening entertainment was good and varied. NO bingo! Terrific, we had conversation with other guests and dancing on a proper wooden dance floor. The manager and reception were attentive, nothing was too much trouble. Will go back again.

Room Tip: Pay slightly more for a room overlooking the garden
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helen j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnwtaylor, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

Dear helen j,

It's lovely to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and liked the features of the hotel including our lovely gardens.
We have an excellent team of staff, who will be most pleased to read your comments.
Thank you for your review and we do hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We stayed at the Savoy for a 5 day coach trip at the end of January which we booked rather last minute and so got a very good deal (which also included the £25 in-house spend). We normally stay at the Majestic when in Bournemouth as we like the friendly atmosphere there. However, we had a lovely stay at the Savoy. Food was very good as was the service both at the bar and in the restaurant. Entertainment was good (Amanda Jane from the Majestic on the Tuesday was super as always). The lounge areas were a little cold at times but our room was warm enough. We had a standard room which was fine but it was on the ground floor at the rear of the hotel and our view was of a brick wall. However, the Savoy is very well situated and we enjoyed the gentle walk down to the town via the cliff walk and the gardens (bus back as it was uphill) and also the views of the gardens and the sea are nice from the restaurant and lounge area. We like Bournemouth as there plenty of shops, a very nice sea front, and the gardens. plus buses are available for trips to Exeter, Christchurch, Poole, Salisbury etc. Generally staff were friendly and helpful (especially the young lady behind the bar) although the 'trainee' manager who gave us initial information about the hotel when we first arrived gave us incorrect details regarding the entertainment saying it had been changed and would now be on Mon, Tues & Wed when in fact it was on Tues, Wed & Thurs (none on the Monday), this resulted in several people waiting around for entertainment on the Monday with none materialising. The last time we stayed at the Savoy was before it became a 'Cost & Country' Hotel but we thoroughly enjoyed this holiday (despite the really wet weather) and will doubtless book again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seasidedancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnwtaylor, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

Dear Seasidedancer,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. Its pleasing to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that this recent bad weather never put you off travelling.
We do have a variety of rooms available here at the Savoy with various options on room types and views available.
We apologise for the misunderstanding with evenings that entertainment is on, we had just recently changed it, it is indeed on a Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday night.
Your lovely comments for Amanda Jane and our young bar lady Seonaidh will be passed on to them.
We do hope to see you again some time soon.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

A 2 day weekend at the Savoy with a friend in Feb. Coast & Country, It was a birthday treat.
We had been before in Dec 2012 for a pre Christmas shopping break.
This time round we were checked in quickly as we arrived later than expected due to filthy weather travelling. We were surprised to find we had a garden room which was nice but would be great in the summer.
Cannot complain about value of the weekend, room, breakfast, supper overall great. Of course there would be niggles if one looked close enough, like no heat in the bathroom. But hey it was fine.
One thing though supper on friday night included a choice of "Duck pudding" well I tried it.
Mistake!!!! I don't know why or how the chef thinks this is an acceptable meal to offer guests but it was dreadful, avoid at all costs. The veg were fine which saved the day.
Music and entertainment on Friday and Saturday eves was good.
Great value would definitely recommend for a value break.

Room Tip: We were on a value break so cannot comment on other rooms. Probably better but ours was fine.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan_KKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnwtaylor, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

Dear Jan_KKent,

We're pleased to hear that you chose to come back and stay with us for a birthday treat, and that you enjoyed most aspects of you're holiday.

We do offer value for money on a slection of different mid-week and weekend breaks with us. Our garden view rooms are indeed nice even more so when the weather is kind to us.
We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the Duck Pudding, we do have many guests who do enjoy this dish.

Thank you for your review and we do hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I travelled with Shearings coach tours for a weekend break at this hotel. We were booked in quickly and efficiently by the cheerful reception staff. As I was booked into a single room and had noticed that the garden rooms had a nice view I asked if I could be upgraded into one of them and this was done quickly and with no quibbles. It was also refreshing to note that all single guests were asked if they would like to share a table or dine alone, although I chose to share as it is a good way to make new friends.
My room (305) was small but clean with a small balcony that looked out over the hotel gardens and the sea. It had a flat screen t.v. with a good choice of freeview channels and radio. The shower was very small but worked perfectly and the towels were white and fluffy. There was also a hospitality tray with tea, coffee and biscuits. There had been a problem with the heating but this was quickly resolved.
The meals are of a good standard with plenty of choice to suit everyone but you could also choose items from the a la carte menu with an allowance against the price.The lounges were very comfortable and it was nice to chill out and read the Sunday papers with the sun streaming through the large windows. We were very lucky with the weather and although it was raining and very windy when we arrived on Friday I woke to a view of the sun on the sea on Saturday and our free day on Sunday in the resort was made very pleasant by the appearance of the sun once more. The hotel is in a very good position on the West Cliff promenade and also within easy reach of the many shops and restaurants.
I would certainly use this coach company and hotel again. I couldn't fault the staff who were all impressively efficient and cheerful. The only tiny gripe was the piano in the dining room right next to our table which became a little wearing by the time the meal had finished but that still wouldn't deter me from returning.

Room Tip: the garden rooms are good.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Andysgirl49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnwtaylor, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

Dear gingersgirl67,

Thank you for taking the time to right such a lovely and informative review of your recent stay with us.
Our hotel is in a very good position for enjoying Bournemouth's town and accessing the beach, especially when the sun does decide to shine.
Our staff take pride in ensuring our guests have an enjoyable stay with us and your lovely comments will be past on to them.
We do hope you will visit us again soon.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews