We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and staff pity about the shower”
Review of The Savoy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Savoy Hotel
Ranked #37 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
UK
2 reviews
“Great hotel and staff pity about the shower”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

The hotel, location, staff and food was top notch, only let down by the shower capacity. A great hotel lets you step into a wonderful shower.....this one just didn't do that. After many minutes with just the cold tap on you got some tepid / warm water, then it would go hot and cold. We had this one regret but it was big enough for us to say....might not stop here again.

Room Tip: 401 is in the roof space, window does open wide but mind your head on the sloping roof
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian2008uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnwtaylor, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Dear Brian2008uk,

I'm sorry to hear that you had issues with your shower whilst staying here, we do encourage guests to report any faults at the time of stay so we can try to rectify them whilst their still here, we will look into this problem you had and have it fixed.
I do hope that this will not put you off from staying with us again, as you enjoyed everything else during your stay.
Many thanks for your review.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    334
    145
    52
    38
See reviews for
104
438
30
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

This is our 3rd visit to this hotel, and if anything, I think it was even better than in previous years. We went with a large group of friends (16 in all) and requested seating together in the restaurant, which was arranged. Good menu, excellent service, and standard of food and presentation really good. Our waiter, Marko was very efficient and friendly, and service was extremely prompt..
Our double standard room (125) was spacious, with a bath (shower over it) which we prefer to a shower room. Room was a little on the cool side (radiator not working too well) but an additional heater had been placed there for us, and I have no doubt that if I had requested another, it would have been supplied too. We were happy with it. Bathroom was cold, but it didn't worry us much. Hotel is clean and staff helpful. My only gripe was that the bar advertised wines at £14.95, but they were not available (not even after another 2 days had passed) and the cheapest offered was £17.95.
I have to admit that we all resent the additional parking charges introduced a year or two ago by this chain, but most of us were able to park free in the street, or nearby with no problem. . Great break, I'm pretty certain we'll be back again next year.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Way2go20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnwtaylor, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Dear Way2go20,

Thank you for your recent review, and for visiting us again for a third time!
I'm sorry to hear that we ran out of the wine stated, this was a particullarly popular wine at the time of your stay.
I'm glad that overall you enjoyed your time with us and that the staff took care of you and your group, especially Marko who will be pleased to read your comments.

All of us at the Savoy look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

the staff at this hotel are all very nice and helpful check in was quick and well organised ,the cases where taken to our rooms for us,the room i shared with my 13 year old grandson was in need of refurbishing but was clean and had every thing you needed -- tea and coffee making facilities ,complementary toiletries , and a hair drier,hot water. the food was excellent and plenty of choice and the service was excellent . the entertaiment that was on friday and saturday nights was also very enjoyable and the full size " free snooker table " was a big hit for my grandson and saved me a fortune !!! i just cannott fault anything about this hotel and want to visit again more in season and i will upgrade to a refurbished room with a sea or garden view because the hotel grounds are just beautifull and would love to use the outdoor swimming pool. the hotel itself is in a good position for the short walk to the shops and only 2 minutes to the cliff top walk which has stunning views . thank you to all the staff for a very enjoyable valentine weekend

Room Tip: worth the extra to pay for a refurbished room with sea/garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisntony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnwtaylor, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Dear chrisntony,

It's such a pleasure to read that you and your grandson enjoyed your weekend with us. The pool table is a great hit with the kids during holidays, and our swimming pool will open from May through to September.
Your lovely comments will be passed on to the team here and we all look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights last week. We had a very good value half board deal.The food in the restaurant was excellent with plenty of choice both at breakfast and Dinner. Lovely views of the sea from the dining room.
We were there during the storm on Valentines Day night. It was hair-raising to say the least,never heard wind like it. We were so glad we were tucked up safely in the hotel and not out in it! There was a lot of damage though trees down etc.However by Sunday what a change,we were sitting out on the promenade with no coats!
The entertainment was good we thought so need to go out in the evening which was just as well in the Winter.
Our room was a good size and comfortable however bathroom in desperate need of updating.We could have paid extra and had a modern bathroom. Really all that was needed in the room we were in[room 21] was re-tiling,bath taken out and replaced with shower and it would have been fine. Not a huge amount of money,I would have thought.
The other major gripe I have and this applies to many other hotels and public buildings is the ridiculously high temperature in the hotel,especially the dining room,it was most uncomfortable. We had to get the handy man to come to our room and turn off the radiator with a spanner. Can you believe that there was no way of switching the radiator off? The heating was going day and night,utterly ridiculous.what a complete waste of money,damage to the environment and most of all the huge financial loss to the hotel which could be used to do up the bathrooms.I will say just one thing loudly and that is"TURN IT DOWN"!

Room Tip: Probably worth paying the extra to have a superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizNorthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnwtaylor, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Dear LizNorthampton,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us. Valentines Day night was indeed a wild one here in Bournemouth, it was a safe choice to stay in and enjoy the nights entertainment.
Our hotel does have some lovely views, from the restaurant and lounge areas of the sea and our gardens.
We have an on-going refurbishment programme at the Savoy, with more bedrooms and bathrooms scheduled to be done this year.
We have many different inititives in our hotel to help reduce damage to the environment, and can only aplogise for the problem with your heater which will be looked into. Our heating is normally on a timed system and I can only assume that this had been altered over the weekend you were here.

We do hope to welcome you back to a less windy Bournemouth again.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Lovely old character building with large rooms and open spaces, high ceilings. He garden is beautiful. With the window open we heard the sea at high tide. The food was ver good and staff were wonderful in the restaurant. The evening entertainment was good and varied. NO bingo! Terrific, we had conversation with other guests and dancing on a proper wooden dance floor. The manager and reception were attentive, nothing was too much trouble. Will go back again.

Room Tip: Pay slightly more for a room overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helen j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnwtaylor, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Dear helen j,

It's lovely to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and liked the features of the hotel including our lovely gardens.
We have an excellent team of staff, who will be most pleased to read your comments.
Thank you for your review and we do hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
138 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We stayed at the Savoy for a 5 day coach trip at the end of January which we booked rather last minute and so got a very good deal (which also included the £25 in-house spend). We normally stay at the Majestic when in Bournemouth as we like the friendly atmosphere there. However, we had a lovely stay at the Savoy. Food was very good as was the service both at the bar and in the restaurant. Entertainment was good (Amanda Jane from the Majestic on the Tuesday was super as always). The lounge areas were a little cold at times but our room was warm enough. We had a standard room which was fine but it was on the ground floor at the rear of the hotel and our view was of a brick wall. However, the Savoy is very well situated and we enjoyed the gentle walk down to the town via the cliff walk and the gardens (bus back as it was uphill) and also the views of the gardens and the sea are nice from the restaurant and lounge area. We like Bournemouth as there plenty of shops, a very nice sea front, and the gardens. plus buses are available for trips to Exeter, Christchurch, Poole, Salisbury etc. Generally staff were friendly and helpful (especially the young lady behind the bar) although the 'trainee' manager who gave us initial information about the hotel when we first arrived gave us incorrect details regarding the entertainment saying it had been changed and would now be on Mon, Tues & Wed when in fact it was on Tues, Wed & Thurs (none on the Monday), this resulted in several people waiting around for entertainment on the Monday with none materialising. The last time we stayed at the Savoy was before it became a 'Cost & Country' Hotel but we thoroughly enjoyed this holiday (despite the really wet weather) and will doubtless book again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seasidedancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnwtaylor, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Dear Seasidedancer,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. Its pleasing to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that this recent bad weather never put you off travelling.
We do have a variety of rooms available here at the Savoy with various options on room types and views available.
We apologise for the misunderstanding with evenings that entertainment is on, we had just recently changed it, it is indeed on a Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday night.
Your lovely comments for Amanda Jane and our young bar lady Seonaidh will be passed on to them.
We do hope to see you again some time soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

A 2 day weekend at the Savoy with a friend in Feb. Coast & Country, It was a birthday treat.
We had been before in Dec 2012 for a pre Christmas shopping break.
This time round we were checked in quickly as we arrived later than expected due to filthy weather travelling. We were surprised to find we had a garden room which was nice but would be great in the summer.
Cannot complain about value of the weekend, room, breakfast, supper overall great. Of course there would be niggles if one looked close enough, like no heat in the bathroom. But hey it was fine.
One thing though supper on friday night included a choice of "Duck pudding" well I tried it.
Mistake!!!! I don't know why or how the chef thinks this is an acceptable meal to offer guests but it was dreadful, avoid at all costs. The veg were fine which saved the day.
Music and entertainment on Friday and Saturday eves was good.
Great value would definitely recommend for a value break.

Room Tip: We were on a value break so cannot comment on other rooms. Probably better but ours was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan_KKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnwtaylor, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Dear Jan_KKent,

We're pleased to hear that you chose to come back and stay with us for a birthday treat, and that you enjoyed most aspects of you're holiday.

We do offer value for money on a slection of different mid-week and weekend breaks with us. Our garden view rooms are indeed nice even more so when the weather is kind to us.
We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the Duck Pudding, we do have many guests who do enjoy this dish.

Thank you for your review and we do hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Collingwood
Hotel Collingwood
#8 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Park Central Hotel
Park Central Hotel
#7 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,108 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Savoy Hotel

Property: The Savoy Hotel
Address: 39 West Hill Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5EJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Savoy Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Savoy Hotel is a prime example of Victorian architecture. It is one of the closest hotels in Bournemouth to both beach and town centre, and stands in extensive grounds on the town’s fashionable West Cliff, and provides a scenic and relaxing location for leisure travellers. Inside, the hotel is has been sympathetically decorated and maintained. Bournemouth boasts over two thousand acres of parks and gardens. With an excellent climate, the town nestles in chalk cliffs, sheltered by the Purbeck Hills. Stroll around stylish boutiques in elegant Victorian arcades, or roll your trousers up and enjoy miles of golden sandy beaches.The Hotel houses all of the amenities and facilities you would expect from a Coast & Country venue. In addition, our staff will offer you a warm, friendly welcome, and make sure that your stay is as relaxing and memorable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Bournemouth
Bournemouth Hotel Savoy
Savoy Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing