We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely place to stay”
Review of The Savoy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Savoy Hotel
Ranked #37 of 67 Hotels in Bournemouth
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We stayed at the Savoy hotel for a 2 nights break, Friday to Sunday in May. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Bournemouth. The location is great overlooking the sea and within 5 mins walk to the town centre.
On our arrival we were warmly greeted by very helpful and pleasant staff that made us feel very welcome. Our room was spacious, bright and clean with a super comfortable bed and an amazing view of the sea. The breakfast selection was excellent. It was a buffet with plenty of choice. Various cereals, muesli, yoghurts, croissants, prunes, grapefruit segments and fresh fruits. Tea and coffee accompanying with toast and full English breakfast was served on the table. Needless to say – very filling breakfast that set us up for the day presented by helpful and very attentive staff. We had a couple of drinks in the bar one evening which seemed to be very well stocked. The prices were very reasonable. There is also a sun terrace linked to the bar and a restaurant facing the sea with big a garden. Havent used it a lot but it must be a fantastic place to sit and enjoy a drink especially during the summer months.
We really enjoyed our stay in the hotel. Every staff member we encountered was pleasant and professional. We thought it was very good value for the money considering the location. You can not ask for more. Will definitely be back. A must!

Room Tip: The room 204 was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JBanana84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnwtaylor, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear JBanana84,

Thank you for your recent review of your stay at the Savoy. It's lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us from our staff to the food. The sun terrace is indeed a fantastic place to sit in the summer and relax with a drink. We do hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (861)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

469 - 475 of 861 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2014

Four of us on a three day break all agreed that the food was terrible, breakfast was fine, but same cannot be said for dinner. We even tried eating from the a la carte menu but twice were told that the kitchen had run out ( muscles - lamb shank ) The hotel itself was very comfortable with plenty of seating and our room was well looked after and no problems. Our friends shower was their problem has it only came out in a dribble. The entertainment was very good on both Friday and Saturday night. Bournemouth itself is well worth a visit,nice walks and plenty to see there and in surrounding area.

Room Tip: Go for one with a walk in shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ken b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnwtaylor, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear ken b,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us. I'm sorry that you did not enjoy your evening meals, your comments have been passed on and I can assure you this is not our usual standard. I'm pleased that you found your room comfortable and that you did enjoy Bournemouth itself.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I organised a walking long weekend for a party of 16 walkers from our club, mostly pensioners, I might add.
Everyone really enjoyed their holiday & I received a lot of praise for choosing such a great hotel. The table service was good & we were full of praise for Marta from Sicily. Even the scambled egg was liked, not like last year in Eastbourne.
The only downside was the parking, although we had booked 5 car spaces one seemed to have got lost & all allocated to the wrong people (Wigan take note). My space was almost impossible to use due to poor parking by another driver. Some spaces are far too small.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank An_English_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnwtaylor, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear An_English_Man,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us. It's wonderful to read that all your group enjoyed their holiday with us. We do apologise for the confusion with the car parking spaces. Your kind comments will be passed on to Marta, who will be thrilled to hear them. We do hope to see you agin in the future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Walking into the reception of this hotel is like walking into an old folks home. Check-in proved to be a strenuous affair, in a queue waiting for a lovely old dear that had forgotten her tablets, trying to get the reception to contact a local doctor to prescribe some more.
Once it was our turn (4 familes, 4 rooms), we were sorted reasonably ok. We had to park the cars on the street, as there was no more spaces left in the car-park, even though the same empty spaces remained empty the whole weekend. The street was busy, so advice is to book a space well in advance.
The hotel has an aged feel and needs a bit of a refurb. However, its a typically large hotel designed for one purpose only - and that is entertaining the older spectrum on coach trips to Bournemouth. If you are part of this group, you'll probably have a nice time at the Savoy. If you're not, you may feel just a little like an extra in the movie Cocoon.
The room was basic, but again needed a little updating.
We were all inclusive, which I regretted almost immediately. All the food is pretty basic, pre-frozen fayre. None of it will kill you, none of it will thrill you. Its a less than average experience that may have you skipping it for the chippy up the road.
You know you're slightly out of the target audience of this hotel when the resident comedian even cracks jokes about you being there - although the entertainment to be fair was pretty good.
Overall a very average seaside hotel, catering for coach-trip pensioners. Not for me, but then again, I'm not the target customer. yet..............

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ajt_austria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnwtaylor, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear ajt-austria,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. The Savoy is a lovely old building with lots of character, and with many returning guests who enjoy the fact that we do cater for their age group, rather than 18-30s. We do hope that this will not stop you from visiting Bournemouth again.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

My partner & I have been regular customers of Coast and Country hotels over the last few years. We recently went to this hotel for 3 night break in a superior room. We were allocated room 6- a ground floor 'garden room' looking out over the rear garden. The first night was very windy and we were woken by by loud crashes 3 times in the early hours. My partner phoned security after the third time (around 4am) and went up to investigate. The crashes turned out to be chairs on the restaurant veranda- directly above us blowing over. Lesson 1- dont accept a garden room if high winds are expected unless you are totally deaf. Needless to say we requested a room change and were given an alternative room on the 2nd floor. This room was not as nice as the first but at least we got some sleep the next night! Having booked a superior room, I was expecting an enjoyable stay with great food. What we received was some ok food, but some dreadful- with disappointing breakfasts including some very watered down orange . The staff were the best thing about the hotel being very polite and helpful.
Having been to other hotels in the chain, I was disappointed & would not visit again.
No sleep on the first night spoiled the stay (I cant believe this was the first time this issue has been raised) It wouldnt take much effort to stack away the chairs in windy conditions.

Room Tip: Dont accept a garden room if the forecast is for strong winds and you value your sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MHunter123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnwtaylor, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear MHunter123,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. I can only apolgise for the wind picking up in the night and blowing a few chairs over, causing you a restless nights sleep. It was dissapointing to read you found some of the food dreadful here, as we normally receive such positive comments, however your comments have been passed on and will be looked in to.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Popped in on spec and booked for two nights as when we arrived in town we were very tired, too tired to search too far for accommodation. Reception staff were very friendly so no complaints there but the average age of visitors seemed like they were all 70 +! To say we felt out of place would not be exaggerating and obviously this seems to be the haunt of the elderly. This in itself is not an issue if the hotel is known to cater for this clientele, but to us as tourists from Australia it was very off putting if you are expecting something a bit more 'cosmopolitan'. The other visitors were obviously enjoying themselves especially at the two nights of ' entertainment' we briefly witnessed that consisted if a solo singer with prerecord backing music. Just a little bit tacky for our tastes! Bed was comfy though and room very big overlooking a small park with squirrels. But in the end, we are too young to retire yet! The lift by the way must be the smallest we have ever been !

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peterfloyd54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnwtaylor, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Peterfloyd54,

Thank you for your review. There are plenty of hotels in Bournemouth that cater for stag and hen do's and are considered to be more lively with a younger crowd, which perhaps would suit you more in the future should you wish to come back to Bournemouth. Our clientel enjoy the fact that they are away from all the hustle and bustle younger crowds bring, this being one of the reasons they stay at the Savoy.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Recently returned from a four night coach trip to the savoy . On arrival was impressed by the promt and efficient check in ,was allocated a room on the second floor with balcony and views of the garden and sea ..the room was well decorated and the double bed was very comfortable .Food was good quality ,with plenty of choice ,staff were very friendly and helpful ,a special thank you to Barbara ,All in all a fab hotel in a great location .

Room Tip: Worth paying extra for garden / sea view .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 5Phil5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnwtaylor, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear 5Phil5,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It's wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, from the staff to your room. Your lovely comments have been passed on. We do hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Collingwood
Hotel Collingwood
#7 of 67 in Bournemouth
695 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bournemouth
Hampton by Hilton Bournemouth
#11 of 67 in Bournemouth
1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 67 in Bournemouth
3,688 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Bournemouth Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Savoy Hotel

Address: 39 West Hill Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5EJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: £49 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Savoy Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Savoy Hotel is a prime example of Victorian architecture. It is one of the closest hotels in Bournemouth to both beach and town centre, and stands in extensive grounds on the town’s fashionable West Cliff, and provides a scenic and relaxing location for leisure travellers. Inside, the hotel is has been sympathetically decorated and maintained. Bournemouth boasts over two thousand acres of parks and gardens. With an excellent climate, the town nestles in chalk cliffs, sheltered by the Purbeck Hills. Stroll around stylish boutiques in elegant Victorian arcades, or roll your trousers up and enjoy miles of golden sandy beaches.The Hotel houses all of the amenities and facilities you would expect from a Coast & Country venue. In addition, our staff will offer you a warm, friendly welcome, and make sure that your stay is as relaxing and memorable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your The Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Bournemouth
Bournemouth Hotel Savoy
Savoy Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing