We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, pity about the accommodation”
Review of The Savoy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Savoy Hotel
Ranked #35 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Reviewed 31 May 2014

The company offer excellent value for money for a weekend stay and the Hotel has a prominent position on the cliffs to the west of Bournmouth. A short steady walk down the coastal path and you can enter the beach, the pier, the park and the shopping area. However, the return journey is a climb back to the Savoy but the views can make it worth while.
Bournmouth, and the surrounding towns, have much to offer the visitors and an excellent bus service makes them easy to access and return. The Hotel car park charges make life easier as it guarantees an 'off-street' space rather than having to search the local streets.
The Savoy is an old building which now shows it's age and some areas require 'some loving tender care' to maintain the standard expected by the modern day traveller. Whilst the food, the dinning room, and the staff, make the holiday an enjoyable experience, the room my wife and I stayed in is not to the standard we would normally expect. The corridors, our room door, and the bathroom, badly need a 'Handyman' with screwdriver, tube of filler, and some paint, to rejuvenate them to an acceptable standard due to their wear over the years. However, the condition of the bathroom, and corridor was reflected in the price and presented us with value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnwtaylor, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Ken S,

Thank you for your recent review. We do feel we offer value for money and indeed we are in an excellent position for all of Bournemouths delights, be it a stroll to the beach or a walk into town. I'm sorry that the accomodation was not up to your standard and your comments have been noted, there is also an on-going refurbishment programme here regularly up dating our rooms. We do hope to welome you back again in the future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (849)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

452 - 458 of 849 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014

I have stayed at The Savoy and run workshops there over the last year on many occasions. In general, the venue has suited me pretty much perfectly in every way. In terms of the accomodation, it is well priced for my purposes and perfectly adequate though nothing special. The room where I run my workshops is ideal though the dark ceiling in winter makes the room appear very dark so we need extra lighting. The staff are all very helpful, polite, efficient and help out with any requests I have. And the location is perfect, perched on the edge of the cliffs with a short walk to the beach. I've grown very fond of Bournemouth and running my workshops there over the last year and The Savoy and staff are a large part of that. Thank you.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tristan1012013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnwtaylor, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Tristian,

Many thanks for the lovely review. It's wonderful to hear that you find the venue and facilities we provide pretty much perfect, and that our staff are always willing to meet your requests. Our aim is always to please the customer. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My husband and I are regular visitors to Shearing’s hotels and know pretty much what to expect but we were both pleasantly surprised by The Savoy.
Yes it is an old building but it has a great location and a lovely garden area as well as the best, friendliest and most helpful staff we have come across in a long time.

The public areas are well looked after and the dining room has great views, although the self-playing grand piano was a little annoying after the first day! The food is pretty typical of this type of hotel but I was disappointed by the number of times the kitchen seemed not to have everything on the menu – especially as it always seemed to be what I’d chosen to have! Also after a busy bank holiday weekend the hotel quietened down and the number of staff waiting on the restaurant also diminished but to a level when long waits for food, especially at breakfast, were commonplace which isn’t really good enough.

Our room, which was a superior plus, was large and on the top floor so boasted a good sea view – well it would have been good if both the panes of double glazing hadn’t been broken down which meant it always looked like it was raining. Also the shower was nothing more than a pathetic trickle that was sometimes so hot you couldn’t really stand under it. The temperature of the water seemed unaffected by anything you did to the taps. These two things let down an otherwise good room and need to be addressed by the management team.

Bournemouth is a lovely seaside town and a good base to discover the delights of Dorset from and you could do worse than this hotel but sadly you could also do better. Just a few little changes would improve the place considerably.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dez_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnwtaylor, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Dez_11,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us. Your comments have been passed on to the relevant persons and we will look into the problems mentioned. We do hope that you will visit the Savoy and Bournemouth again.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We have just returned to-day after a 3 night stay at the Savoy

All i can say well done to all the staff, from the moment we went in until we left, the staff were excellent
But a special mention of Barbara who served us our meal each evening, what excellent service in all departments , well done Barbara
The food was good, the room was spacious and clean and met all requirements

The bar staff were good , and we had a pleasant day at the pool on the Sunday, this was only spoiled when we went down to the pool area and the person that was tiding the area, was asked if it was open, it was met with the gate being flung open and not a word, he has a lot to learn from the rest of the staff

The entertainment was fine for the people in the hotel, when i say that i mean the over 60,s

Overall a pleasant weekend

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank samuel l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnwtaylor, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear samuell,

Thank you for your recent review. It's always pleasing to read such lovely comments for the staff and that you enjoyed your stay with us, your comments have been passed on to all. We do hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We stayed at the Savoy hotel for a 2 nights break, Friday to Sunday in May. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Bournemouth. The location is great overlooking the sea and within 5 mins walk to the town centre.
On our arrival we were warmly greeted by very helpful and pleasant staff that made us feel very welcome. Our room was spacious, bright and clean with a super comfortable bed and an amazing view of the sea. The breakfast selection was excellent. It was a buffet with plenty of choice. Various cereals, muesli, yoghurts, croissants, prunes, grapefruit segments and fresh fruits. Tea and coffee accompanying with toast and full English breakfast was served on the table. Needless to say – very filling breakfast that set us up for the day presented by helpful and very attentive staff. We had a couple of drinks in the bar one evening which seemed to be very well stocked. The prices were very reasonable. There is also a sun terrace linked to the bar and a restaurant facing the sea with big a garden. Havent used it a lot but it must be a fantastic place to sit and enjoy a drink especially during the summer months.
We really enjoyed our stay in the hotel. Every staff member we encountered was pleasant and professional. We thought it was very good value for the money considering the location. You can not ask for more. Will definitely be back. A must!

Room Tip: The room 204 was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JBanana84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnwtaylor, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear JBanana84,

Thank you for your recent review of your stay at the Savoy. It's lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us from our staff to the food. The sun terrace is indeed a fantastic place to sit in the summer and relax with a drink. We do hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Four of us on a three day break all agreed that the food was terrible, breakfast was fine, but same cannot be said for dinner. We even tried eating from the a la carte menu but twice were told that the kitchen had run out ( muscles - lamb shank ) The hotel itself was very comfortable with plenty of seating and our room was well looked after and no problems. Our friends shower was their problem has it only came out in a dribble. The entertainment was very good on both Friday and Saturday night. Bournemouth itself is well worth a visit,nice walks and plenty to see there and in surrounding area.

Room Tip: Go for one with a walk in shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ken b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnwtaylor, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear ken b,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us. I'm sorry that you did not enjoy your evening meals, your comments have been passed on and I can assure you this is not our usual standard. I'm pleased that you found your room comfortable and that you did enjoy Bournemouth itself.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I organised a walking long weekend for a party of 16 walkers from our club, mostly pensioners, I might add.
Everyone really enjoyed their holiday & I received a lot of praise for choosing such a great hotel. The table service was good & we were full of praise for Marta from Sicily. Even the scambled egg was liked, not like last year in Eastbourne.
The only downside was the parking, although we had booked 5 car spaces one seemed to have got lost & all allocated to the wrong people (Wigan take note). My space was almost impossible to use due to poor parking by another driver. Some spaces are far too small.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank An_English_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnwtaylor, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear An_English_Man,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us. It's wonderful to read that all your group enjoyed their holiday with us. We do apologise for the confusion with the car parking spaces. Your kind comments will be passed on to Marta, who will be thrilled to hear them. We do hope to see you agin in the future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,611 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#23 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,061 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
0.1 mi away
Hotel Collingwood
Hotel Collingwood
#7 of 66 in Bournemouth
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Savoy Hotel

Address: 39 West Hill Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5EJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: £45 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Savoy Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Savoy Hotel is a prime example of Victorian architecture. It is one of the closest hotels in Bournemouth to both beach and town centre, and stands in extensive grounds on the town’s fashionable West Cliff, and provides a scenic and relaxing location for leisure travellers. Inside, the hotel is has been sympathetically decorated and maintained. Bournemouth boasts over two thousand acres of parks and gardens. With an excellent climate, the town nestles in chalk cliffs, sheltered by the Purbeck Hills. Stroll around stylish boutiques in elegant Victorian arcades, or roll your trousers up and enjoy miles of golden sandy beaches.The Hotel houses all of the amenities and facilities you would expect from a Coast & Country venue. In addition, our staff will offer you a warm, friendly welcome, and make sure that your stay is as relaxing and memorable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your The Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Bournemouth
Bournemouth Hotel Savoy
Savoy Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing