We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a good experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Savoy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Savoy Hotel
Ranked #35 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Not a good experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Maybe our experience wasn't the best due to room availability but it wasn't very nice. Our room, even though spacious, had a very very tired decoration, the same as the bathroom. Very old in a bad way. I must say I found it clean. We were traveling with our daughters and they shared a room which was really hot and the window wouldn't provide the air needed to be comfortable. The hotel was providing 1 fan per room, which was helpful but not good enough to cool down the room. My husband and I were at the back of the hotel so we didn't have that issue. The staff were okay but their attention felt forced and not genuine, quite robotic really and that didn't help. Breakfast was alright but again, nothing special or good to say really. We were glad to only spend a night here and won't be going back there for sure.

Room Tip: Wifi only at the Reception area. Make sure you get a room in a quieter area, at the back. If you go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SantaCruz_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnwtaylor, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Dear SantaCruZ_11,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was dissapointing to read that you were not happy with your room and stay with us. We do feel we offer value for money and that our staff work hard to please our customers, as you can read from previous comments.

It has been an exceptionaly warm summer and we do our best with fans to cool rooms down but unfortunately we can not control the weather. We have an on-going refurbishment programe here at the Savoy, with more rooms being completed this winter.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    327
    140
    51
    38
See reviews for
104
429
29
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Had a lovely week in Bournemouth staying at The Savoy. Staff very friendly and helpful. Lovely gardens and swimming pool area. Enjoyed the evening show of a local fox endeavouring to get the food put out for birds. Restaurant and bar very pleasant a food good. The coastline was fantastic you could imagine being on actual riviera and not England's riviera.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GillianG896
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnwtaylor, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Dear Gillian G,

It's lovely to read that you enjoyed your week with us and the area we are in. The foxes are a funny sight to watch, we also get the squirrels having a go!! We do hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel was great value for money .meals were good and the service was excellant. The rooms were ok but weather was hot and windows only opened two inches so rooms got overbareing at night.the location was excellant. And plenty of outdoor activities to do in hotel grounds.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foxylady242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnwtaylor, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Dear Foxylady242,

Thank you for your review. It's lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yetminster
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

If you want a reasonably priced break in Bournemouth in a good location, then the Savoy could be the place for you. Its position on top of West Cliff is great and it is only a short, if hilly, stroll to the centre of the town. The Hotel itself though has probably seen better times. Some of the décor inside is very shabby and looks as though it could do with a bit of tlc. However the dining room and the the lounge at the front of the hotel are very pleasant. The garden outside has great potential, but was very scruffy and unkempt at the time of our visit. We didn't pay extra for a room upgrade, so we had one at the side of the hotel with a good view of the apartment block next door! It was spacious, reasonably comfortable, but the décor rather drab. The ensuite bathroom was OK, but really could do with a good deep clean to smarten up the bath, the handbasin and the grouting between the tiles.
The weather was good while we were there, so without any airconditioning, the bedroom was very stuffy - not helped by H&S regulations preventing guests from opening the windows wide. Like most hotels, the duvets were not of a summer weight and so far too warm to get a good night's sleep.
The breakfast was fine and the service efficient, however the dinner was a bit disappointing. The stuffed chicken was very dry and the portions small. We had hoped to eat a bit earlier on our second night there as we had booked tickets for the theatre. However we were told that if we eat at 7.15 the first night we had to eat at 7.15 every night! In all fairness we were told that if we came along a bit earlier they would see if they could fit us in, but with no guarantee, we were not prepared to take the risk. But what a favour the receptionist had done for us!! We went just round the corner from the hotel and found the most wonderful little restaurant, where we went back the following night, too!
On the whole the staff at the hotel were hard working and efficient, though we sometimes found the receptionists less so. Apart from the issue with the dinners, on a couple of occasions we were made to wait for our room keys whilst they carried on doing there admin. and they were rather officious in demanding where we parked the car!
Having said all this, we had a good long weekend and the price was very reasonable for a well positioned hotel at the height of the season. But I did get the impression that the hotel sold itself by offering a basic package with the hope that we would spend extra money upgrading our room and our food. (Well, we did on the food, but maybe not in the way they may have hoped!). As long as you are aware of this, you should have a good stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yettie_John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnwtaylor, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Dear Yettie_John,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us. We do feel that we offer value for money on our breaks and sgree that we are ideally situated in Bournemouth for all it has to offer. We have been having a lovely summer and do provide fans and lighter bedding on request.

We are continuously making improvements to the Savoy with more refurbishment planned for this winter. Your comments on the food and service have been passed on to the relevent persons and I do apologise if this spoilt your break with us. We do hope that this will not stop you from coming back.


Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Friendly ,customer orientated, with excellent facilities. Room was a good size, modern, with TV, ensuite, beautiful view of gardens,swimming pool, and coast. The Restaurant, and Bar had a very good choice of food, and drinks, with Reception adding a Nothing is too much trouble attitude, when approached with a problem or query. Stayed with my wife in room 104 in July this year.

Room Tip: WiFi could only be received in lounge, and reception area, as opposed to your room. Pay to upgrade t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeFuerterventura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnwtaylor, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Dear MikeFuerterventura,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. How lovely it is to read your comments about the staff and hotel, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks Kent
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Lots of the rooms have been modernised to a good standard. The food we had was very good quality. The location is so peaceful with views of the sea from the rooms and in the large garden. It's such good value that we'll definitely be booking again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natanddeanJust4us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnwtaylor, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear nantanddeanJust4us,

Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review. I'ts wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your holiday with us, our location and views. We do hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prescot
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

This was our second time staying at this excellently located hotel. We were very pleased with our room on the 4th floor. It was on the side because we had left it late to book we were unable to upgrade to a sea view room as we had previously done. We stayed for 5 nights and I can honestly say in all our holidays (and we go away 6 times a year both abroad and in England) the staff in all parts of the Hotel were among the most friendly, courteous, attentive and efficient that we have met. The food was well cooked and well presented with adequate choice and the dining room was not congested.

With reference to the person complaining that he could not check out before 8.30 There is a notice on the reception desk asking people who want to check out early if they could settle their bills the night before thus enabling them to leave as early as they wish.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a view even if you are at the back of the hotel. Garden view rooms are worth pay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenniferTickle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnwtaylor, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear JenniferTickle,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us. It's lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are very lucky to have such a wonderful team here. We do hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Collingwood
Hotel Collingwood
#8 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Park Central Hotel
Park Central Hotel
#7 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Savoy Hotel

Property: The Savoy Hotel
Address: 39 West Hill Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5EJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Savoy Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Savoy Hotel is a prime example of Victorian architecture. It is one of the closest hotels in Bournemouth to both beach and town centre, and stands in extensive grounds on the town’s fashionable West Cliff, and provides a scenic and relaxing location for leisure travellers. Inside, the hotel is has been sympathetically decorated and maintained. Bournemouth boasts over two thousand acres of parks and gardens. With an excellent climate, the town nestles in chalk cliffs, sheltered by the Purbeck Hills. Stroll around stylish boutiques in elegant Victorian arcades, or roll your trousers up and enjoy miles of golden sandy beaches.The Hotel houses all of the amenities and facilities you would expect from a Coast & Country venue. In addition, our staff will offer you a warm, friendly welcome, and make sure that your stay is as relaxing and memorable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Bournemouth
Bournemouth Hotel Savoy
Savoy Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing