We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunny Bournemouth”
Review of The Savoy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Savoy Hotel
Ranked #38 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Sunny Bournemouth”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Stayed at the Savoy for 5 days with Shearings, excellent value for money. After reading some of the above reviews thought I must have stayed in a different hotel. Hotel has a fantastic location, sea views, garden, friendly staff, spacious lounge and although bedroom wasn't overlooking the gardens it was clean tidy and spacious. Will go back and stay at this hotel

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnwtaylor, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2014
Dear Sue H,

Thank you for your recent review. It's lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and all we have to offer. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

815 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    342
    154
    53
    41
See reviews for
108
453
33
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Stayed 4 nights in August . Breakfast fine, dinner extremely poor. Poor choice with second rate ingredients and small portions. The garden is very poorly maintained. Poor enteryainment in the evening with a large gap between dinner and the start of the entertainment .People bored with wait maybe would like a quiz or bingo.

Room Tip: Choose an updated room for which they will charge you . Pay for parking at 5 pounds a day is bit ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anthony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnwtaylor, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2014
Dear Anthony L,

Thank you for your recent review. Your comments have been noted and passed on to the relevant persons.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

The whole experience staying in this hotel was awful. The staff were rude, the breakfast was disgusting, I couldn't even drink the coffee. I was literally waiting for the elevator for ten minuets. This hotel is like a jazzed up old peoples home. We were never told it was £5 parking per day and it was not on the web page. This hotel is awful, I would go anywhere but here.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tanya w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnwtaylor, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2014
Dear tanyaw,

It is disappointing to read your review. We do cater mainly for the over 50s with many returning guests who enjoy the fact we are not full of younger persons wanting to party. Your comments regarding the staff and food have been passed on. We do charge £5.00 per night for parking should we have no spaces available then off street parking is available at a charge.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

This is my third visit to the Savoy. I always pay for a superior room, as they are large and have lovely views over the sea. My room was very large, king size bed. Bathroom was large and very clean. The restaurant is light and airy. Breakfast is part buffet and waiter service. Dinner is all waiter service. There is a good choice on the menu. There is a small bar. Most nights there is entertainment, but I was not impressed with the singers.

I have spoken to other guests, who only paid for a standard room, and they say for what it had cost them, they were satisfied. I will definitely return to the Savoy hotel on my next visit to Bournemouth. For only a 3star hotel, I think it was very nice.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a superior room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SwintonLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnwtaylor, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Dear SwintonLancs,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It's lovely to read you had a peaceful time with us. Our superor rooms are indeed worth paying that little bit extra, with great views of the gardens and sea. We do hope to welcome you back again soon.

kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Not as good as you would expect to for the Savoy probably would stay there again, full of old people, duvet cover had stains on, windows where chocked shut with bits of broken plastic curtains hanging of rails.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnwtaylor, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Dear Rob B,

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear about the issues you have raised, and can assure you this is not our usual standard and we will be looking into them.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014


This was our second visit to the Savoy, which without doubt is value for money. All round good staff,food and situation. That being said I feel there are some maintenance issues. Eg. Our room 203 (upgrade sea view) the weather was really warm, it was fortunate that we had a balcony so the door could be left open at night. Not everyone would be happy to do that, Both window in the room were sealed and unable to be opened. Also the rear of the dining room was extremely uncomfortable for both customers and staff as once again windows, at the back of the room, were unable to be opened. There appeared to be air con vents around the room, but certainly not working, also the ceiling fans not sufficient for the size of the restaurant. I did speak at the time to the restaurant manager, who offered to move us, however we did not see her to arrange it. The other thing worth a mention, is the parking. If you wish to park "on site" there is a charge of £5 per night. If you do not reserve parking quite simply you are not allowed to park. There were two unreserved places when we arrived. If we wished to park there we had to pay. It's not made totally clear, and there was some confusion. Overall a good value for money hotel.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank KathB65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnwtaylor, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Dear KathB65,

Thank you for your recent review of your stay with us. Your comments have been passed on to the relevent persons. I am pleased that overall you did enjoy your holiday and found us value for money. We do hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peacehaven, UK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed for a Sunday night in July - bargain at £65 for the two of us which included breakfast. Was able to check in at 1430 and paid an extra £5 for 24 hours parking - free on street parking was impossible. Our room was on the 4th floor and was clean but certainly needed updating. The bar, lounge and gardens were fine. Breakfast was fair with a part buffet and the cooked main waiter served. Would probably stay there again for the price which under cut the opposite Travelodge and that didn't have breakfast included in the price,

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PavmanPeacehaven_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnwtaylor, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Dear PavmanPeacehaven_UK,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us. We do hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
1.1 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,000 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 66 in Bournemouth
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,482 reviews
0.4 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#24 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,920 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Savoy Hotel

Property: The Savoy Hotel
Address: 39 West Hill Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5EJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Savoy Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Savoy Hotel is a prime example of Victorian architecture. It is one of the closest hotels in Bournemouth to both beach and town centre, and stands in extensive grounds on the town’s fashionable West Cliff, and provides a scenic and relaxing location for leisure travellers. Inside, the hotel is has been sympathetically decorated and maintained. Bournemouth boasts over two thousand acres of parks and gardens. With an excellent climate, the town nestles in chalk cliffs, sheltered by the Purbeck Hills. Stroll around stylish boutiques in elegant Victorian arcades, or roll your trousers up and enjoy miles of golden sandy beaches.The Hotel houses all of the amenities and facilities you would expect from a Coast & Country venue. In addition, our staff will offer you a warm, friendly welcome, and make sure that your stay is as relaxing and memorable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your The Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Bournemouth
Bournemouth Hotel Savoy
Savoy Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing