We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (953)
Filter reviews
953 results
Traveller rating
263
388
178
71
53
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
263
388
178
71
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviews garden view country hotel shearings holiday coast country shearings hotels self drive snooker room on a half board basis evening meal west cliff weekend break small lift long weekend a ground floor room town centre single room the hotel car park
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 953 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I'm sure breakfast used to be from 7am it is now from 8am which means when shearings have their coaches here come 8am all hell breaks out, people who have used walking frames and sticks for years are suddenly able to run again with no aids at all, is the buffet breakfast table at The Savoy England's answer LOURDES?

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
5  Thank clive p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnTaylorSavoy, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review. We appreciate your feedback and it will be passed on for review.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018 via mobile

Stayed in the hotel for 4 days and I have not been able to use the pool for it has been closed that was the 1 of the things that were going for the dinning room is just like a school dining room no table clothes it was a grab table that was clean and tidy and get your food that was hot enough the restaurant needs to be managed better also the food. We have to ask for shampoo every day we will not come back sorry better hotels.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Marshall S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnTaylorSavoy, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago


Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your feedback is important to us and will be passed on to the team for improvements. We do hope that you will visit Bournemouth again.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2018

Atmosphere. That is what the Savoy is about. It is hard to say when the building was constructed, but it has a 1930s vibe in all the right ways. That is something modern hotels will never achieve.
The location is perched on a bluff above South Beach with a beautiful lawn and expansive views of the Atlantic.
The hotel itself is an interesting mix of classic preserved early 20th century styling with modern colors and features. Our room was big, with soaring ceilings. The bath was likewise large, but with modern updated amenities. It was clean and neat. We liked it.
The foyer and lift are small as is usual for older hotels, but the restaurant area is airy, tasty and very large. If you want a sanitized-same modern Hampton Inn, this may not be your spot. For those who value a unique experience in a great setting, give the Savoy a try.
The one negative, and hardly their fault, is that the parking is tight. There are other parking options offsite.
Give this one a try. I think you’ll like it.

Room Tip: I think the rooms are all nice.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nraleigh08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnTaylorSavoy, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to write such an informative review of our hotel, we could not have put it any better! We do hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2018 via mobile

Just returned from another 3 night break. Fabulous weather for the Airshow. We had a room overlooking car park. Spacious and recently decorated, I would think. All the staff were helpful and courteous, and smiley!! Food exceptional bearing in mind the price, and with good choice. The hotel is in a prime position on cliff top, but with easy access to beach,prom, town and buses. A stroll along the prom is the cliff lift, which is very welcome.!! The pool was out of action as a problem with the pumps. Lovely gardens now with the addition of tables and seating. Also nice balcony outside the main building. Just one very small point, could the tables on the balcony be wiped when the glasses are collected. We will return at some point, as with all Shearings hotels they are value for money.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
2  Thank KathB65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnTaylorSavoy, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. Wonderful to hear that you had an enjoyable stay during the air show, we were blessed with amazing weather this year! Your lovely comments for the staff and general feedback will be passed on to the team. We look forward to seeing you again someday.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2018

lovely hotel very polite staff, wonderful buffet breakfast, great entertainment in the evenings. lovely gardens. nice swimming pool. good value. would go back next year beach just a shortwalk away also there is a pier

Stayed: May 2018
1  Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnTaylorSavoy, General Manager at The Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'm pleased to hear that you a lovely stay with us and enjoyed all we have to offer. We look forward to seeing you again next year.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews