We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel, will come back”
Review of The Chine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Chine Hotel
Ranked #24 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel, will come back”
Reviewed 20 July 2011

Upsides:

Hotel is in a great location, on hill looking Boscombe pier. There is a direct access by a green walk down the hill from the back of the hotel to pier and beaches. It takes around 3 minutes. Hotel staff is very friendly, extremely helpful. Hotel has nice gardens to relax, nice swimming pools both outdoor (shame it was closed due to season) and indoor. Nice restaurant with a sleek design and sea view. Nice child play room, our daughter loved it. We will probably come back to this hotel. From the hotel, it is around 30 minutes beach walk to Bournemouth pier, where the main attraction is. There is a small train on wheels from Boscombe pier to Bournemouth pier, you may want to catch it instead.

Downsides:

It is very difficult to go up and down to hotel from/to beaches if you have a baby and a pushchair. Especially climbing up can be very troublesome. Elevator in the hotel is a very old style, we had to fold the pushchair every time. Also, in order to go to garden or swimming area, you have to carry pushchair yourself as there is no elevator access. Depending on your room location, you may need to take extra stairs too. Breakfast could be better. Restaurant is popular in dinner time, nice but keep in mind portions are small. Worst thing about this hotel is parking. There is a parking area in front of the hotel but lines are drawn so narrow it is difficult to go out of the car. And, now I have a bad scratch on my brand new car, that I blame on the parking area design.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ozgur23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

979 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    375
    403
    115
    50
    36
See reviews for
295
454
27
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2011

I have stayed at the Chine Hotel often over the past six months. The hotel looks good in reception and the bar. The bedrooms are a different story, many are in need of refurbishment, some are tiny and too many are close to air con units which run late into the night and start at 6am (the staff have notes on which rooms are noisy and have moved me once or twice). If you happen to get a big room with a good view (there are a few of these as well) they feel very luxurious!

Dinner food is good but pricey. Breakfast is a definite plus with good food and if you get a window seat a great view ... making for an enjoyable start to the day.

Overall a good place to stay but this is a hotel which is past its best. More fading glory than high class luxury.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank readtrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2011

We attended my daughter's wedding reception held at the Chines hotel on 2nd July. We did not stay overnight so cannot comment on the rooms, apart from seeing Room 117 which my daughter was using to prepare for the wedding. The Chines as a venue for a reception is perfect. The function room leads out onto a terrace with steps leading down to a lawn perfect for photos. A further flight of steps leads down to a very pretty garden with waterfall, giving access further down to the beach. Guests who have limited mobility would have trouble accessing these areas.

The food served for the Reception was excellent, with minimal delays between serving all guests. The staff were extremely attentive and management ensured everything went smoothly. The only down side as far as we were concerned was the lack of car parking space. We drove around for some time when arriving back from the service trying to park. However in hindsight had we realised that car parking spaces were at a premium we would have booked a taxi.

All in all would certainly recommend the Chines as a suitable venue

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rogerrabbit68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2011

I stayed at the hotel for a week on business. Generally very good and my room was ample, clean and tidy. Service in the restaurant was slow, although the Staff were attentive. Now the sting in the tail, watch out for the supplements on the extra vegtables which I ordered one night, for my money I got 3 small carrots, 1 piece of cauliflower and a spoonful of greens. Gym and pool area very good but male lockers need attention and if there are more than 4 people in there it is a tight squeeze. Outdoor hottub was excellent as was the outdoor pool

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EssexSyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horndon-on-the-Hill
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2011

Having just returned from our 2 night stay at The Chine I felt I wanted to post a comment !
We decided 4 days prior to our visit we wanted a couple of nights away so did a internet search and found a June mid week saver offer at The Chine. £79 per room per night for mid June and breakfast included. After staying here.....what a bargain !! (Considering Premier Inn wanted £89.00 per night without breakfast)
We were allocated room 17 in 'The West Wing'.... which was more than adequate, clean and comfortable but was a little disappointed with the view from it (back of a garage/games room) however as we were on a last minute/special offer didn' t feel to hard done by. Didn't feel at all isolated from the main hotel as it is literally just the bulding next door which is connected to the main hotel by a corridor so you don'y have to go outside if you don't want to.

Facilities for us, were suberb....lovely indoor and outdoor pool, small gym, sauna and jacuzzi which we made full use of. Lovely quite grounds which led you down to the beach and to a couple of bars and restaurants, which we also made good use of.
The staff were very polite and helpful....phone signal and internet reception was poor though.
We will definately be back !

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolandColin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2011

I booked for the Royal Wedding weekend, to bring our 3YO daughter here mainly for the beach. We were given a room on the main hotel on the ground floor, the window overlooks the garden but also directly opposite the dining room of the hotel - we just closed our curtains the whole time. Decor in the room was dated but comfortable. I was pleased with the renovated bathroom which was clean! Also pleasantly surprised with trouser press (very useful!). We spent our days at the beach, coming back in the afternoon for a nice swim in the pool (too deep for our daughter so we always had to keep an eye on her) - the hotel is located within 2 mins' walk to the Boscombe Pier. It was a really relaxing trip! Would love to come back here. Breakfast, which was provided was also good.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunbabies-of-london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We picked this hotel because of the good reviews on tripadvisor,but cannot agree with these.The disappointment started as soon as we arrived at the hotel no parking spaces My husband had to double park until I went in to check in and ask about available parking,The girl at reception told me there were spaces outside the building beside the hotel which was owned by the hotel she then proceeded to tell me that is were we would be staying! I told her I booked an upgrade and expected to be in the main hotel she told me that was the upgrade !I told her I would look at it and if we were not happy I would expect a hotel room,on entering the other building there was an old fusty smell in the hallway "the room" was on the ground floor and very stuffy We went back to the reception to ask for a proper room ,The young Lady at reception had a terrible manner She told us the hotel was fully booked up We tried to explain to her about paying for an upgrade which we did'nt get she told us we should have stated thet we wanted to stay in the Main hotel !!! at that point we asked to speak to a manager a nice young man came to us and apologised but he also told us the hotel was full and that they would always put guests in the annex when there is a wedding on in the hotel because of the noise ?! at this point we just gave up but told him we were very unhappy with the service He said he would get the main manager to give us a call,we had just got into the annex room when we got a call from the Manager she said she had a double room with a balcony in the main hotel if we would like it !!!!!!!! We returned and the room was nice and bright and airy.We came down for dinner at 8.50 to be told by another rude girl the dining room was too busy for dinner but we could have sandwiches!! needless to say we didnt stay and just got a taxi into town,breakfast was just ok the waitress asked if we wanted tea or coffee my husband asked her if he could he have a cappachino she told him he could but he would have to pay for it !!!! so he just ordered a coffee! oh and we didnt hear a sound from the wedding !we will not be returning to the "Chine " sorry about the long review.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Aileen_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.7 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,415 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#22 of 66 in Bournemouth
89 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,922 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chine Hotel

Property: The Chine Hotel
Address: 25 Boscombe Spa Road, Bournemouth BH5 1AX, England (Formerly FJB Collection - The Chine)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Chine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly positioned overlooking Bournemouth’s Surf Reef at the edge of West Overcliff. The Chine Hotel is set in three acres of secluded, mature gardens, with magnificent unspoilt sea views and within easy access to the beach and reef. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Chine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing