We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just returned from 3 day break 26th June”
Review of Chine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chine Hotel
Ranked #20 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just returned from 3 day break 26th June”
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Just returned home after a delightful 3 day stay at this hotel which should be classed as a 4 star not three . Having travelled all over the world my wife and I were a little apprehensive about booking this special offer DBB stay through Travel zoo and on arrival as has been mentioned before on Trip advisor the outside of the hotel looks rather run down but once you enter the lobby things change for the better . The staff and management set the tone for what is a very well run hotel which offers exceptional service , good clean rooms ,good food and a great location . Special mention should made of the way the manager on duty on our arrival Martin Taylor answered all our queries with charm and efficiency and Alex the restaurant and duty manager used his 25 years of experience in the trade by providing a well run and efficient restaurant service . The standard dinner menu was a little restrictive particularly for someone who is a non red meat eater but both my wife and I were informed that we could either eat from the bar menu or have the chef prepare a special meal at no extra charge . The Hotel which was originally built in the 1870's and the first Hotel in Boscome is a perfect location for access via it's delightful garden to the new beach complex which includes a new surf machine ( being repaired during our visit ) and it is possible to walk for up to 5 miles along the beach to Bournemouth or Sandbanks in the west and Christchurch in the east .
We will definitely be visiting this hotel again and would highly recommend the hotel not only as a holiday location for people of all ages but also for business travellers and conferences. Although we did not use any of the spa facilities the hotel offers a swimming pool both outdoors and indoors , a sauna , and fully set up exercise room .

Room Tip: Try and get a sea view if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 387John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,021 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    392
    419
    120
    54
    36
See reviews for
316
468
28
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gourock
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Stayed for 5 nights in June. Hotel lovely old building beautifully set in large gardens. Ground floor room overlooking car park ok, but rather dark, not helped by thick net curtains. ("cafe curtains" would offer privacy but allow guests the far sea view) Staff very helpful. They do have coach parties. Very convenient for walking down to the beach, although steep. Spa small but nice. Lift not working during our stay. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Ground floor has very limited views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kym R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Stayed on the 17th June for 4 nights.
Very warm welcome on arrival,the family suite we were allocated was superb.
Excellent size for a small or large family, very clean and presentable.
The children's indoor play area is an excellent idea,whether the weather is good or bad the kids love it.
The indoor and outdoor pools are invaluable,the gardens are immaculate and also have a adventure area for the kids.The gardens themselves are beautiful and are kept in excellent condition with private access onto the footpath leading to Boscombe sands.
The breakfast was excellent and nothing was too much trouble for the staff,very friendly,helpful and also excellent with our young grandson.
Evening meals were very nice and the children can have there own earlier meal time if required.
Overall all the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful,the hotel was immaculate and we had a great break with our 4 year old.
We will be booking again for next year.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main hotel rather than the west wing which is just across the entrance from the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sasha186220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

The location and view over the beach are great with well kept gardens and outdoor pool. Fine cuisine, dinner service and courteous staff made our stay enjoyable. We stayed in a family room which was very generous in size and had a separate room with bunk beds for the children. The sauna, spa & indoor pool also provided an oasis to further unwind on our break. The only minor criticism would be to suggest updating the decor in the hallway/entrance to he West Wing to make it more modern and inviting. I have no hesitation in recommending The Chine hotel

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foytheboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

My wife and I booked a 3 day break at the Chine and were not disappointed.
However, the parking area (front and rear) is quite restricted and you may not always be lucky enough to get a space, and would then have to park on the road alongside the hotel.
The grounds around the hotel are a credit to the gardeners.
The hotel was larger than we expected and the staff at check in advised us of all the facilities available i.e. indoor/outdoor pool, Jacuzzis, and small gym which were all well kept and very clean.
All the staff we met at reception, the restaurant, the bar, the pool and the gym were very friendly with nothing being too much trouble for them.
Our room overlooked the front of the hotel, had everything you would need, and was very clean and roomy.
However, the bathroom window could not be opened but, when reported to reception, they were very apologetic and it was "freed" by the time we returned to our room.
This reflected the service we received during our stay.
(It appeared that the window was "stuck" with paint at the bottom edge).
On our first night, we decided to eat at the hotel and the meal was excellent.
One minor criticism is that whist reading papers in the bar area, the background music, (although not loud and intrusive) appeared to be of a progressive jazz style (very repetitive and monotonous) and my wife and I did not find it enjoyable.
However, music is a personal choice and we do understand that others may have liked it.
The next morning we arrived for a well presented buffet style breakfast with a wide choice of hot and cold food being of excellent quality.
Overall, our experience of this hotel was very positive and it was well situated for visiting Boscombe and Bournemouth.
We would definitely stay here again and recommend the Chine to friends.
Beverly and John James
Swansea

Room Tip: We can only comment on the room in which we stayed as we did not visit any others
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BevandJohn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

My partner and I spent a 2 day break at this hotel. Boscombe is not the best area in Bournemouth and first appearances outside the hotel are not great. Several buildings look unused, with a builders skip outside one. However on entering the hotel it is much bigger than expected, with a large dining area, bar and downstairs a large ballroom. The staff were professional friendly and helpful on arrival and throughout our stay. Though we didn't book a sea view room we got one.
The first surprise was the quality of the gardens, built on two levels they are full of trees offering protection from any strong winds, with a good range of plants, a small pond with a fountain, plus a summer house for weddings. There is a pathway from the hotel through the gardens to the sea front.
Our second surprise was a lovely outdoor swimming pool set in a secluded garden. One side of the pool works as a lovely sun spot avoiding the shade from the surrounding trees. The pool was warm and appeared to be well looked after. There is also an indoor pool and small gym.
Our room had everything we needed, with plenty of space.
Breakfast was buffet style and good quality with a wide choice. The problem with buffets is keeping everything hot for the early and later arrivals. They successfully achieved this. Though the hotel was not full it was clear that they were trying to offer everyone a table next to the window, quickly relaying tables as people left. It's little things like this that make a difference.
One piece of advice to anyone arriving at this hotel would be to take care parking to ensure you do not get blocked in. We did on one day, due to a large party attending a christening in the hotel. On this particular day we did not need the car, but if we had it would have been annoying. We will certainly be looking to stay again and have already recommended it to friends..

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dpbCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We thought that this was a good deal offered at a good resort; we expected that the hotel would be like many UK seaside hotels suffering a bit from faded grandeur.
Not a bit of it, the hotel certainly does not appear particularly exciting from the outside. However inside it is well kept and decorated and all the public areas are fresh and clean. We had booked B & B in a standard double room for 3 days, we were given a balcony room with a view over the gardens to the sea. The extensive gardens and grounds were well kept. The reception, restaurant and housekeeping staff were all helpful, friendly and efficient. We expected to dine out in the evenings but the hotel menu looked very good so we ate in the hotel on the first evening. This was a revelation, the quality of the food and the presentation were excellent. We booked again for our third night.
This is a hotel that delivered above expectations and we have no hesitation in recommending it.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brd47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.7 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 66 in Bournemouth
137 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,995 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,482 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,523 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chine Hotel

Property: Chine Hotel
Address: 25 Boscombe Spa Road, Bournemouth BH5 1AX, England (Formerly FJB Collection - The Chine)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Chine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chine Hotel is a charming and affordable seaside destination, just a stone’s throw away from Bournemouth beach. Set in three acres of tranquil private gardens where you can escape for the day with a book, or meander your way through to the golden sandy beach. The Chine Hotel is a humble setting by the sea. Offering outdoor pool and well-appointed bedrooms, most with sea and garden views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing