We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience, amazing breakfast, lovely staff, quite expensive”
Review of Chine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chine Hotel
Ranked #32 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 October 2013

I stayed at the Chine Hotel in September during a busy holiday period. It cost just over £100 which was a lot for a family room but we needed somewhere child-friendly and near the beach as I was involved in a sporting event and we needed somewhere close for my 20 month daughter to play.

The hotel is arranged in 'wings' which in reality are buildings separate to reception. This is handy as the hotel can place you away from evening entertainment. Don't hold your breath for a car parking space. Use local unmarked sections of road as there are only 8-10 spaces available in the hotel and a chance of getting boxed in.

The restaurant looks lovely for an evening meal but both bar and restaurant are expensive. For a special meal, I imagine it is a good choice.

The hotel was nicely presented. It may be a bit tatty in some places but our room was wonderful. The room was huge and although we booked a family room, we got a separate bedroom for my daughter within the same room where we could put our travel cot and have a peaceful night! So this was a very safe and very pleasant experience.

The shower was excellent, and there was a lot of space, sockets and the usual tea and coffee etc.

During the evening, we asked for some milk for my daughter and the hotel obliged at no cost which was a lovely gesture.

The breakfast was wonderful, much better than a Premier Inn or Holiday Inn. The restaurant looks great and overlooks the gardens. Loads of choice and lots of staff on hand. We did get up fairly early but nevertheless I was really impressed.

Reception were helpful, storing out luggage, and in general the staff was very accommodating, polite and friendly.

Overall, it isn't cheap and maybe I got lucky with the room, but it was a pleasant experience and I will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Ask for a family room if you have one and mention any children. The hotel staff still care about th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rjIpswich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,040)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

544 - 550 of 1,040 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2013

The Chine Hotel has a fantastic location and the views alone were well worth the money. The staff were very friendly and the food, especially the breakfast were good. On the downside, the hotel does need some modernising and we had an issue with hot water being unavailable for periods of time but I would recommend this hotel, although there was just enough wrong that I cannot give 5 out of 5.

Room Tip: Room 406 has a great sea view. Its a family room but well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexeb1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

Tired hotel but comfortable. Needs a face lift overhaul. Good however. Bar maid (Brazilian) is a gem. Fantastic views of Boscombe beach. The fish and chips at this hotel are to die for. Breakfast is excellent too. The business centre needs investment but the porters are top class.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimandSandraD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We spent 2 nights on a family break. (2 adults and 2 infants)

Though Hotel needs updating it is very well maintained.

When I went to check in, I was early by an hour.. I found that the male receptionist did not give me a warm welcoming smile as you would find this as standard in most hotels. As they say the first impression counts... He asked me to wait at the bar and come back after one hour.

Then we were allocated a room #406 which was a direct sea view by the same male receptionist. Upon taking our bags to this room, we found that the room had other occupants staying in the room. The room was later changed to the side building with room #34 which had a partial sea view. (We were a bit disappointed as we had specifically asked for a room with good sea view prior to our booking and we were told that it was possible).

The room key card didn't work so the porter had to run to the reception to get another set of working room key card.

The room was very large and spacious. Had a very large bed on which we all four slept on the 2nd night. There were 2 cots as we ordered at £5/night. The room also had a small extension room with bunk bed. Bathroom was in good order with constant flow of hot water.

We used one of the blanket for the infant and were shocked to learn the next day that the cot mattress cover was covered with sand. This could be by the previous occupiers of the room who could have taken the blanket to the beach and the house keeping just folded without cleaning or checking the blanket.

The bed mattress were a little soft... and could do with new ones. In some areas of the room and bathroom you could see a layer of dust which meant that cleaning was not through.

With all this negatives, we thoroughly enjoyed the breakfast... They had a large variety of food, good quality and very friendly and courteous staff.

The pool/gym/spa staff was also very good. We enjoyed the pool/spa facilities as well. The indoor pool does not have good seating/sunbeds as there is lack of space and also has narrow/tight areas. The outdoor pool was warmer than the indoor pool.

The gardens were well maintained and there were steps leading to the Boscombe Pier which took 5 mins walk.

There is limited parking on the hotel premises, although you can park on the road.

At the Boscombe Pier, we went there during the day and also at night... There were quite a few people at night walking/jogging. There is also a cliff area when you can have ocean views although you have to pay to park during the day.

Overall we enjoyed and will be back.

Room Tip: There is the main building where the reception, bar and restaurant is... Try selecting a room on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HCShah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

I recently returned from a Masonic function I organised for 70 people at The Chine looked where they looked after us so well. From the service, to the food, to the organisation, to the staff I cannot fault them. All the staff went that extra mile, nothing was too much trouble. We had nothing but glowing reports from ALL our guests. We cannot wait to go back again.

Room Tip: The staff are extremely helpful so I would let them know your requirements and let them help you fin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Great location, really nice gardens and spa facilities and the family room was good, at the right price. Breakfast was good too. Service was a bit of hit and miss though: we had a soiled bedding but it was changed promptly. Parking is a bit hapzard. Overall, could do with an update but nice enough.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LudovicWindsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

I've stay at the chine a few time and its been lovely but this time we were but in a building not connected to the hotel itself but apparently it was still part of the chine? So if we wanted to eat or go to the bar we had to walk to the main hotel the room was still very nice but as with most hotels you need to put your room card in the card slot on the wall in order to get power ours would go off for no reason and reception didn't seem bothered and would not move us to another room due the this bad experience I will not be staying here again

Stayed: December 2012
1  Thank Gomez1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.8 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
2.5 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
1.5 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#21 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
1.7 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
0.5 mi away
Langtry Manor Hotel
Langtry Manor Hotel
#2 of 66 in Bournemouth
968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chine Hotel

Address: 25 Boscombe Spa Road, Bournemouth BH5 1AX, England (Formerly FJB Collection - The Chine)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range: £58 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chine Hotel is a charming and affordable seaside destination, just a stone’s throw away from Bournemouth beach. Set in three acres of tranquil private gardens where you can escape for the day with a book, or meander your way through to the golden sandy beach. The Chine Hotel is a humble setting by the sea. Offering outdoor pool and well-appointed bedrooms, most with sea and garden views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Chine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing