We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday treat”
Review of Chine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chine Hotel
Ranked #24 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Spent Saturday night here for my husbands birthday joined by our family.Lovely meal in the restaurant,food ,staff and Restaurant manager all amazing and the rooms were very good.Second time we have done this at the Chine and will be returning very soon

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wavel42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,040)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

522 - 528 of 1,040 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2013

This was an internet deal which was outstanding value for money. Our room was very spacious and we had a large picture window which overlooked Boscombe Bay. The gardens were a delight with a beautiful walk through to the beach which was spotlessly clean. The deal was for DB&B as we were not disappointed with the service and standard of the food. We chose a table next to the window overlooking the Chine garden - what a wonderful sight with the evening lights illuminating the tropical plants. The retro lift is a must for us 'Poirot' fans and a delight to ride in - a must do for any visitor! All the staff were helpful and friendly and all went the extra mile to help when they could. Hope to be back soon.

Room Tip: Try to book a room at the rear of the hotel with a large window to enable a panoramic view of the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We had a clean room with excellent 180 degree views of Boscombe pier and the well kept garden. Pillows to die for!
Really great food great service. Exceeded our expectations.
Slightly dated decor, interesting "Retro" lift, but we can live with that.
Every member of staff was "on point"
5 mins walk through the gardens, you down on the beach.
Clean pool, outdoor hot tub, sauna, polite attendant.
Made for a wonderful stay, as Arnie would say "I'll be back!"

Room Tip: Room 321.............say no more. Get up high with a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

I purchased a groupon deal and to be honest for the money I wasn't expecting much but boy was I in for a treat! Started with a quick trip to the gym, not state of the art but well equipt. Then to the spa, which includes an ample sized pool, indoor jacuzzi, sauna and a fantastic steaming hot outdoor Swedish hot tub! We had this to ourselves for most of the morning except a few very friendly older ladies, was very relaxing. We then went to the gallery bar (awesome sea views) for afternoon tea and again was not expecting much after a wonderful morning and given we already felt we'd had value for money is thought maybe this is where they would scrimp but I have to say I was not in the slightest dissappointed between two we had two rounds of sandwiches, clotted cream tea each, four cakes and two vanilla moose things and a large pot of tea. I have to say throughout our day the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. Had a great time and will definitely be back !

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank southamptonscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

This is the fourth time we have stayed at the Chine, and we will return again. The Chine is a well located 3 star hotel with excellent staff, good facilities, and a really positive attitude towards children.

The kids club staff are engaging and fun, and it is lovely to be able to have dinner in peace in the dining room while the children are being entertained elsewhere. Our 8 years olds felt completely at home, and (being half term) there were plenty of similarly aged children for them to play with.

The outdoor pool was still open during the October half term (bliss) and was piping hot. Equally, the indoor pool was fine, and we used the table tennis table and snooker room as well when the weather was poor. Best of all were the (very international) staff, who were universally friendly and charming. Even when our children were whizzing around the reception area on their heeleys, the staff just smiled and laughed - at most hotels, this would have engendered sneers.

The food was good throughout, and breakfast in particular was hot, plentiful and relaxing in the sea-view lounge. The children enjoyed having an early tea at 5pm which again had lots of choice and had healthy as well as unhealthy options.

We stayed in the main hotel in interconnecting rooms 317 and 319. The adult room was a good size with lots of storage, sea facing with its own balcony and a wonderful outlook, whilst the twin room was huge and side facing - both had their own bathroom. The decor was ok, but not exceptional - I guess what you'd expect from a 3 star hotel.

The only thing I would question is the very old fashioned lift. My children were fine, but if I had younger children, I would have been paranoid about their fingers getting trapped.

All in all, a very good family friendly open. Thank you to all at the Chine for a lovely break!

Room Tip: 317 and 319 are interconnecting rooms in the main hotel, with a 6 ft bed in the main sea-view room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VCK2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Just returned from weekend stay.hotel is lovely staff pleasent it could do with some updating but it is an older building room was a good size breakfast and dinner could not fault exceptional. Parking not a problem.would definately come back.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sue j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

With so many hotels to choose from in the Bournemouth area and with several unhappy experiences in the past with many of these we had booked a short break at the Chine with expectations not that high? - Reading some of the other reviews it does seem that you have to be fortunate in what room you are allocated but our own personal experience was exceptional - Efficient staff in all departments of the Hotel/Large Spotlessly Clean Sea View Room/Heated Indoor Swimming Pool/Free Parking/Buffet Style Breakfast - Found no Negatives from our stay and will definitely be staying again very soon - My thanks to Manger and Staff for their attentiveness and helpfulness during our stay,

Room Tip: Request an upgraded Room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.7 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
185 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
0.7 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,539 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#11 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,566 reviews
0.6 mi away
Elstead Hotel
Elstead Hotel
#20 of 66 in Bournemouth
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chine Hotel

Address: 25 Boscombe Spa Road, Bournemouth BH5 1AX, England (Formerly FJB Collection - The Chine)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range: £62 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chine Hotel is a charming and affordable seaside destination, just a stone’s throw away from Bournemouth beach. Set in three acres of tranquil private gardens where you can escape for the day with a book, or meander your way through to the golden sandy beach. The Chine Hotel is a humble setting by the sea. Offering outdoor pool and well-appointed bedrooms, most with sea and garden views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Chine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing