We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Chine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Chine Hotel
Ranked #27 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

Hotel overall is nice, our room standard but the bathroom was a bit run down (tiles coming off side of bath and damp around the window) the toilet was in a very small space and if you are on the larger size you wouldn't get on it! but generally ok! it was clean. Breakfast buffet and everything we could want. The only real fault is the there was a 'party' going on in a room underneath us, which woke us up, we complained, but after 20 mins and it getting louder we visited the reception, 2am in the morning! A shame that it was not acted on when first complained. We will be writing to complain.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bridget D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

954 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    364
    391
    114
    49
    36
See reviews for
287
441
27
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Torfaen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

I decided to travel to Bournemouth last minute with friends and found that many of the hotels were booked up however there was a special offer through expedia at the Chine so we decided to go for it.
Why this hotel is so far down the ratings list I'll never know!! It's amazing!
We were allocated a room in the separate Wing of the hotel which was either accessible via a short walk outside or through a walkway from the wing to the main hotel building. Our room slept 4 comfortably with a massive double bed and bunks in a separate area. The bathroom was clean and modern. There were more than adequate facilities in our room including LCD TV, tea and coffee (with lovely biscuits too!), trouser press and lots of wardrobe space!
The highlight of our room was opening the blinds in the morning (we had arrived in darkness) and realising we had a panoramic view of the sea! Amazing!
Breakfast was included in our deal and that certainly didn't disappoint! They had a buffet style breakfast with either the more traditional full English or the more continental style food. I opted for a bit of both and was impressed.
The hotel itself is beautiful, the breakfast room, spa area, bar etc are all well decorated, clean and genuinely nice places to be.
The hotel is just a 5 minute walk from the beach however it is a good 20min walk across the promenade to reach the pier area (which on a nice day is more than enjoyable!).

If coming to Bournemouth again the Chine would be my hotel of choice. Just wonderful!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhi5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

my wife and i where treated by our 2 daughters for a one night stay for our ruby wedding anniversary, a bit apprehensive as did not know what to expect,a very pleasant young lady on reception greeted us,and gave all the information we needed for our short stay.
found our room easily (201) great sea view big room and bathroom.
went down to the bar area about 1800hrs for a bite to eat we had a sandwich each 1 prawn 1 ham excellent choice small meal in its self.had great nights sleep ,the breakfast was brilliant plenty of choice.
lovely hotel great garden and leisure facilities.
all staff are superb a credit to the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peter g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, uk
Level Contributor
67 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

We booked in late at around 9 pm, service at reception was quick and efficient. The room was very clean and spacious with stunning views over the grounds and the sea. Throughout our two day stay all the staff were very happy and polite and could not do enough for us . The girls on reception were fantastic and really went out of their way to ensure that everything was ok and the dark haired girl from paris in the restaurant was also exceptional. The food in the restaurant was very good and breakfast was a good standard with hot and cold food which was varied.parking could be a problem with limited spaces availible .Overall we had a lovely 2 days and would fully recomend this hotel to anyone wishing to have a relaxed and quality place to chill out ,

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bristolian_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mytchett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

I was staying for two nights in a single room for work. All in all I found it excellent value. The lift is a charming but very old type which I avoided as I have vertigo but it was not that hard to walk up a couple of flights of stairs. The room was clean, warm, had a good sized tv and the breakfast was good. I went to the Spa facilities which, though small were just fine and liked the hot tub. The staff in particular were very helpful and polite. I enjoyed it so much that I am thinking of going back for a couple more nights. Dinner was 14 95 for two courses, not a massive choice but perfectly adequate.The gym staff were also very friendly. My only ( tiny) gripe is that I got only two of those tiny pots of milk in the room, but when I asked for more I was given them no trouble at all. The staff are to be commended.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PamC107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

Myself, my 2 young boys, my sister and her 2 young children attended the recent Fun Day at this hotel, it only cost £5 per child, adults and under 3's were free. It was from 12-4. From the moment we stepped through the door we were made to feel very welcome by the attentive staff, then we made our way down the ballooned stairs to the the very large open planned conference room, which had been decorated with balloons and decorations. We were immediately welcome by the 'Funsters' team, who entertained our children, non-stop from 12-4. there was singing and dancing, story times, numerous fun and interactive games and a plentiful supply of craft tables to draw and be creative on. My children loved it and were made to feel very special by all the team there, and were chuffed when presented with certificates and trophies. As for the room itself, it had a beautiful view overlooking the gardens and then onto the sea and was clean and very comfortable. The lobby areas and toilets where also of a very high quality. The only downside on the day was that the food plates where a little on the small side, but I understand that this has already been sorted for future events, the next of which is towards Christmas I believe. Anyway, a very well presented and planned out day, at a very reasonable price, in a great location, with brilliant entertainment and friendly, helpful staff. Highly recommend to all families.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pencoed, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

We have recently returned from a Groupon weekend break in The Chine, we were a bit apprehensive upon arriving as we didn't know what to expect, we certainly weren't disappointed, a fantastic choice. The hotel was spotless, the room was large with a large balcony and a stunning view, the food was fantastic, nothing was too much trouble for the staff, they were so friendly and the bar prices were very reasonable. We made use of the leisure facilities which were 1st class. We would definitely return for another stay, hopefully this will be in the summer to enjoy the stunning gardens n the outdoor facilities.

Room Tip: 1st floor sea view with a balcony recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.7 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,333 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
2.5 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#38 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,858 reviews
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chine Hotel

Property: The Chine Hotel
Address: 25 Boscombe Spa Road, Bournemouth BH5 1AX, England (Formerly FJB Collection - The Chine)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Chine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly positioned overlooking Bournemouth’s Surf Reef at the edge of West Overcliff. The Chine Hotel is set in three acres of secluded, mature gardens, with magnificent unspoilt sea views and within easy access to the beach and reef. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Chine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing