We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could do better”
Review of The Chine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Chine Hotel
Ranked #24 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Could do better”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

My husband and I stayed for two nights,in January on a special offer. The wine wasn't in the room as expected and on enquiry at reception, the gentleman wasn't very helpful

initially but eventually resolved the issue.
At dinner, we were not expected despite booking the meal when booking the room and confirming the reservation at check on.The Maitre D Alex seemed to make the problem our problem and was unprofessional. The meal itself was farcical,appearing to be leftovers. However, the breakfasts on both mornings was exceedingly good. The hotel, though
tired is clean and all
other staff were great. Probably will not return

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 83home
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

979 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    375
    403
    115
    50
    36
See reviews for
295
454
27
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Have just returned from a 3 night stay and found our experience one of the best values for money obtained with a promotion voucher.The staff have to be congratulated on their professional and helpful attitude. Nothing was too much trouble. We found the room on the small side but nevertheless with a comfortable bed, and top quality towels and bed linen. Am extra chair would have been an asset but we have no doubt that if we had found this essential one would have been supplied! It is an interesting building has been updated without losing its character.(Reception have an interesting leaflet on its history).At breakfast one was spoiled for choice and the quality of the food and cooking was very good.Altogether little to find fault with but a lot to recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oaptraveller_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel for the New Year Package. For a family hotel there weren't many other families taking part in the celebrations, mainly older couples and groups, however as we had gone with two other families this didn't bother us. We had a fantastic stay as the children enjoyed the soft play room and the amazing Funsters kids club, while we had wonderful food in the restaurant and good entertainment to see in the new year with the live band and dj.
Some of the facilities are looking a bit tired but overall the hotel was great. Our maître Di, Saeed, was very attentive and deserves this special mention, thank you!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
137 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

My partner and I booked this hotel as a last minute break for my birthday on 27th December 2013. We cannot fault the hotel in any way. The room was lovely and large with all we needed (except perhaps a tumbler so I could take my tablets), the bed was huge and comfortable and the sheets were lovely and fresh, the en suite very clean and nice - only thing is, we are both normal sized people, but anyone overweight would not have fitted into the shower without getting water in their faces. The food was excellent and the breakfast could not have been better with so much to choose from. All was cooked to perfection and we both commented on the fact that the sausages were not the normal catering sausages but were the genuine article, Cumberland pork sausages, delicious. Lovely flat screen TV with all stations. The staff were kind and courteous at all times. One small point is that the car park is very tiny for the size of hotel, but it is free unlike so many of the other hotels we looked at. The location is lovely and the views across the lovely gardens are beautiful. We are coming back in the spring/summer to enjoy the garden more as it was a bit chilly in December to admire it. Good value, good food, good rooms, all excellent.

Room Tip: If overweight, then ask about the shower size as ours was really small and corner shaped. Also note...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank itismehdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We checked into this hotel for 2 nights, when we arrived the hotel upgraded us free of charge. There was a beautiful old fashioned lift. We had wine in the room waiting for us, service was superb. We had breakfast delivered to the room on the first morning and everything was perfectly presented. We will definitely return to this hotel. Deserves more than 3 star.

Room Tip: We got upgraded to a see view on top floor and the views were stunning. was a very large room too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

Love the Funsters; kept the children totally occupied for long periods (even the older 'cynical' one) letting us grown-ups sit down and be 'boring' in peace.
Hotel great too - excellent staff very helpful fixed minor issues rapidly without fuss.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, UK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We only stayed 1 night but were really pleasantly surprised at the quality and location of this hotel. It's a rambling large hotel, not reflected by the fairly modest frontage and car park. It seemed to have had architectural structures from numerous decades and indeed centuries and the decor reflected this; rather tired in parts but some modern refurbishments also evident. It seemed old fashioned in a good way - traditional dinner served in the dining room, excellent personal service and amenities that would suit all generations. We loved the location - in a wooded valley with a five minute walk - through really lovely hotel gardens - to the great beach at Boscombe (and a couple of cafés, bars,restaurants notably Urban Reef which is excellent) but it's a good walk along the promenade (40 mins?) or a trip on the land train to the bright lights and sights of Bournemouth proper. Our room was 117, a family room with a large double and adjoining bunk bedded room for the children. We spend a lot of time looking for this sort of set up as we have young kids who go to bed early and we don't fancy sitting in the quiet all evening. Mind you if you have kids who are a bit older they could have the children's high tea and then go to the kids club while you have dinner in the evening. Room decor was fine, spotlessly clean, great linen and towels, good biscuits and best of all a lovely sea view and huge dual aspect balcony. We paid £130 for the night with breakfast. Loads of facilities and amenities but I think that the hotel's best asset is the staff. Without exception, all the staff were so friendly and helpful. It really makes a difference. Ooh and the breakfast. Better than so many 4 or 5 star hotels that I have experienced. Want to return in the summer !

Room Tip: From the other reviews it seems like its best to check if there is a function on!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank campbell88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.7 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,415 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#22 of 66 in Bournemouth
89 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,922 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chine Hotel

Property: The Chine Hotel
Address: 25 Boscombe Spa Road, Bournemouth BH5 1AX, England (Formerly FJB Collection - The Chine)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Chine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly positioned overlooking Bournemouth’s Surf Reef at the edge of West Overcliff. The Chine Hotel is set in three acres of secluded, mature gardens, with magnificent unspoilt sea views and within easy access to the beach and reef. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Chine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing