We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value no complaints”
Review of Chine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chine Hotel
Ranked #21 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucester UK
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good Value no complaints”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Just returned from a 2 night stay at the Chine,was our second visit and found it very good value. Booked it quite late and got an excellent rate including breakfast for my wife and myself. Being a fairly old hotel it is a little quirky but our room was of a good size and the bathroom was also quite large. Due to family commitments have to travel to the area quite often and will be checking the hotels website to see what offers are available for our next visit .Will not hesitate to return again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CAGEYGloucesterUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,022 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    392
    420
    120
    54
    36
See reviews for
317
468
28
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

lovely hotel, old fashioned but clean, friendly and helpful staff. had a fantastic room with seaview, needs a bit of updating but very clean, but in keeping with style of building. daughter bought us two days away for christmas so we picked this hotel and glad we did. would recommend for a few days away. beautifully cooked breakfast, nothing was too much trouble. would recommend to anybody. thanks guys !!!

Room Tip: room with seaview was lovely. big bay window, could see sea from bed!! some renovation needed, but e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seashells2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

We came here on an Amazon Local deal which was a Christmas gift.

The deal was a three night stay in a balcony room with wine. The room was really nice, bathroom clean, view from balcony absolutely perfect overlooking the hotel's gardens and the sea. The wine was on the good side of average.

The welcome was good and parking seemed adequate although I would imagine it would be a nightmare when the hotel was busy.

GOOD POINTS:
The bar was tastefully decorated and well stocked. Prices weren't outrageous and service always good.

The restaurant also had lovely decor and afforded some wonderful views overlooking the sea and in one corner you could clearly see Boscombe Pier (which is about a five minute walk away).

The breakfast was standard cooked buffet style, with continental options - loads of it and well cooked/presented.

We ate one evening in the restaurant - food limited to three choices on starters and mains and two for puddings. £50 for two people (three courses with drinks) is only just on the right side of good value in my opinion.

The pool / hot-tub / sauna was very good, although a little crowded at times as it is open to members as well as residents.

BAD POINTS:
Snooty waiter (don't know his name, tall, wears glasses) seemed very offish.

A fire alarm that went off before 7am. No-one would tell us why (two separate explanations - flooding in a room/smoker lighting a cigarette). No real proper apology forthcoming for having to descend a narrow fire escape at that time of the morning. A complementary drink at the bar in the evening for those affected would have been a nice touch.

The retro-fit lift is just about big enough for one person and a suitcase.

The noise from the room above woke me up every single morning at 5.30am (imagine my annoyance at getting back off to sleep only to hear a fire alarm on day 3). My tip is to get a top floor room to avoid this nuisance. I suspect the person above was only walking between his bed and the bathroom but it was amplified to sound like a bowling alley in my room (221). Thud, thud, thud.

The pillows weren't the most comfortable I have slept on, but that might be nit-picking.

All in all it was a nice place to stay and would definitely stay there again as long as I had a top floor room.

I would also try and find out the best times to use the pool area so you aren't overwhelmed with members utilising it.




Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Justin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Booked a sea view room for 2 nights with dinner first night. Room a little dated but large with good facilities. Food excellent in the sea view restaurant and staff throughout the hotel excellent and friendly,

Room Tip: Pick a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank horsley31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambridge uk
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Really impressed with this hotel,nice position and easy walk to the beach and sea.Visited during the recent storms and the view from the balcony was something to remember ,rough seas and gale blowing yet room lovely and peaceful.Very well appointed public rooms great colour combinations and really welcoming.Breakfast good ,really attentive restaurant manager and staff a relaxing start to the day .Welcoming check in and reception staff efficient and very helpful,
Will surely go again.

Room Tip: worthwhile to pay for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddymo42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Stayed one night with partner in a double standard, which was clean, spacious with TV , tea and coffee, toiletries, hairdryer and a nice fresh comfy bed. The staff in reception,bar and breakfast crew where polite and friendly. The breakfast was great. The leisure roman spa downstairs was really relaxing, the two young men who gave the towels etc where very polite and helpful. They have a nice size pool, sauna, changing rooms and an outside hot tub looking out into the trees. We had a lovely time here and would definitley book again. Great price, Lovely Hotel, wonderful location..

Room Tip: Free fresh towels given in spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Arrived late afternoon on Thursday and parking is not so great... however the review is on the hotel and not parking, and first impressions are very good, warm welcome, friendly staff, great size room, with clean and fresh linen on beds. The balcony could do with sorting out. Sharp wood lying around. (not good if you have children). Couldn't comment on evening dinner as dined out both evenings, although breakfast ok. I suggest at 11pm when night porters start work, you keep the bar lights on with music on low.. we felt pushed out as all lights and music was turned off. On Friday morning, fire alarms went off at 7:30am... Was hoping to receive an apology on check out. Would probably return.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.7 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 66 in Bournemouth
137 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,997 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,482 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,523 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chine Hotel

Property: Chine Hotel
Address: 25 Boscombe Spa Road, Bournemouth BH5 1AX, England (Formerly FJB Collection - The Chine)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Chine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chine Hotel is a charming and affordable seaside destination, just a stone’s throw away from Bournemouth beach. Set in three acres of tranquil private gardens where you can escape for the day with a book, or meander your way through to the golden sandy beach. The Chine Hotel is a humble setting by the sea. Offering outdoor pool and well-appointed bedrooms, most with sea and garden views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing