We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Short break.”
Review of The Chine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Chine Hotel
Ranked #26 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Short break.”
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

First impressions are deceiving. This is a large old Victorian hotel with attractive established gardens down to the sea front. Extensive redecoration. Great location. Breakfast would meet everyone's tastes and quality too. Dinner hit the spot and bar team know what they are about. Good but smallish gym. Outside hot tub for up to four people. Good staff attitude nothing too much trouble. Outside pool area attractive but was out of service during our stay.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Den1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

967 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    367
    400
    114
    50
    36
See reviews for
289
449
28
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
102 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We were lucky enough to spend the first really warm weekend at the Chine Hotel, for which we had 2 nights B&B for the price of one. The service was very good, the room very spacious, with a newly decorated bathroom. It was in the annexe, which was pleasant, and I imagine rather quieter than some rooms in the main building when they are hosting a function. The hotel is in a very good spot, overlooking Boscombe Bay, with lovely gardens and easy access into Bournemouth.
We had dinner there on our second night, and really enjoyed it - couldn't manage the dessert as the starter and main course were substantial! Service was very good and we had a pleasant evening.
The breakfast is varied and tasty, as they use local products where possible. My only tiny gripe there is that I prefer my eggs cooked to order, rather than fried, and then kept warm.
A nice touch for Mother's Day was to be given a pot of dwarf daffodils at dinner.
Like others, we found parking not always as easy as you would like, but by no means a deal-breaker.

Room Tip: Check when you book if there is a function in the evening, and if so, request a quieter room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DinyDoodles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed with a friend at the Chine Hotel at the end of March 2014 and cannot speak highly enough of the staff. The reception staff are particularly helpful and friendly and the dining staff made extra efforts to seat us well and make us feel at home. The dining room has fabulous views. The spa was great and the outside hot tub a delight. There is a handy walk through the beautiful gardens to the beach and plenty of parking, even if you have to sometimes walk a little way from the safe 'overspill' car park. The Hotel is delightfully old fashioned but beautifully clean and our room was enormous! As you can tell; we loved it!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

I visited The Chine in September 2013 for a short break with my partner. We visited with an online offer and we were very surprised by our stay. The room was spacious and was perfect. Very comfortable and enough space in cupboards. Staff were very friendly and we experienced great service. We also dined in the hotel restaurant and we had never tasted such beautiful food it was divine. The view of the beach was also beautiful and was situated very close to restaurants and the pier. Would definitely recommend for a short romantic getaway!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rita D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Weekend at The Chine Hotel, and just have to say what a great hotel this is, the parking was a bit of an issue, drove round a bit, then rang the hotel, who gave instructions where we were able to park, then the weekend began! Lovely room overlooking the sea, couldn't fault the cleanliness of the room or hotel in general. Breakfast is self service buffet, hot and cold and plenty of everything. Paid £20 each for a 3 course dinner, which was fantastic, but would have been perfect with slightly larger portion sizes. The gym and pools looked good too. The hotel is in a great location fairly close to boscombe pier, the walk back up to the hotel was fairly steep. Will definitely return to this lovely hotel.

Room Tip: Great weekend break
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tinampinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We went to this hotel as the result of a weekend offer and were very pleasantly surprised by our stay. Although the car parking was a bit ropey, we managed to get in so left the car there for the weekend. Room 016 in the annex was quite big and comfortable and overlooked the pool. It was clean and the bed was comfortable.

Although the hotel was catering for a large Lodge function, we dined in the hotel restaurant on the 1st evening and had an excellent meal at a reasonable price served by attentive waiting staff. The breakfasts were buffet-style and were also excellent.

All in all, a very good weekend stay and we'd certainly consider visiting again.

Room Tip: Room 016 was good and being at the end of a short corridor, quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peteduncan69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Although parking is an issue this did not distract from having a thoroughly good time. We had 3 nights at the hotel in the west wing, we were wary with our first impressions from the outside appearance but were not disappointed with the décor and the size of our room number 35 which had a sea view.
All of the staff were very welcoming and friendly.
Food was to a good standard and if I stay there again I will book the meal on the first night, something special.
We had a problem with a water leak in the bathroom which looked as though it had been recently refurbished but within an hour it was fixed. Towels were changed and the bed remade with coffee/tea and biscuits replenished every day.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.7 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,381 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
2.5 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#23 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#27 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,889 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chine Hotel

Property: The Chine Hotel
Address: 25 Boscombe Spa Road, Bournemouth BH5 1AX, England (Formerly FJB Collection - The Chine)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Chine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly positioned overlooking Bournemouth’s Surf Reef at the edge of West Overcliff. The Chine Hotel is set in three acres of secluded, mature gardens, with magnificent unspoilt sea views and within easy access to the beach and reef. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Chine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing