We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good hotel for a short break.”
Review of Chine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chine Hotel
Ranked #25 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This hotel could not be faulted by its staff who were very attentive and friendly, the breakfast was very well presented and all food of a high standard ,service was excellent. the dinner menu was different each night with the meals being served hot and very enjoyable especially the beef and lamb which was very tasty.
The room 115 was a little tired probable due to its age, but otherwise provided good accommodation for our 3 nights.
The hotel has its own wooded garden with a private pathway leading to the large local park .
Parking was not a problem at the hotel as they have three or four areas around the site which can be used free on a first come basis very good as parking expensive in the areas car parks.

Room Tip: Our room with garden/sea view also overlooked the rear of hotel and had the dustbins underneath the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank baron p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,040)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

408 - 414 of 1,040 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stayed at this lovely hotel over the Bank Holiday. Our room was very spacious with lovely views over the park and a sea view. Food at breakfast was good with lots of choice, we also had one evening meal which was also good and very reasonable for three courses. The two pools were great and very warm. would definately vist again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We went as a family group of six adults and one three year old as well as two one year olds. The family rooms allocated in the West wing were of a really good size and were fitted out with a small annexe for the children that could be shut off from the main room , cots were supplied by the hotel. The rooms also had good size bathrooms and tea and coffee making facilities. They needed a lick of paint in places but otherwise were really clean.

There are indoor and outdoor pools, the latter being as hot as a bath, an indoor soft play area and the offer of separate teas for children. The soft play area was unfortunately not controlled and on several occasions the "older" children took over and scared the very young ones, there was an age limit of seven which I think is too high and should be five and parents should be in attendance to look after their children.

The breakfast buffet was excellent, a table for nine was provided and the service was excellent. The children all had the early supper which was consistently good. The hotel also catered for us dining in shifts in the evening due to a baby sitting roster. One waiter, Simon Cid Comesana (Spanish) was outstanding and an example of what training for a profession can achieve as that is what it is in Spain. Nothing was too much trouble and he was the only one who could be described as understanding how to serve wine correctly.

For the adults in addition to the facilities already mentioned there was the outdoor hot tub which lived up to its name.

At the end of the hotel gardens it was possible to get to a footpath and go 100 yards to the seafront and beach. The beaches were clean and the children just loved being there.

This was an excellent experience for a family holiday enhanced even more by unexpected festivals taking place at the same time including monster trucks demolishing cars.

We will certainly return again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Les B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Recently stayed at The Chine to celebrate a relatives 90th birthday. We found the staff, accommodation and food to be as described and the food in particular very good. The restaurant staff were very obliging. Car parking may pose a small problem, but the one and only very small lift is not really up to the task. It is what I call a Parisian lift, capable of enclosing 5 but realistically only 2 can safely be carried with a small suitcase at that. Also it has 2 separate closing doors, so if one is not closed properly or not at all,then a problem exists, particularly for the elderly,

Room Tip: If you need to use a lift , say above level one then be prepared to wait at busy times, also you may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My family of 4 recently stayed at this hotel. The staff were really eager to please and very friendly. The actual hotel is gorgeous with beautiful gardens and an outdoor pool that really is warm. The food was good and the service was good too. The rooms were fine except for the very dirty carpets which really were moist with dirt. The rooms themselves were perfectly fine with a separate room with bunk beds for the kids. Besides the carpet , the rooms were kept clean every day.
The best of the hotel is the location which is a short walk through the hotel grounds to the promenade.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marcelleLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Beds were uncomfortable, still suffering from a bad back after 2 days, the food was average with a very small selection on the menu, the restaurant staff need a bit of training in how to be waiters/waitresses, all a bit up in the air, (ie Breakfast with no drinks offered on first morning) we had to go and ask, and the moment you have put your knife and fork down then are under your nose taking your plate away - this got my back up a lot. and to top it off we ordered a family room and I specified my daughter was 2 and a hlf yrs old, in which upon arriving at our room we were presented with a shower and no bath!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We have just returned from a fab 2 night break for my mum's 60th. We had 3 generations, from a 4 year old to a 90 year old. The staff couldn't be faulted, all were very polite and went out of their way to help us especially in the restaurant. We had a lovely family room with separate space for children's bunk beds and large balcony from which we could see the sea and gardens. My nan had huge room which was perfect to get the wheelchair round. The food in the restaurant was delicious with amazing service, so good on the first night that we cancelled our dinner reservation in town so we could eat there again. The children ( and us) loved the outdoor pool which was really warm so we could use it even when the weather wasn't that great. We will definitely be returning, huge thank you to hotel staff for making my mum's birthday stay so special.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank Christina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.7 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#19 of 66 in Bournemouth
206 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
0.7 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#24 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,557 reviews
0.6 mi away
Elstead Hotel
Elstead Hotel
#20 of 66 in Bournemouth
607 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chine Hotel

Address: 25 Boscombe Spa Road, Bournemouth BH5 1AX, England (Formerly FJB Collection - The Chine)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range: £60 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chine Hotel is a charming and affordable seaside destination, just a stone’s throw away from Bournemouth beach. Set in three acres of tranquil private gardens where you can escape for the day with a book, or meander your way through to the golden sandy beach. The Chine Hotel is a humble setting by the sea. Offering outdoor pool and well-appointed bedrooms, most with sea and garden views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Chine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing