We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chine”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Chine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Chine Hotel
Ranked #27 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Romford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Chine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Just stayed at the chine for weekend booked through Secret Escapes. We were in room 115 which was a large room. On previous visits had stated in 120 and 119. The let down of this room (115) was bathroom door did not shut and chairs on balcony were black with dirt. The food was very good and staff very attentive. Would return but not to that room.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brendateresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

954 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    364
    391
    114
    49
    36
See reviews for
287
441
27
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We have stayed at this hotel before and had never had any reason to complain. This visit we booked a sea view double and were allocated room 305, this was not on any budget deal and was on a dinner B&B basis. The room was OK a bit dated but great views, the first couple of nights the bed seemed OK but then the mattresses became very uncomfortable. Upon inspection the next morning we discovered that we had been sleeping on some ancient stained mattresses which were the sort of thing you would have seen on a builders skip [see pictures]
When we initially complained at the reception, no action was taken to remedy the situation so I requested that the manager inspected the mattresses. She said that this was the sort of thing you expect in hotels and it was not unusual, that is what the mattress protector was for. We where far from convinced that this was normal and accepted the offer of an alternative room, no apology was offered.
Upon our return I wrote to the MD at Head Office, no reply, I then contacted them by e-mail only to be informed that the mattresses had been cleaned by a contractor and the mattress protector, a thin sheet, was adequate. The MD or his side kick clearly did not wish to enter in any dialogue with me. I have been polite with my requests but unfortunately it falls upon deaf ears. We are not malicious people but expect to be treated in a respectful manner and not be exposed to such unsavoury bedding. We were amazed that Trip Advisor has awarded the FJB Group with a Certificate of Excellence. Needless to say we will not be returning.

Room Tip: Check the mattresses before sleeping on them
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

I was in chine hotel for 3 nights
They have friendly staff excellent service and very beautiful view
They have a sep you can use a swimming pool indoor and outdoor plus the Jacuzzi me and my partner use that all the time.
When we go to the breakfast table you can see many choices.
The bed and the room service it is excellent. That's was my first time in chine hotel and Hundred percent is not the last time , high recommend to you like have good time....

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mehrdad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Had an excellent midweek short break, first week of June at The Chine. Got a deal via Expedia. Can't really fault hotel or staff - all very presentable, pleasant and accommodating. Breakfasts were some of the best I've ever had! Worth paying a little bit extra for a room with balcony and sea view. Can definitely recommend it. Small car park to both front and rear of hotel as well as on street parking.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AndyBatemans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
112 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Stayed here for two night in a seaview room on a Groupon deal with wine, breakfast and spa access. What a great place, maybe a bit old- fashioned and tired in places but clean and welcoming. Great food at breakfast and dinner and attentive service. The highlight for me was the heated outdoor pool, outdoor hot tub and sunloungers round the pool where we enjoyed some lovely sun. Pool towels available and the hotel is in lovely grounds which lead to a gate out to the beach. Would certainly stay here again on a Groupon or Travelzoo offer and would recommend to all ages. The towels in the room were also great, large bathsheets and complimentary toiletries. I look forward to returning soon!

Room Tip: Worth upgrading for £20 a night to garden/seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DebbieOxfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

This hotel has style - it's not modern but I imagine it's how hotels were in the 30s. For example, there is a dress code for the hotel restaurant - smart casual. On booking in the reception staff were courteous and helpful. The restaurant and bar staff were smart, helpful and efficient. Our room was a decent size, bedding was clean and the bathroom was good.
Although some way out from Bournemouth it was a good excuse for a leisurely walk along the front. A very pleasant 3 days spent here which will be repeated.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobporthcawl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

The Chine Hotel was given a 4 * rating from me because of the checking in I experienced. They were not sent our booking from Secret Escapes and would not let us have our rooms until they received confirmation from them despite our having all the paperwork to prove the bookings and the fact we had paid. They made us sit in the bar for over an hour with a bored 4 year old and did not offer us any complimentary refreshments or apologies.

Other than this I do not understand why this is only a 3* hotel. The facilities and rooms are better than many 4* or 5* hotels I have stayed at.

My 4 year old son was kept entertained the whole of our 4 day stay even though it was raining by the excellent Funsters Entertainment. Special mention should go to Ellesbells and Jazzy Jordan. My son was counting down the minutes until he could see them again and did not want to leave.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.7 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,334 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
2.5 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#37 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,858 reviews
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chine Hotel

Property: The Chine Hotel
Address: 25 Boscombe Spa Road, Bournemouth BH5 1AX, England (Formerly FJB Collection - The Chine)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Chine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly positioned overlooking Bournemouth’s Surf Reef at the edge of West Overcliff. The Chine Hotel is set in three acres of secluded, mature gardens, with magnificent unspoilt sea views and within easy access to the beach and reef. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Chine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing