We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family hotel”
Review of Chine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chine Hotel
Ranked #25 of 67 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2014

A great stay at The Chine. Excellent customer service, really friendly staff. Everything you need for an enjoyable and relaxing stay with a young family. Convenient for the beach too! Hotel, whilst some areas are in need of updating, was very clean and the gardens extremely well kept.

Room Tip: Corner room with sea and garden view, plus ask for separate bedroom with bunks for a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,040)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

397 - 403 of 1,040 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

We got married at this hotel in May last year and were so happy with every aspect of our wedding day from pre-planning right through to the morning after. All the staff are very attentive, Karen in particular was very accommodating of our choices and nothing was too much trouble for her. People who attended still tell us what a wonderful time they had here on the day.

Rooms wise we found our room to be very clean and comfortable with a great view over Boscombe/Bournemouth beaches, and nicely decorated. There are also facilities such as a children's soft play room, indoor and outdoor swimming pools and a jacuzzi.

The food on our wedding day was delicious both during the reception and the evening buffet, and our full English breakfast the following morning was fantastic. We returned this May for our anniversary to the hotel's Sea View restaurant, where the food was equally as delicious and service was second to none.

All in all I would recommend both to regular hotel guests and couples considering The Chine as a wedding venue.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AllanaTurner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Just stayed at the chine for weekend booked through Secret Escapes. We were in room 115 which was a large room. On previous visits had stated in 120 and 119. The let down of this room (115) was bathroom door did not shut and chairs on balcony were black with dirt. The food was very good and staff very attentive. Would return but not to that room.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brendateresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We have stayed at this hotel before and had never had any reason to complain. This visit we booked a sea view double and were allocated room 305, this was not on any budget deal and was on a dinner B&B basis. The room was OK a bit dated but great views, the first couple of nights the bed seemed OK but then the mattresses became very uncomfortable. Upon inspection the next morning we discovered that we had been sleeping on some ancient stained mattresses which were the sort of thing you would have seen on a builders skip [see pictures]
When we initially complained at the reception, no action was taken to remedy the situation so I requested that the manager inspected the mattresses. She said that this was the sort of thing you expect in hotels and it was not unusual, that is what the mattress protector was for. We where far from convinced that this was normal and accepted the offer of an alternative room, no apology was offered.
Upon our return I wrote to the MD at Head Office, no reply, I then contacted them by e-mail only to be informed that the mattresses had been cleaned by a contractor and the mattress protector, a thin sheet, was adequate. The MD or his side kick clearly did not wish to enter in any dialogue with me. I have been polite with my requests but unfortunately it falls upon deaf ears. We are not malicious people but expect to be treated in a respectful manner and not be exposed to such unsavoury bedding. We were amazed that Trip Advisor has awarded the FJB Group with a Certificate of Excellence. Needless to say we will not be returning.

Room Tip: Check the mattresses before sleeping on them
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

I was in chine hotel for 3 nights
They have friendly staff excellent service and very beautiful view
They have a sep you can use a swimming pool indoor and outdoor plus the Jacuzzi me and my partner use that all the time.
When we go to the breakfast table you can see many choices.
The bed and the room service it is excellent. That's was my first time in chine hotel and Hundred percent is not the last time , high recommend to you like have good time....

Stayed: June 2014
Thank Mehrdad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Had an excellent midweek short break, first week of June at The Chine. Got a deal via Expedia. Can't really fault hotel or staff - all very presentable, pleasant and accommodating. Breakfasts were some of the best I've ever had! Worth paying a little bit extra for a room with balcony and sea view. Can definitely recommend it. Small car park to both front and rear of hotel as well as on street parking.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank AndyBatemans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Stayed here for two night in a seaview room on a Groupon deal with wine, breakfast and spa access. What a great place, maybe a bit old- fashioned and tired in places but clean and welcoming. Great food at breakfast and dinner and attentive service. The highlight for me was the heated outdoor pool, outdoor hot tub and sunloungers round the pool where we enjoyed some lovely sun. Pool towels available and the hotel is in lovely grounds which lead to a gate out to the beach. Would certainly stay here again on a Groupon or Travelzoo offer and would recommend to all ages. The towels in the room were also great, large bathsheets and complimentary toiletries. I look forward to returning soon!

Room Tip: Worth upgrading for £20 a night to garden/seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DebbieOxfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.7 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 67 in Bournemouth
218 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
0.7 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#24 of 67 in Bournemouth
2,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 67 in Bournemouth
1,568 reviews
0.6 mi away
Elstead Hotel
Elstead Hotel
#20 of 67 in Bournemouth
613 reviews
2.5 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chine Hotel

Address: 25 Boscombe Spa Road, Bournemouth BH5 1AX, England (Formerly FJB Collection - The Chine)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 67 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range: £60 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chine Hotel is a charming and affordable seaside destination, just a stone’s throw away from Bournemouth beach. Set in three acres of tranquil private gardens where you can escape for the day with a book, or meander your way through to the golden sandy beach. The Chine Hotel is a humble setting by the sea. Offering outdoor pool and well-appointed bedrooms, most with sea and garden views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing