We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel MOODY STAFF!”
Review of Chine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chine Hotel
Ranked #32 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Enjoyed the stay at the Chine - great Location beautiful gardens and Spa was a delight.

Perhaps it was an off-day but the worst check-in I have ever had 3 women behind the desk and seemed so uninterested that we were there to check in extremely miserable reception. Breakfast quite the same - do staff here NEVER smile!?

As for House-Keeping, I am quite sure that most Hotels would not adhere to having there fresh sheets and towel which were dumped on the FLOOR outside the doors of rooms ready for the next guest to come in. Hygiene ? Health & Safety?

Nevertheless I would return and found the stay exceptionally well.

Room Tip: Grab a room with a Sea View
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Charlesworth100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,040)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

391 - 397 of 1,040 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2014

Excellent room No. 203. Food very good. Staff helpful and pleasant. Only downside was the parking - not enough. Lack of shelves in bathroom. And some parents not controlling their very noisy children. Overall the hotel has a good atmosphere, quiet and relaxing until the end of the week when the families arrived. Maybe we were just unlucky !

Room Tip: As already mentioned room 203 was ideal - large, quiet, excellent view, comfortable bed (King size).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Just returned from a few days at this hotel. Impressed with the lovely grounds and the view of the Isle of Wight from our bedroom window. There were two lovely pools, one indoor and one outdoor which were both warmer than any we had swam in before and very relaxing. The staff, especially Angelique and Mario at reception, were very friendly and helpful. The food ,especially the breakfast ,was very good with plenty of variety and good service. The downside was that the hotel, although very clean, was rather old fashioned and shabby. However we were told that the hotel will close in a few months time for a major refurbishment. Good news! The only other problem was the parking as there were only 6 places in the hotel entrance. Just before we left we heard that there were places outside other buildings that belonged to the Chine. This is worth looking into for new guests. We will certainly come again after it reopens..

Room Tip: Ask for one with a view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EvieBowring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stated here recently for my partners birthday. We can say we had a fantastic time. The location is great everyone was friendly and the facilities are wonderful. We will definitely be staying there again in the near future. The only slight downfall is that the rooms could do we a little upgrade as they are a bit tired and could do with some attention, not saying that they were not nice and very clean. This hotel is recommended for all even families with small children. Very happy with our stay and look forward to the next.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blackbeauty51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I have used this hotel several times previously - the last time being around 3 years ago. Since then I think the hotel has undergone some refurbishment but it has retained its quaint charm. It is a bit worn around the edges in places but the important things like the rooms are spotlessly clean.
I had a single room (having stayed in other hotels as a single traveller the rooms are usually no bigger than a broom cupboard) however the singles at The Chine are a good size with a single bed, single wardrobe, plenty of drawer space, chair and desk plus flat screen TV. Fitted bathroom with shower over. I am not keen on shower curtains but in defence of The Chine - the shower curtain was really clean - no mould marks whatsoever. The bed was incredibly comfortable.

The hotel has plenty of facilities including outdoor heated pool, indoor pool, gym, steam room, jacuzzi, children's play area and lovely gardens. Walk to the bottom of the gardens and go through the security gate (code will be provided by reception) and you will literally be a 1 minute walk to Boscombe pier and beach. If you stroll along the prom it will take around 15 minutes to reach Bournemouth pier - another 5 minutes walk through the lovely park will lead you to the shopping centre and all that Bournemouth has to offer. For those that don't want to walk there is a land train that runs between Boscombe and Bournemouth pier during the day. I only ate breakfast at the hotel - it is buffet style with plenty on offer.

All staff were lovely and friendly and our group was made to feel welcome throughout the hotel.

Downsides - well not many. As I said before a few areas are a bit tatty around the edges but to be honest it is nothing awful - the decor in the indoor pool area is a little shabby but doesn't spoil the use of the pool.
One slightly off putting thing that could easily be remedied is that the sun loungers around the pool are frequently covered in bird poo. The gardens are gorgeous and clearly attract lots of wildlife and this is just one of those little irritations that happen when sharing surroundings with nature however it would be good if the loungers and the tables and chairs surrounding the pool area received a wash down at the start of each day to clear off the mess.

I could not access the wi fi. The signal strength didn't appear to be that good but perhaps it was because I was just trying to connect via my mobile.

The towel rail in my room was permanently on and I could not find any way of switching it off.

There are plenty of stairs to navigate (there is a beautiful old lift to give access to the bedrooms) but I don't know if there is any lift giving access to the pool and gardens. The steps were not a problem to me but anyone with walking difficulties might struggle a little.

The inside of the hotel is a bit dated in places - lots of red carpet and dark wood but for me this adds to the charm and the few things it lacks are made up for with the nice room and lovely staff and a fantastic location, close to the beach.

I would certainly use this hotel again when staying in the area

Room Tip: Room 323. On 3rd floor so nice and quiet. Sea glimpse from window
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lavender1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Just had a lovely short break at The Chine Hotel. Our room was clean, spacious and airy with a great view of the gardens and outdoor pool. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the food was delicious and the gardens were beautiful. We especially enjoyed the outdoor hot tub.
There is a lovely gated area with a pond and waterfall in the centre of the gardens. Even though it was really hot during our stay that part of the garden was always comfortably shaded under the trees and it would be the perfect spot for outdoor yoga. How about suggesting it to the Yoga on the Beach man?

Room Tip: Our room in the West Wing was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LOuise51_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

A great stay at The Chine. Excellent customer service, really friendly staff. Everything you need for an enjoyable and relaxing stay with a young family. Convenient for the beach too! Hotel, whilst some areas are in need of updating, was very clean and the gardens extremely well kept.

Room Tip: Corner room with sea and garden view, plus ask for separate bedroom with bunks for a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.8 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
2.5 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
1.5 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#21 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
1.7 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
0.5 mi away
Langtry Manor Hotel
Langtry Manor Hotel
#2 of 66 in Bournemouth
968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chine Hotel

Address: 25 Boscombe Spa Road, Bournemouth BH5 1AX, England (Formerly FJB Collection - The Chine)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range: £58 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chine Hotel is a charming and affordable seaside destination, just a stone’s throw away from Bournemouth beach. Set in three acres of tranquil private gardens where you can escape for the day with a book, or meander your way through to the golden sandy beach. The Chine Hotel is a humble setting by the sea. Offering outdoor pool and well-appointed bedrooms, most with sea and garden views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Chine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing