We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faded Victorian Splendour!”
Review of The Chine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Chine Hotel
Ranked #24 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Taunton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Faded Victorian Splendour!”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

It does need a bit of a makeover. The newer block rooms with a balcony are much nicer. My room was very large, comfortable but dated as somebody else has stated. The bathroom however is shocking. Shower cubicle and bathroom were so small. They had cut down on the bar menu which is very limited. Breakfast could have been a bit better. The staff however are very nice and very helpful and I would certainly come back. The outside is being refurbished which I'm hoping will continue to the inside.

Room Tip: Don't pick room 213!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

979 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    375
    403
    115
    50
    36
See reviews for
295
454
27
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The hotel is in a good location for access to Boscombe beach which is easily within walking distance, albeit a steep incline and not suitable for wheelchair users. The hotel is dated and requires some tlc. Having said that the cleanliness is good. Ate breakfast there which was either a substantive buffet or poached eggs, haddock if you asked for it. I only discovered the latter was available after finishing my breakfast on the first day. Staff did direct you to the buffet but did not advise you that there was any alternative.
My main gripe is the parking facilities. A continual problem all day long with parking especially when day tripping.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denmead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Just had our third visit to the Chine.

Our kids love the amazing breakfast, the outdoor pool and the stunning grounds and location.

We love the friendly staff, the location near the beach and the traditional atmosphere in the hotel. We have wondered if we should try another hotel for our break but why change a winning formula.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malcolm B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

A great hotel with a brilliant location and fantastic rooms. The hotel looks very grand but is very well priced with a lovely restaurant and fitness centre. The staff were very polite. The only issue was a limited parking availability.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christo69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kings Langley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Great location for Bocsombe beach, beautiful gardens and warm swimming pool. We had a room with sea view and balcony which was dated but large and comfortable. Breakfast was average, staff friendly and helpful. The walk through the gardens to the beach was unsuitable for prams or wheel chairs or people with mobility restrictions and all up hill on the way back.
Parking was limited although we did manage to get a space but were reluctant to use the car during our stay as we did not want to lose our parking space.
Bedroom was quiet, lift was very small an old style lift with only room for two with bags
However would return due to the location.

Room Tip: If you want a good sea view get co room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

No parking on arrival near the hotel but there is a Chime garage area down adjacent street-(found by chance) Decor in main area and bar,restaurant is modern but the carpets on the stairs are threadbare and I couldn't get the smell of Care/nursing home away-so maybe some well placed smellies needed.The room was adequate for 2 overlooked the front entrance and got the noise outside of the wedding party guests for a while until earplugs went in.Breakfast was good quality, a buffet style-however the girls have got to get the asking for tea/coffee sorted out,all got very confusing-and also booked main meal-dont normally get asked if i want dessert at the beginning of ordering felt hurried and was told had 2 mins to decide as they were fully booked-pool is great gardens great and on the whole deserves its 3 star-you get what you paid for...

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank woo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
127 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Enjoyed the stay at the Chine - great Location beautiful gardens and Spa was a delight.

Perhaps it was an off-day but the worst check-in I have ever had 3 women behind the desk and seemed so uninterested that we were there to check in extremely miserable reception. Breakfast quite the same - do staff here NEVER smile!?

As for House-Keeping, I am quite sure that most Hotels would not adhere to having there fresh sheets and towel which were dumped on the FLOOR outside the doors of rooms ready for the next guest to come in. Hygiene ? Health & Safety?

Nevertheless I would return and found the stay exceptionally well.

Room Tip: Grab a room with a Sea View
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Charlesworth100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.7 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,416 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#20 of 66 in Bournemouth
91 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,923 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chine Hotel

Property: The Chine Hotel
Address: 25 Boscombe Spa Road, Bournemouth BH5 1AX, England (Formerly FJB Collection - The Chine)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Chine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly positioned overlooking Bournemouth’s Surf Reef at the edge of West Overcliff. The Chine Hotel is set in three acres of secluded, mature gardens, with magnificent unspoilt sea views and within easy access to the beach and reef. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Chine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing