We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Forth visit in five years”
Review of The Chine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Chine Hotel
Ranked #24 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Forth visit in five years”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

This was a forth visit to The Chine with our two children. This time we stayed in the first block from the main hotel (room 22). Large room with a separate small room with bunk beds from the kids.

All the staff were very friendly from reception to the restaurant staff. For two nights we stayed half board and the other two B&B. Breakfast had a good choice of cereals, toast, cooked breakfast, yoghurts, pastries and a range of fruit juices. Evening meals were to a good standard and very tasty and well presented.

The funster staff who kept our children fully entertained through out our stay were really great. These guys worked their socks off to give our children the best time.

Hope to visit again soon.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

979 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    375
    403
    115
    50
    36
See reviews for
295
454
27
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London,UK
Level Contributor
50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

The Chine was pretty much what we expected. The location is great for a long weekend at the beach. we didnt use the car once, we could walk to the beach whic isnt commercialised, use the outdoor pool which was properly heated and warm for our toddlers, and the soft play was perfect after breakfast. The bedrooms are very tired - and need more than a spruce up really - the cildren frequently commented on the fusty smell in parts of the hotel , but overall a great break and we willl be back, thank you.

Room Tip: If you have children some of the family rooms do have small side rooms with bunk beds so a bit of fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLS24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee-on-the-Solent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed a night at this hotel in August 2014. Staff were friendly and free parking was a bonus. There is a lovely garden to walk down with access to Chine Gardens and Boscombe beach. The room was large with lovely high ceilings. Breakfast in the Seaview restaurant was plentiful and the indoor and outdoor pools were warm and quiet both days we used them.
Good price and great location.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Found a 3 night break through Secret Escapes for an amazing price in July. Hotel was clean, rooms quite large and the included full buffet style breakfast was fantastic with a good choice of items. We went with my elderly parents & were pleased to find there was a lift in this hotel. Pleasant gardens, outdoor pool and lounge areas. Parking was provided, but limited spaces available. Very enjoyable mini break in lovely Boscombe/Bournemouth location.

Room Tip: The sea views rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet-Charles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Arrived Friday 1st Aug and were met by a very attentive waiter at reception who ran out to find a parking space for our car on the road as the parking is to say the least limited with about 8 bays in front of our hotel anybody else had to park on an already full road.

The staff were friendly and efficient and is a saving grace of The Chines,

Our bedroom was large and airy I say airy because of only two small sash windows in a very large panoramic non opening frame only one was closable and the catch on that broken window was falling off the rotted timber of the window the paintwork of the whole frame was cracked and peeling.

Sea view. Magnificent but ruined by the fact that the restaurant flat roof was about 24 inches blow our window sill and could be accessed from the balconies of other rooms this is a robbery waiting to happen.

The beds are soft and uncomfortable the meals expensive and very lack lustre.

The pools one indoor and one outer are well tended even though there didn't appear to be any lifeguards.

I wake very early and creaked my way across the floor waking my wife, the room was stiflingly hot until I wangled a fan from one of the reception staff.

During our stay we saw no disabled access ramps or lifts although in all fairness there was an antique metal concertina lift from the 20s and still working ???

I was asked by the family if we would ever go back to The Chines my answer was not even if I were kicking and screaming.

The only answer to a worn out hotel like The Chines is either refurbish it or tear it down !

Room Tip: Simple- find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Robert N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Overall I found the hotel satisfactory.

The location was great. A walk through the gardens and you're on the local beach. The beach is fairly quite, clean with shower and toilet facilities. Doesn't offer much in terms of restaurants. There isn't much of a choice bar a Harvester!

The hotel itself is tired. They made an effort with the public areas but the rooms are great. The carpets felt filthy and the furniture grubby and stained. Although the bed linen was fine.

The windows are a nightmare if you have small children. We wouldn't dare open the sash windows more than a few inches in case the kids fell out! It's an accident waiting to happen.

We had a broken bathroom window which was fixed with gaffa tape and a toilet seat that was half hang off.

Thumbs up to the staff though. All were very pleasant and friendly.

Food at the hotel was good. I wouldn't bother with the children's buffet though. Breakfast was good but be prepared to walk a great many times to the buffet as the tables are laid to a skeleton. You even have to grab your own cups and saucers, tea, coffee, toast, etc....

The pools are generally good, clean and well equipped.

Given the location we would return but the hotel is grubby and is not worth the money.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kate1978Collgat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed here last July and couldn't wait to come back. Stayed last weekend with 6 adults and 1 child for my Daughters second Birthday. Perfectly situated 1 street back from the beach opposite Boscombe Pier. A 15 walk along the prom to Bournemouth Pier or you can catch the train. Rooms were comfortable despite us not upgrading and the cot was there as requested on arrival. Breakfast was delicious with lots of choice, all hot and fresh. We took advantage of the beautiful weather and relaxed (sort of with a 2 year old!!) by the outdoor pool. Great bar service and they also sell sandwiches. The grounds are beautiful and plenty of shaded places to escape the busy main areas. Kids indoor play centre and games room were a huge hit and a great addition to the hotel. Thank you for an excellent stay and we'll be back I'm sure.

Room Tip: Request a room in the main block as they hotel is spread between 4 buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CGD2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.7 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,415 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#20 of 66 in Bournemouth
91 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,922 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chine Hotel

Property: The Chine Hotel
Address: 25 Boscombe Spa Road, Bournemouth BH5 1AX, England (Formerly FJB Collection - The Chine)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Chine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly positioned overlooking Bournemouth’s Surf Reef at the edge of West Overcliff. The Chine Hotel is set in three acres of secluded, mature gardens, with magnificent unspoilt sea views and within easy access to the beach and reef. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Chine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing