We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couples city escape”
Review of Chine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chine Hotel
Ranked #24 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Read quite recent review Jayneh363 and think that if you start on bad note with hotel staff the rest will follow and you simply dislike the whole journey and place itself. I found Chine hotel good value for money perfectly located (few minutes away from the beach)with absolutely fantastic garden area. Yes hotel might be not the most modern but for some reason it adds to it charm (bare in mind that it has been built in 1876). Rooms could be bigger so if you have kids I would say it might be not the best choice however after all who spend holidays in their hotel room :)? Family holidays as per my experience are best in log cabins or villas where you have the whole place for yourself.

Restaurant is overlooking the sea and the garden simply beautiful!!! Breakfast were fair and quality of food very good. Hotel swimming pools Spa facilities equally satisfactory.

All I can say that after visiting Chine hotel and our recent engagement me and my partner considering this place for our wedding venue :)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Wioleta K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,040)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

336 - 342 of 1,040 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2014 via mobile

We're having a lovely stay. Room decor reminiscent of my Nan's house c.1980 but airy and large with very comfortable beds. Communal areas stylish, especially the bar. Outside pool lovely with a kind of old school charm and beautifully warm. Staff all very welcoming. Views excellent and garden walk to sea steep but again charming. We have a sea view balcony which gave us an unrivalled view of the air displays in the recent airshow. Shame the view is obscured when we sit down. Can understand high seats would pose a risk for children and that glass will probably be an expensive refurb. I will certainly return.

Stayed: September 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank HDF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Nice location, great kids entertainment in the high season, but the running of the hotel is a shambles. Dirty laundry left in corridors for hours, messed up reservation for one of our group, evening table booking for dinner was not carried from reception to the dining hall, and the breakfast waiters did not want to put 2 tables together for us to sit together in the morning. Not that impressed, and won't hurry back.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Noel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2014

My husband and I stayed at The Chine recently for three nights for his Son's wedding as we no longer live in the area, Unfortunately we should have looked into the hotel first but just presumed it would be a good place to stay and obviously convenient for the reception, sadly the only good thing was the reception!! The gardens and the events area were lovely but the rooms were horrendous - stained bedspreads, filthy carpets, dirty windows, dirty balcony/furniture, tired bathrooms and old and very tired furniture. The double bed was two single mattresses pushed together, we dared not look at the mattresses themselves.
As soon as we saw the room we asked someone to fix the broken tv and his response to the state of the room was that it had recently been renovated and that the owner was closing the hotel in November and that there was nothing to be done. We then also spoke to the front desk and asked if we could have a manager speak to us and to possibly change rooms - we did not even mind if the new room had no sea view or balcony as long as it was clean but we did not even get a response from anyone.
To add insult to injury most of the staff were rude and surly, the bar tenders on the night of the wedding also tried to overcharge us on a round of drinks without even an apology when another barman corrected him on his mistake, as it was the drinks were extremely overpriced.

Someone did mention that we were paying for the location but during the same visit we stayed for two nights (friday and saturday nights too) in club quarters trafalgar square in London which is 2 minutes from trafalgar square itself (our room even had a small view of it) in a regular room (no upgraded sea and balconly like the Chine) for only a few pounds per night more and that hotel was a world apart - it was clean, modern and had excellent, well trained and friendly staff.
To say we are disappointed is an understatement,I could even mention more disappointing aspects of the stay but this is a very long review as it is! there is no excuse for the terrible service and disgusting rooms in this day and age, especially as Bournemouth is a lovely area to visit and has relied on tourism for a long time, a shame the Chine are ripping people off and the FJB hotel chain should re-evaluate the level of service there.
Personally we would rather stay in a clean hotel away from the beach run by people who at least pretend to be helpful than in this hotel ever again. Plus for anyone who has never stayed in the area (we lived in Poole/Bournelmouth for over twenty years) there are plenty of other nicer areas near the beach, Boscombe is far from the best.

Room Tip: choose any other hotel and you will be better off
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank sarah h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I and our two boys ( aged 5 and 6 ) stayed at the Chine Hotel for 3 nights for the duration on the Bournemouth Air Show. Sadly all the other hotels were full so our options were limited.
To say we were disappointed is an understatement!
Booking online we were shown lots of wonderful photos of lovely family rooms, spacious, modern and with beautiful sea views....
Reality..... A room In our opinion that was too small for four people.. Decor.. Reminded us of Grandmas house ( extremely old, tired and in severe need of a complete refurb!)
The carpet was stained and filthy.. My sons socks were black! We had to clean the windows to the beautiful see view before we could appreciate it! The sheets to be fair were clean the bed spreads were old and stained. My sons mattress was stained badly ( we had to turn it over and remake the bed...
The shower and bath were clean but unfortunately the extractor fan wasn't working ( this explained the damp smell throughout the room) clothes in the wardrobe were also damp. The view and balcony were the best thing about this room.. Sadly the chairs on the balcony were filthy too...
The first night we were there on the Thursday,there, was a wedding reception until the early hours. The music was so loud and the language coming from the lawn area was frankly disgusting!
Breakfast was ok just don't have any high expectations! You can't even get a fresh cup of coffee.. It's fairly horrid machine that serves something lukewarm that resembles coffee.
The bar area was lovely but it kind of looks like they have run out of money.
My husband suffered with toothache one day during our stay.. It was a Saturday so I went down to reception to ask if they had a number of a local dentist out of hours that we could phone.
Unhelpful? Yes! I was given a print out of all the dentists within 20miles and not one of them offered an out of hours service? The hotel told me they only keep doctors numbers.
One member of staff on the desk was lovely.. The majority of them clearly didn't want to be there ( but then neither did we!) they were very impolite, surly and obviously hadn't had much training In customer service...
We asked to speak to the manager to raise the above points she was plain rude.. She dismissed everything we said and didn't think it was mis representation that the hotel pictures on the website were very very different from the reality! She didn't care about anything we had concerns with and refused to come up to the room and see them for herself! Would we go back to the chine? Never! Would we recommend? Absolutely not! We paid over £700 for 3 nights in a hotel that is not worth £50.. Next year we will stay at the Marriott where they know how to behave towards their guests..Shame on you Chine hotel.

Stayed: August 2014
4  Thank Jayneh363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

Bought a groupon so wasn't expecting too much boy were we surprised. Small gym but perfectly well equipt, pool and jacussi to ourselves then the outdoor spa hot tub! Was awesome surroundings after all that was expecting a scrimp on the afternoon tea, again we were surprised great food, no scrimping on portions actually couldn't finish it all! All in all a great visit and would definitely go back!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank southamptonscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2014

We came in January 2014 got a lovely sea view room... The food was great... The staff was lovely..


Expecting the same we booked 3 months in advance (June) for a sea view room again for august. And we given a supposedly a sea view room with a massive mesh covering the view.


Am really disappointed.... Will not be coming again.

Room Tip: Be very very specific....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.7 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 66 in Bournemouth
192 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
0.7 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,539 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#11 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,572 reviews
0.6 mi away
Elstead Hotel
Elstead Hotel
#20 of 66 in Bournemouth
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chine Hotel

Address: 25 Boscombe Spa Road, Bournemouth BH5 1AX, England (Formerly FJB Collection - The Chine)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range: £61 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chine Hotel is a charming and affordable seaside destination, just a stone’s throw away from Bournemouth beach. Set in three acres of tranquil private gardens where you can escape for the day with a book, or meander your way through to the golden sandy beach. The Chine Hotel is a humble setting by the sea. Offering outdoor pool and well-appointed bedrooms, most with sea and garden views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing