We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than expected”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Chine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Chine Hotel
Ranked #27 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2010

More like a 4* than 3* hotel. We stayed in a clean and spacious room that had the unexpected bonus of a sea view. The food was good and breakfast varied. We loved the old fashioned cage lift! Last but not least the staff were very helpful and friendly. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Triton_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

953 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    364
    391
    114
    48
    36
See reviews for
287
440
27
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
isle of wight
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2010

The room was comfortable enough, although because of the nature of the seats (plastic) it was not comfortable to sit in them for very long. Also the television picture was atrocious, and although reported (and the manager came to have a look for himself) nothing was done about it. Surely it must be possible for a modern hotel to ensure their guests have a good picture on a television set. Some channels were impossible to watch and even the BBC and ITV had absolutely awful pictures.

The other big complaint was the price of food and drink, far far too expensive, especially when you consider we stayed for a week, we just could not afford to eat there and made sure we had a meal out every day.

Also, although breakfast was plentiful, it was always always cold, the best one could expect was a lukewarm breakfast, which - with the best will in the world - is not nice to eat.

All in all, the hotel could be very good if the above points were dealt with.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2010

Having read reviews about the hotel we decided we would give it a try and stay over in Bournemouth where we were going to a concert at the BIC. We booked the Autumn break special 2 days before we went. The welcome we received from all the staff was excellent and they were so helpful with everything we asked. We were given a sea view room which had been refurbised - it had everything, was spotlessly clean and so comfortable - particularly the bed. We had a light meal in the bar late afternoon and a hearty breakfast the following morning. The food was very good and plenty of it for us. The hotel has great character and all the general areas were clean and seating very comfortable. All this for a B&B price of £52.95! It is also a great location. Will we go again - you bet we will!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UkAlan_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester,England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2010

This is a nice hotel with a very grand entrance and an excellent bar and restaurant; The bedrooms have had a refurb in a contempory style and have a plasma tv although the picture was not all that great but that was the only downside. Breakfast is buffet style and had an excellent choice. I must admit that from reading the more negative reviews I was a little concerned as to the standard of the hotel but I found nothing at all like those, it was all good.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank firthy246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2010

I was really pleasantly suprised by The Chine. Although only 3 star, it was clean, stylishly furnished, with good food, and the staff were universally friendly and helpful.

We stayed for 3 days during half term with our 5 year old twins, and shared a family suite in the West Wing (room 14). This consisted of a huge, recently refurshed room overlooking the gardens, with a small interconnecting room with bunk beds for the kids, and a modest but acceptable bathroom.

The hotel has lots of facilities for children including an indoor pool, soft play area, outdoor climbing frames, table tennis and snooker room. It also lays on children's entertainment during the school holidays, from 10am til 12 noon, and from 7pm til 9pm. This latter slot was perfect, as the kids were well entertained, allowing us to enjoy a lovely meal in the restaurant - the children were provided with their tea at 5pm, which always had a good choice of hot foods.

The location is spot on, with just a short stoll through the gardens down to the beach. This would have been challenging with a push-chair, as it involved quite a few steps, but for a couple of lively 5 years olds, the walk through the beautifully laid out gardens was a mini-adventure.

The staff were almost all foreign, but don't let this put you off. They were universally articulate, charming, helpful and always available. I couldn't fault them at all.

A few other reviewers have mentioned the high costs of drinks, especially coffee and wine, which is true, and slightly disappointing. However, coffee and tea making facilities were provided in the room for free.

Overall, I was very pleasantly surprised by how good the hotel was, and we would certianly go again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VCK2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2010

Stayed here for one night this weekend, having booked it very last minute on Friday. Booked a double room for myself and my fiance, on their promotion Autumn Escape and added breakfast and what a bargain at £52 in total! When we arrived, pleasantly greeted by the reception staff, who informed us immediately that we had been given a complimentary upgrade to one of their Seaview Suites!! Room massive (room 201), stunning view in the morning, huge bathroom and massive and very comfortable queen size bed!!! Ate in their Gallary Restaurant, and both had the Rib Eye steak which was cooked to perfection - simply melted in our mouths followed off by their desserts to die for! Couldn't fault the meal but had to return to our room and drink the wine we fortunately brought with us as their cheapest house red/rose was £20+ per bottle!! Breakfast the following morning is a help yourself buffet breakfast with a huge selection of whatever you want really!!!
Pros - Excellent service, excellent rooms, lovely decor throughout, meals wow
Cons - didn't have enough time to make use of the leisure facilities there so will defo be returning!!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank piercy79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, U.K.
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2010

We held our wedding reception at The Chine on the 3rd September. It was,obviously, the best day of our lives anyway but I cannot express how impressed everyone was with everything from the food to the gardens.We were greeted by the assistant manager,Tom, when we first arrived and he continued to treat us like royalty for the rest of the day. The food we had was the best I have ever had at any similar function.There was tons of it, and so much choice.we were upgraded to one of the best rooms which had a beautiful view of the gardens and the sea. The bed was very comfy and the room was spacious. we had a champagne breakfast in the morning, which was amazing.It was a cooked buffet breakfast so you could get as much as you wanted, and it was all fresh and hot. Every single guest that attended commented on what a beautiful hotel it was, some spending over an hour just walking in the hotel garden.
Next to the Pineview ballroom is a small soft play area for children, which everyone can use, with an outside play area as well.
The staff were all so helpful and friendly, even if we were just popping in to pay money. The poor barman kept the bar open for us until 4am as there were so many of us left!
We looked around a great deal of hotels before booking our wedding, and have been to quite a few this year for friend's weddings and I can honestly say this hotel was the best for food, scenery,cleanliness and staff. Yes the only downside is that the drinks are expensive, but it is part of a chain which has the rest of it's hotels in Sandbanks!
I would recommend this hotel one hundred times over. Thanks to all the staff.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LucyLovebug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.7 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,333 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
2.5 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#38 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,858 reviews
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chine Hotel

Property: The Chine Hotel
Address: 25 Boscombe Spa Road, Bournemouth BH5 1AX, England (Formerly FJB Collection - The Chine)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Chine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly positioned overlooking Bournemouth’s Surf Reef at the edge of West Overcliff. The Chine Hotel is set in three acres of secluded, mature gardens, with magnificent unspoilt sea views and within easy access to the beach and reef. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Lastminute, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Chine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing