We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT SERVICE & FOOD”
Review of Hotel Miramar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Miramar
Ranked #13 of 67 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Lovely old building in excellent position with views over the sea. Nicely kept gardens. Main public area's were clean and well kept. We had a large room with a shared balcony and walk in shower. The size was great, but furniture and general decor was a bit tired and bed a bit springy. Shower room was too small. Service was excellent and other facilities in the room great. Food in the excellent dining room was very good, service the best and staff were both well dressed, helpful and very curteous. Would be nice if the decor was updated, but will definately come back again. Warning my mother is disabled, she has a small scooter, these do not fit in the lift, so we had to leave it in the reception, and she had to use her walker to get upstairs. Also the scooter didn't fit into the lift that took you down to the beach level.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PrincessAlice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (820)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

764 - 770 of 820 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2011

think the reviewer before me said it all! great exterior, location, however interior was very tatty. Our room had sweat stains on bed, earwig in bath, ripped upholstery on chair, light fitting hanging off - to the point where I really didn't look forward to getting into bed that night! and £130 for pleasure. Very poor.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank neileggybreadly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Gloomy second floor with narrow corridors. Room faded and in need of refurb. No wifi.Felt like a throwback to 70's in public areas. Fixed table allocation in dining room and food v. Average. Good car parking and superb position with lovely garden facing the sea at front promises much more than hotel delivers.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Xplane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

The hotel handled our civil partnership beautifully; our each and every need wasn't any trouble for the hotels, attentive, polite and friendly staff.

The restaurant was stunningly decorated, the food fantastic with all guests requirements catered for, and all tables served within minutes of each other. Re the review underneath about the layout of the room; yes there is a section off of the main room where you can't see the head table, however the couples are shown the room prior to the wedding, plus table plan, so they would have known. It's no hardship to stand up for a few minutes, is it?

Our evening reception was also held in the Miramar; and was again superb. We opted for a hog roast which worked out perfectly as it encouraged a relaxed evening where everybody could help themselves.

The hotel is beautiful, set in a stunning location on top of the Eastcliff. I would recommend it to anybody considering a celebration in Bournemouth!

Room Tip: Book early to get a balcony room facing the ocean :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EdBournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2011

I decided to stay at this hotel as I was attending a Civil Partnership Ceremony which was being held there. I thought it would be nice to have a room where I could ‘freshen up’ and change between the daytime and evening events and then stay overnight.

The setting for the Ceremony in the lovely grounds of the hotel was quite stunning with views out to sea. The gardens are very well maintained and perfect for such an event.

The food and service at both the Wedding Breakfast and evening ‘Hog Roast’ was excellent as was the service provided by the staff.

As with any celebration there was a fair bit to drink and all I will say is that a popular brand of vodka seemed weaker than usual. I will leave you to draw your own conclusions on that one!

My room however was far from excellent. There was a funny smell as soon as you entered the room but it was hard to tell what it was. The general decor looked tired in places with ‘make do’ wallpaper repairs and what looked like ‘gaffer tape’ round the smoke detector. There was also a very visible crack right across the ceiling. The sofa and chair had stains on them as did the stool by the writing desk/dressing table. One of the lampshades was also badly marked. Certain areas of the room hadn't seen a duster for sometime either. The bathroom wasn’t much better with a botched repair to a hole in the bath and grime marks around the bath handles.

There was no additional lock or chain on the Room door for privacy and the key fob was tatty to say the least.

The room was priced at £91 inclusive of single supplement and full breakfast. This was supposedly a ‘discounted rate’ as I was part of the wedding party - I hate to think what the full price was but it certainly wasn’t worth it as far as the room goes.

The public areas of the hotel and grounds are well maintained but more attention is definitely needed when it comes to the guest rooms.

Room Tip: Room 119 very noise if you decide to open the window as the air conditioning units are located just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flyboi47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

Having been a guest at a wedding reception may I say the food was excellent, hot and served quickly unfortunatley the table layout left a lot to be desired due to the room shape. Many guests could not see the top table and on speaking to the manager he claimed it was cleared with the bride and groom ( which they claim it was not ). No apology was offered but the unforgivable thing was a ' head waitress ' who decided to butt in on a private conversation I was having with the manager. She then not only raised her voice to myself and another guest but raised the palms of her hands to us as if to say ' go away' and then began arguing then walked away without a by your leave. Such a shame for the Hotel as if it had not been for her I would recommend it to others but not now!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vonnie-Bri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

We got out booked to this hotel by the Menzies east cliff hotel just up the road, so never planned to stay here. The hotel is ok probably but not somewhere we would normally choose to stay. We ended up in I think a superior room, it had a huge balcony with seating and excellent sea views (definately worth it) the room was huge too although the bathroom ( with no bath) was tiny.
My main criticism is the strong smell in the bedroom, it reminded me of my Nans house or more to the point an old people's home. The general cleanliness is good, but the hotel is just a littte too old fashioned for us and a little dated, if I am honest i think we are a little too young to appreciate the hotels charms!
Breakfast was a funny affair, we stood and waited at the entrance for a few minutes then when no one approached took a seat at the back of the room. A few minutes later a lady came over to take our room number, she couldn't not find us on the room list so rushed off to find the supervisor, seconds later she was back. She quickly ushered us off the table to a separate room and made us sit by the window (personally I was quite happy were I was) but as we had a superior room that was where we had to sit! It was all quite amusing. Breakfast was ok choice of cereals, grapefruit, and croissants. The hot breakfast was plated but don't ask for anything that isn't on the menu as you will be shot down in flames as the gentleman sitting on the next table learnt to his cost! (sausage, bacon, eggs, mushrooms, toms and fried bread only)

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TMC_london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.3 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 67 in Bournemouth
3,616 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 67 in Bournemouth
219 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#3 of 67 in Bournemouth
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
0.7 mi away
Langtry Manor Hotel
Langtry Manor Hotel
#1 of 67 in Bournemouth
940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Miramar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miramar

Address: E Overcliff Dr, Bournemouth BH1 3AL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: £68 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Miramar 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is 2 minutes walk from the beach. Hotel Miramar is an Edwardian building featuring Roman inspired pillars and curved balconies that overlook the sea and the landscaped gardens. Located less than a mile from Bournemouth town centre and offering free Wi-Fi and free private parking. The award-winning chef serves such delights as Tempura Prawns and Roasted Cannon of Lamb from the seaview restaurant, as well as a traditional Sunday lunch. Afternoon tea including sandwiches and scones are offered from the Ocean Bar and Terrace, as well as a lighter lunch menu. All rooms at the Miramar offer either sea or garden views and some room types feature large private balconies. All rooms include a flat-screen TV with Freeview, tea/coffee making facilities, as well as a seating area and a tiled en suite bathroom. Bournemouth Rail Station is located within a mile of the hotel and the sea front can be reached within 5 minutes on foot. Sandbanks, a popular and prestigious peninsula in England, is just a 15-minute drive away. This is our guests' favorite part of Bournemouth, according to independent reviews. This property is also rated for the best value in Bournemouth! Guests are getting more for their money when compared to other properties in this city. We speak your language! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia, LateRooms and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Miramar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miramar Hotel Bournemouth
Bournemouth Hotel Miramar
Miramar Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing