We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional style hotel, v comfortable, breakfast disappointing”
Review of Hotel Miramar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Miramar
Ranked #13 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 February 2013

Stayed in this hotel for one night, a double and 2 singles. The rooms were clean and tidy and I found the bed comfortable though we all had to switch off our radiators and open the windows as the rooms were stifling when we arrived (though it was cold and wet outside). Public areas also overheated. We are not elderly and it may be that many residents feel the cold more than us.

We didn't eat in the restaurant in the evening though had breakfast. Initially they wanted to seat us seperately as the restaurant staff did not know that the 3 rooms were booked together. I think we were lucky that someone had just vacated a table for 4. Always look forward to a full English when away as rare at home but this was disappointing, as the elements were not very good quality especially the sausage and mushrooms (tinned?). Miniscle fried bread. The scrambled egg was good and freshly made but overall not a very generous plate of food.

Generally we found the staff to be polite and helpful, no problems with service. The hotel was attractive and well furnished (and we were excited to find that JRR Tolkein had spent many holidays there). We would probably stay again if the right price as more comfortable and a better service than a chain hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caruffle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (791)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

671 - 677 of 791 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2013

We have stayed at the Miramar before about four years ago and this time went for two days. Our room was very nice but the bed was incredibly hard - which meant we didn't sleep at all well for both nights - the hotel was also extremely hot in the public areas - and despite turning the heater off in our room and opening windows it was still a bit stifling! Internet access was very random with a weak signal.

Our first evening meal was very good but the service rushed us through - so rather than having a leisurely meal we had practically finished within half an hour! As soon as we had ordered, the food arrived, the minute we put our cutlery down the plate was removed and the next course brought out - it was even faster on the second night! Yet on the second morning at breakfast we were left waiting for ages to even order and when I eventually managed to call someone over - they weren't exactly friendly! The food was good though.

However, our main 'gripe' was that on the first evening our car (along with a couple of others) was broken into - with quite a lot stolen - whilst parked in the Hotel carpark. We were really surprised and whilst the police were great and the Hotel reasonably helpful - they did not once apologise or try and make up for this upset in anyway at all. I know it was not their fault that we had our car broken into but basic customer service would have been to at least apologise to us and recognise that this greatly upset our stay and our experience.

So I am afraid a big thumbs down for complete lack of customer service. It was obvious that we were just another 'number' in the Hotel (e.g. the habit of always giving you the same table - which is annoying and dull!) rather than actual people.

Needless to say we will never go back....we have stayed all over in big cities and small villages and never once have we had a problem with security re: our car - so it's just not worth the risk.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a newer bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank maggie e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

Just got home from yet another stay at the Miramar, what a lovely friendly hotel it is, I just love staying there. My room had a balcony that overlooked Poole Bay which is beautiful, it was tasfully furnished and the bathroom was first class. The meal times were a truly special with exciting menu's that always capture you taste buds, cooked well and served by attentive staff.
I have also spent a Christmas at this Hotel and it was one of my happiest memories, I would like to go again but I can't get a room as the regulars go year after year!
This Hotel so deserves to be 4 star.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front overlooking the sea are breathtaking, but anyway it's not a noisy hotel and I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolscott7302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013 via mobile

All I can really say, is if you're considering a stay at this wonderful hotel then book it!!

I had the day of dreams on my wedding day, August 18th 2012, and I really could not have wanted more from my experience. Throughout the entire booking and planning process, the staff were amazing and very professional. My wedding coordinator, David (with the help of Brett) was second to none, not only with the wedding package itself, but with recommendations of various wedding retailers, of which I used a few and passed details to others that I knew who were getting married.

The wedding day was outstanding and I couldn't have wished for a better day. Everything was exactly how I'd hoped it was and more!! The rooms are spacious and cleaned to a very high standard and the hotel itself is decorated beautifully with stunning Edwardian features. The staff were all polite, helpful and very welcoming to all our guests, and many of our guests even remarked about the service they'd received and how impressed they were. The food is outstanding and I didn't see plates with food left at the end of the wedding breakfast!! Even better, is the wonderful breakfast service, freshly made cooked breakfasts, pastries, fruit, cereals and much more made the morning experience as wonderful as the day previous. Thank you to the chefs and serving staff who worked so hard on our special day and then again in the morning :)

All in all, I don't normally EVER write reviews, but this experience has made me want to shout about it, if you're thinking of staying at the Hotel Miramar or getting married there the I seriously would recommend it, I genuinely could not have had a better wedding day-thank you to everyone who helped make it as beautiful as it was, and a special thank you to David. We will certainly be visiting again soon!!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenni86W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2012

Just returned from our 4th stay at this lovely hotel. Have only stayed for one night on each occasion after Company xmas do but, felt that it deserves a decent review. Location is good, less than 1/2 mile from shops and pier. Stayed in Room 217, very spacious (is a family room but only booked a double). It was very clean and well appointed with tea/coffee facilities, tv, trouser press, and toiletries in bathroom with one of those "rainforest" sized showerheads. Much better than a lot of 4 stars in London. Easy book in and checkout. Staff very friendly, efficient and helpful. Breakfast served in the room was on time and still piping hot. Is very popular for weddings etc so advice would be to check with hotel if you want to avoid these. Total cost for the room and breakfast for the two of us was £70

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stevemcguinness1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2012

We have stayed at different hotels in the area. We stayed at the hotel twice. This one is simply one of the best AA 3* hotels in B'mouth. Clean and elegant. The room breakfast service is superb. The hotel staff are very helpful. They brought an additional heater in the middle of the night moments after I asked for one. If a room is available, I wouldn't hesitate to go back for my next trip to Miramar.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JagT80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2012

Unfortunately two other groups were booked at the same lunchtime. While the food was very good the service left much to be desired. In between courses the wait seemed so long. Sitting down for 1pm, by 2pm we had reached the main course. At 3.15pm coffee had not been served. This is unacceptable for a hotel of this standing.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.3 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#11 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,571 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 66 in Bournemouth
191 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
0.4 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,065 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Bournemouth
Hilton Bournemouth
#14 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Miramar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miramar

Address: E Overcliff Dr, Bournemouth BH1 3AL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#10 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: £87 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Miramar 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is 2 minutes walk from the beach. Hotel Miramar is an Edwardian building featuring Roman inspired pillars and curved balconies that overlook the sea and the landscaped gardens. Located less than a mile from Bournemouth town centre and offering free Wi-Fi and free private parking. The award-winning chef serves such delights as Tempura Prawns and Roasted Cannon of Lamb from the seaview restaurant, as well as a traditional Sunday lunch. Afternoon tea including sandwiches and scones are offered from the Ocean Bar and Terrace, as well as a lighter lunch menu. All rooms at the Miramar offer either sea or garden views and some room types feature large private balconies. All rooms include a flat-screen TV with Freeview, tea/coffee making facilities, as well as a seating area and a tiled en suite bathroom. Bournemouth Rail Station is located within a mile of the hotel and the sea front can be reached within 5 minutes on foot. Sandbanks, a popular and prestigious peninsula in England, is just a 15-minute drive away. This is our guests' favorite part of Bournemouth, according to independent reviews. This property is also rated for the best value in Bournemouth! Guests are getting more for their money when compared to other properties in this city. We speak your language! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your Hotel Miramar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miramar Hotel Bournemouth
Bournemouth Hotel Miramar
Miramar Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing