We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Hotel Miramar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Miramar
Ranked #12 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We visited here, but didnt stay, for the "Red Garden Party" , from the start the staffing levels were low ( 1 person on the bar everytime we tried to get a drink) we were seated outside (to be expected for a garden party) on cheap plastic chairs & with NO source of heat or light nearby as the evening set in. The "hog roast" was cold when we received it as was the jacket potato, and as previously mentioned as the natural light faded we couldnt see what we were eating.
We retreated indoors when the situation got too much, and the queues at the bar were very long.
Although the location of this hotel is good, its attention to detail when hosting an event leaves much to be desired.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank t1gerly12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (827)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

643 - 649 of 827 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2013

Visited but didn't stay for a family wedding over August bank holiday, beautiful venue in a lovely setting backed up by the charismatic and comical young Aaron who worked like a dog all day with a smile on his face. The food and drink were faultless and the staff couldn't do enough to please , overall a really lovely wedding I would definitely recommend it.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank Finlaysmummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Stayed one night as part of friends wedding. On arrival looking around at 42 I was younger than most of their visitors and there was a sense of stepping back in time. Some of the decor looked like it needed updating

The staff were very helpful especially the younger ones.
Breakfast was good. Lovely to have kippers.

the real plus of this hotel is the view. sitting outside there is a great view of the sea and you are only 5 minutes from Bournemouth's golden sands

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MattR1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

You won't see anybody from "Fawlty Towers" here. You may see a "Miss Marple" I grant you but that's another story. Actually J R R Tolkien, he of The Hobbit and Lord of the rings used to stay here every year on working holidays. I live in Bournemouth and I was only here, with my wife for Sunday lunch. I can also tell you that this is one of the few Bournemouth hotels that do very well indeed for business at lunch time and not because it is cheap, it isn't. Lunch is four courses, at the moment for £18 or so, it is always well presented and served in a professional but friendly manner, just stand at the entrance to the restaurant and the young man who seats you and takes your wine order will look after you and hand you over to your waiter who will continue the good work. The dessert table is quite something but today I chose bread and butter pudding which is actually "brioche" and quite delicious. You can then move to the lounge area, near the hotel front door or the garden for tea or coffee. The young lady who serves you is also good and you may notice that she remembers how many of her customers like their drinks to be served which I think is very good indeed. The garden itself is absolutely gorgeous and a joy to behold. This is a first class place to sit to see the firework display on the pier at 10.00 pm on Friday nights and to see the air displays which take place for four days at the end of August. This includes the "red arrows". Sadly a memorial stands in front of The Carlton Hotel, designed by local children, for the young pilot who was killed two or three years back.

A real must for you to visit before you leave what must be arguably one the most beautiful bays in the world is The Russell-Cotes Museum. This was the home to two intrepid travellers who brought the most incredible things back to England for us all to marvel at. Note as you walk down the slope to the per head all the "fun art" in the iron railings.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ericBournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

my family and I stayed here for the ninth year running. We do stay all over the c ountry the rest of the year.... We have always been made to feel welcome at The Miramar. This year the food and our rooms fine staff all efficient and friendly, location and views perfect..The only advice I would offer check you do not have a room over the function room if a wedding etc taking place. Its up yo you recommends this on web site

Room Tip: Sea view with balcony worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Two nights stay in an ocean view double room without balcony. Clean and serviceable but seriously "fuddy-duddy". Kept waiting for The Major to pop up and for Sybil to start yelling "Basil" , just as in Faulty Towers! Bathroom was badly designed if not dangerous considering the average age of clients is probably around 80 years old. The tiny amount of water that came out of shower made ablutions difficult and hair washing out of the question. Staff were polite and courteous but not particularly efficient. Breakfast in the dining room was incredibly slow and the atmosphere similar to that in a funeral parlor. Decor is old fashioned with heavy drapes and thick carpets, unlike the bathroom towels which were thin and mismatching. The only positives were the location, the view and garden - note that these are all outside!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank 22Globetrotter21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Just stopped at the Hotel Miramar for another year with the family. Have to say sitting in the garden with a cool beer is the best place to be as passers by are stunned by the beauty of the Hotel gardens I was fortunate enough to be staying in.

Staff are professional, courteous and helpful. Quality of the restaurant food is amazing as well as the service from the waiters.

Highly recommend it to anyone planning a visit to Bournemouth

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are worth the money as you get a private balcony and a breath taking view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Surinder S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.3 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,648 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#3 of 66 in Bournemouth
941 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 66 in Bournemouth
227 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Miramar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miramar

Address: East Cliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: £59 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Miramar 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is 2 minutes walk from the beach. Hotel Miramar is an Edwardian building featuring Roman inspired pillars and curved balconies that overlook the sea and the landscaped gardens. Located less than a mile from Bournemouth town centre and offering free Wi-Fi and free private parking. The award-winning chef serves such delights as Tempura Prawns and Roasted Cannon of Lamb from the seaview restaurant, as well as a traditional Sunday lunch. Afternoon tea including sandwiches and scones are offered from the Ocean Bar and Terrace, as well as a lighter lunch menu. All rooms at the Miramar offer either sea or garden views and some room types feature large private balconies. All rooms include a flat-screen TV with Freeview, tea/coffee making facilities, as well as a seating area and a tiled en suite bathroom. Bournemouth Rail Station is located within a mile of the hotel and the sea front can be reached within 5 minutes on foot. Sandbanks, a popular and prestigious peninsula in England, is just a 15-minute drive away. This is our guests' favorite part of Bournemouth, according to independent reviews. This property is also rated for the best value in Bournemouth! Guests are getting more for their money when compared to other properties in this city. We speak your language! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your Hotel Miramar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miramar Hotel Bournemouth
Bournemouth Hotel Miramar
Miramar Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing