We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was it worth the wait???”
Review of Hotel Miramar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Miramar
Ranked #13 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

We were staying with our friends who once again were very kindly
taking us for Sunday lunch to The Miramar.After a good start, a long wait between the second course and the main meal arriving (approx 40 mins).When this was queried the waitress was quite defensive with her reply rather than apologetic and when I said my roast beef was difficult to cut and I requested a steak knife I was told that was because I was cutting the two slices of beef together!!!
When the bill was being paid ,we mentioned about the slow service, purely for feedback to the restaurant and once again the response was rather defensive .
Overall still a very enjoyable
experience but maybe a little "customer care" wouldn't come amiss!!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Evenhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (808)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

609 - 615 of 808 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2013

We had a very enjoyable family birthday celebration in August using the Oak Room. It opened on to a pleasant garden area which our guests were able to use before the meal was served. The set lunchtime menu proved to be good value and was served quickly and efficiently. Throughout the party the service was attentive but unobtrusive. We would definitely recommend this hotel for such an event.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Our first visit to the Miramar was on the weekend of the Bournemouth Air Show - one of the busiest weekends in Bournemouth. We'd booked in for breakfast on the day of our arrival and we were greeted by name (before we had even said who we were). We had a leisurely breakfast in the light and airy dining room overlooking the gardens and sea and then wandered out onto the terrace to read the papers in the sunshine. We eventually settled in some chairs on the lawn to await the start of the air show. The staff were very helpful and we were given a warm welcome.
The Miramar is the best place to be to watch the air display. Comfortable seating on the lawns and a superb view of the planes and the ships at sea, they also did a brilliant commentary on the air show. The Red Arrows seem to fly past at eye level and you sit there with all the comforts of home, food and drinks available and you don't end up with sand in all your little crevices!
Our room was overlooking the car park: it was quiet, had good facilities (tea making, iron, toiletries etc) and was very comfortable.
We stayed on for Sunday lunch and met up with some friends. The food was good, but the service was a little slow. Our friends, who regularly dine in the restaurant assured us that the service was usually very good. The piano playing in the background added to the elegant atmosphere and we had an enjoyable meal.
The Miramar is a family run hotel and we found it to be a comfortable hotel where they strive to provide a high quality, traditional style of service in elegant surroundings. We forward to staying at the Miramar again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Just returned from a stay in Bournemouth and this very nice hotel. Most of the staff are so friendly pleasant and helpful especially on reception and the public rooms are comfortable.The sea view from some rooms and the terrace is superb and so restful. We ate in the restaurant on one evening and although the choice is limited you have a 3 course meal and coffee in the lounge for £30. The food was ok ,nothing special,I had Melon,an omelette with vegetables and lemon tart with cream. The service left something to be desired,our waiter was quite rude and did not tells how the system worked ,ie you have to go to the buffet trolley out side the restaurant to chose your desert,or that coffee ,which is on the menu is not served in the dining room. Small things but a little more communication would have made it just a bit better. The breakfast was excellent , a good selection and the hot food freshly cooked. All in all a very pleasant experience,lovely reception staff,and a comfortable room at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ejd139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We had an Old Boys Reunion at this hotel and the first thing that struck us was that the car park was full. There was a golden wedding and Sunday Lunch which accounted for the crowd and, indeed the food was quite good whilst we were there. Our room needed some tlc but was very clean and quite spacious. All meals were served by pleasant waitresses and reception were helpful. There is a plethora of such hotels in Bournemouth so we enjoyed a very good rate.

Room Tip: Book a sea view with balcony room so that you have both a view and an option to open the window as t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miloj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

our stay would have been perfect except for the very hard bed, which left me fairly crippled by morning! Everything else is first class, very professional staff, excellent food and service.The car park is very handy and easy to access .Free WIFI was welcome!

Room Tip: the only drawback is very hard beds!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jean c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

we have had a weekend stay @ the Miramar every November for @ least the last 10 years.
Staff are friendly & helpful ( even lent me an Iron & Ironing Board on one occasion) they made my children feel special. The food is delicious, rooms are clean & comfortable although sometimes a little too warm.
Being situated on East Overcliff Drive gives a great view.
If you want fine Dining in a pleasant, calm atmosphere I thoroughly it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.3 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,594 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#19 of 66 in Bournemouth
206 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
0.5 mi away
Hilton Bournemouth
Hilton Bournemouth
#15 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,152 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#4 of 66 in Bournemouth
922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Miramar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miramar

Address: E Overcliff Dr, Bournemouth BH1 3AL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#10 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: £76 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Miramar 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is 2 minutes walk from the beach. Hotel Miramar is an Edwardian building featuring Roman inspired pillars and curved balconies that overlook the sea and the landscaped gardens. Located less than a mile from Bournemouth town centre and offering free Wi-Fi and free private parking. The award-winning chef serves such delights as Tempura Prawns and Roasted Cannon of Lamb from the seaview restaurant, as well as a traditional Sunday lunch. Afternoon tea including sandwiches and scones are offered from the Ocean Bar and Terrace, as well as a lighter lunch menu. All rooms at the Miramar offer either sea or garden views and some room types feature large private balconies. All rooms include a flat-screen TV with Freeview, tea/coffee making facilities, as well as a seating area and a tiled en suite bathroom. Bournemouth Rail Station is located within a mile of the hotel and the sea front can be reached within 5 minutes on foot. Sandbanks, a popular and prestigious peninsula in England, is just a 15-minute drive away. This is our guests' favorite part of Bournemouth, according to independent reviews. This property is also rated for the best value in Bournemouth! Guests are getting more for their money when compared to other properties in this city. We speak your language! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your Hotel Miramar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miramar Hotel Bournemouth
Bournemouth Hotel Miramar
Miramar Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing