We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant one night stay.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Miramar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Miramar
Ranked #9 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
sussex
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Pleasant one night stay.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

My wife and I recently stayed for one night on a dinner bed and breakfast basis at the Miramar.Although we had been to the hotel for tea on several occasions,this was the first time we stayed.
Reception staff were very friendly and helpful and our room,a standard double was warm and comfortable, although the bed was a little hard for my liking it suited my wife.The bathroom was a tad on the small side but was well equipped and even the shower was ok........a bit of a rarity in many hotels.
We enjoyed our dinner and the food was efficiently served and very tasty with decent sized portions.We also enjoyed a complimentary bottle of wine having signed up to the hotel's Privilege Card.Coffee and mints were served in the lounge.
We ordered early morning tea in our room which was supplied at no charge.....again a nice and rare touch.Breakfast was good especially the generous sized portions of smoked haddock with poached eggs.
A friendly farewell and check-out at reception and we were on our way.
One small point was the bar service before dinner.A bit hit and miss we thought and a smile or two wouldn't go amiss!
In summary,a very pleasant cosy hotel offering a high degree of comfort and good food at a very reasonable price.Good parking too.
We shall return.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    434
    172
    64
    33
    20
See reviews for
173
269
34
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

I would rate this hotel very high on my list of likes. It is in a great location overlooking Bournemouth Bay, up high on the East Cliff. You can walk into Bournemouth for a great shopping experience, and eat in the restaurant at night, which we found very good. My daughter had her wedding here in 2010 and everything was perfect. We stayed again a while ago, and found everything was just as good. The rooms are very comfortable and the staff friendly, helpful and welcoming. The public rooms are very comfortable and traditional, and there is plenty of parking at the back. We will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: There are two very large rooms on either wing over the semi circular bays, with beautiful balconies...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clearaschristal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

The day of my daughter's wedding August 2013 was spoilt by the lack of communication and support in the absence of the main organiser, who was on holiday, resulting in my daughter in tears in the morning. We didn't get everything we asked for or paid for and we intended to withhold the balance until after the honeymoon, but in the meantime the money had already been deducted from her account by the hotel. Individual disappointments too numerous to mention. Would not recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patsy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

My wife and I spent a crash out BB&D weekend at the Miramar, what a lovely time we had great and attentive staff in reception, bar and restaurant and the management wasn't bad either, lovely presented served breakfast, afternoon tea we had delicious sandwiches and more tea than you could drink, the two evening meals were excellent and nicely presented our room a sea view was very comfortable although the bed a little hard for us, but of course preferred by others, my only complaint is with Bournemouth Hotels including the Miramar is the lack of a decent beer, cream flow beer is always gassy unless you are respectfully a northerner, who like a beer head like a floater coffee or bigger even a choice of bottle beer would be nice, and no I don't want Guinness pored from a can and please would hotels explain to staff if an Englishman asks what beer they have, we generally mean ale and don't want to be offered lager or cider I wouldn't hopefully expect to be offered a whiskey if I asked for a brandy (there I have got that off my chest) however I will rate this hotel with the full 5 stars as the ale problem is a national hotel problem and staff need to be trained the difference.

Room Tip: The sea view rooms are a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

This weekend was spent at the Miramar Bournemouth posh do Saturday was DJ & long dresses for the ladies, The staff were very helpful as my wife & I had to stay in a difference hotel. the Miramar picked us up & drops us back when needed, The food was top class as well as the staff. Must go back in the summer to enjoy the sea views & maybe a cream tea on the veranda.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the sea give great views in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

Following a sad funeral, we really appreciated the splendid afternoon tea. An delicious spread, good value and warm friendly welcome. It was served in their spacious lounge and were looked Thank you for cheering us up on a cold damp day.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank GillySouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

Stayed for four nights with four friends and in their words, "the stay was memorable". Greeted with a bottle of champagne and fresh fruit and a lovely room and bathroom. Each night we enjoyed a cocktail party and canapes and wonderful food. David, Jane (and Mum) make everyone feel special. Presents every night on our pillow add to the excitement. The New Year black tie dinner and dance in the garden room was spectacular and beautifully decorated.and the Mama Mia singing group perfect for our age group. Dancing to a different group each evening. Top marks for wonderful , polite and caring staff all reflecting good management.

Room Tip: Rooms vary in size and location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.3 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,334 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Park Central Hotel
Park Central Hotel
#7 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
0.7 mi away
Derby Manor Hotel
Derby Manor Hotel
#1 of 66 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Miramar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miramar

Property: Hotel Miramar
Address: E Overcliff Dr, Bournemouth BH1 3AL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#7 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#10 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Miramar 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is 2 minutes walk from the beach. Hotel Miramar is an Edwardian building featuring Roman inspired pillars and curved balconies that overlook the sea and the landscaped gardens. Located less than a mile from Bournemouth town centre and offering free Wi-Fi and free private parking. The award-winning chef serves such delights as Tempura Prawns and Roasted Cannon of Lamb from the seaview restaurant, as well as a traditional Sunday lunch. Afternoon tea including sandwiches and scones are offered from the Ocean Bar and Terrace, as well as a lighter lunch menu. All rooms at the Miramar offer either sea or garden views and some room types feature large private balconies. All rooms include a flat-screen TV with Freeview, tea/coffee making facilities, as well as a seating area and a tiled en suite bathroom. Bournemouth Rail Station is located within a mile of the hotel and the sea front can be reached within 5 minutes on foot. Sandbanks, a popular and prestigious peninsula in England, is just a 15-minute drive away. This is our guests' favorite part of Bournemouth, according to independent reviews. This property is also rated for the best value in Bournemouth! Guests are getting more for their money when compared to other properties in this city. We speak your language! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Miramar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miramar Hotel Bournemouth
Bournemouth Hotel Miramar
Miramar Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing