We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Anniversary visit”
Review of Hotel Miramar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Miramar
Ranked #15 of 67 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We returned to the Miramar in January 2014 for our first wedding anniversary as our family had enjoyed it so much when we all went following our wedding the year before. We were sad that Sue from reception had retired but it was nice to see Martin and Jane B and Lyn and a few more familiar faces were all still there and very welcoming as usual. We were concerned to hear that a wedding was taking place on the Saturday, as we have had bad experiences with wedding parties and their guests in the past, but this was a "Well-behaved" wedding so we were able to enjoy our stay. The only thing that did make things difficult was a funeral party in the Terrace Lounge on the Friday afternoon. This meant that any residents staying around the hotel and several people who had booked in for lunch and afternoon tea were all squashed around the bar area. This is the only drawback with using the Terrace Lounge for functions during the day and it would be great if the hotel management could come up with a solution for this. More space needs to be found for residents and outside bookings for lunch and afternoon tea if functions are in the Terrace Lounge. It was bad enough for us but, if I had specially booked lunch or afternoon tea (particularly at the hotel prices!) and then arrived to find that I wasn't in the elegant lounge but was squashed around the bar area, I would have been asking for my money back. The Miramar staff are so lovely and the hotel does the day-to-day service for residents so well that it's a shame that the management seem to let the side down by trying to cram as many functions in as possible to the detriment of holiday guests. That was the one reason that we didn't choose the hotel for our wedding last year-we know how often guests are inconvenienced by a function. Come on, Miramar management, get your act together! Either confine functions to the Restaurant, Library and Garden Suite or make some more space!
If you are staying there and there isn't a function on, this hotel is excellent and the front of house staff are some of the best that we have ever encountered. The food is lovely and the service good. It's in a brilliant spot within walking distance of the sea-front and the centre of Bournemouth.

Room Tip: Ask first, when you book, if there is a function on and staff will usually book your rooms away from...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsCW313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (781)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Miramar
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

563 - 569 of 781 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2014

Treated very well food good, reasonable prices Highly recommend.
Nicely situated on beach front overlooking Bournemouth Bay.
Plenty of secure parking space out back of hotel
A short walk into Bournemouth. Will book again

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vic G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Excellent hotel. Staff very attentive. Plenty of choice for breakfast. Room was spacious with temperature control. Windows kept the wind out despite the building being grade II listed. ..................................................................

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank totrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

My wife and I recently stayed for one night on a dinner bed and breakfast basis at the Miramar.Although we had been to the hotel for tea on several occasions,this was the first time we stayed.
Reception staff were very friendly and helpful and our room,a standard double was warm and comfortable, although the bed was a little hard for my liking it suited my wife.The bathroom was a tad on the small side but was well equipped and even the shower was ok........a bit of a rarity in many hotels.
We enjoyed our dinner and the food was efficiently served and very tasty with decent sized portions.We also enjoyed a complimentary bottle of wine having signed up to the hotel's Privilege Card.Coffee and mints were served in the lounge.
We ordered early morning tea in our room which was supplied at no charge.....again a nice and rare touch.Breakfast was good especially the generous sized portions of smoked haddock with poached eggs.
A friendly farewell and check-out at reception and we were on our way.
One small point was the bar service before dinner.A bit hit and miss we thought and a smile or two wouldn't go amiss!
In summary,a very pleasant cosy hotel offering a high degree of comfort and good food at a very reasonable price.Good parking too.
We shall return.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I would rate this hotel very high on my list of likes. It is in a great location overlooking Bournemouth Bay, up high on the East Cliff. You can walk into Bournemouth for a great shopping experience, and eat in the restaurant at night, which we found very good. My daughter had her wedding here in 2010 and everything was perfect. We stayed again a while ago, and found everything was just as good. The rooms are very comfortable and the staff friendly, helpful and welcoming. The public rooms are very comfortable and traditional, and there is plenty of parking at the back. We will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: There are two very large rooms on either wing over the semi circular bays, with beautiful balconies...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clearaschristal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

The day of my daughter's wedding August 2013 was spoilt by the lack of communication and support in the absence of the main organiser, who was on holiday, resulting in my daughter in tears in the morning. We didn't get everything we asked for or paid for and we intended to withhold the balance until after the honeymoon, but in the meantime the money had already been deducted from her account by the hotel. Individual disappointments too numerous to mention. Would not recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patsy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

My wife and I spent a crash out BB&D weekend at the Miramar, what a lovely time we had great and attentive staff in reception, bar and restaurant and the management wasn't bad either, lovely presented served breakfast, afternoon tea we had delicious sandwiches and more tea than you could drink, the two evening meals were excellent and nicely presented our room a sea view was very comfortable although the bed a little hard for us, but of course preferred by others, my only complaint is with Bournemouth Hotels including the Miramar is the lack of a decent beer, cream flow beer is always gassy unless you are respectfully a northerner, who like a beer head like a floater coffee or bigger even a choice of bottle beer would be nice, and no I don't want Guinness pored from a can and please would hotels explain to staff if an Englishman asks what beer they have, we generally mean ale and don't want to be offered lager or cider I wouldn't hopefully expect to be offered a whiskey if I asked for a brandy (there I have got that off my chest) however I will rate this hotel with the full 5 stars as the ale problem is a national hotel problem and staff need to be trained the difference.

Room Tip: The sea view rooms are a must
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.3 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 67 in Bournemouth
3,522 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#12 of 67 in Bournemouth
162 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 67 in Bournemouth
2,034 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Miramar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miramar

Address: E Overcliff Dr, Bournemouth BH1 3AL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#10 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: £84 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Miramar 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is 2 minutes walk from the beach. Hotel Miramar is an Edwardian building featuring Roman inspired pillars and curved balconies that overlook the sea and the landscaped gardens. Located less than a mile from Bournemouth town centre and offering free Wi-Fi and free private parking. The award-winning chef serves such delights as Tempura Prawns and Roasted Cannon of Lamb from the seaview restaurant, as well as a traditional Sunday lunch. Afternoon tea including sandwiches and scones are offered from the Ocean Bar and Terrace, as well as a lighter lunch menu. All rooms at the Miramar offer either sea or garden views and some room types feature large private balconies. All rooms include a flat-screen TV with Freeview, tea/coffee making facilities, as well as a seating area and a tiled en suite bathroom. Bournemouth Rail Station is located within a mile of the hotel and the sea front can be reached within 5 minutes on foot. Sandbanks, a popular and prestigious peninsula in England, is just a 15-minute drive away. This is our guests' favorite part of Bournemouth, according to independent reviews. This property is also rated for the best value in Bournemouth! Guests are getting more for their money when compared to other properties in this city. We speak your language! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your Hotel Miramar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miramar Hotel Bournemouth
Bournemouth Hotel Miramar
Miramar Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing