We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A port in a storm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Trouville Hotel
Ranked #44 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“A port in a storm”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2013

Our boiler broke down at home during very cold weather & so we booked a night at this hotel to get warm & so that we could have a hot shower. The room we were allocated was lovely & warm after our rather cold house. The room was adequate but rather dated. The beds were rather cheap quality " Silent Night " makes & rather uncomfortable. The bed linen was white & very clean though. There was a large flat screen T.V. on the wall which looked out of place besides the dated furniture & 80s decor. The bathroom was modern & reasonably clean, although there were a couple of hairs on the sink which had been missed during cleaning. There were toiletries provided but only combined hair/shower gel. In most hotels hair conditioner & moisturiser is provided but not here, so don't forget your own! I did forget to bring a face cloth & asked for one at reception as there weren't any provided in the bathroom. I had to go without as I was told they didn't have any though!
The swimming pool was lovely & warm & I enjoyed a swim in the evening, especially as I was the only one in there.
Breakfast was served in a warm & very pleasant room. There was a good selection of cereals, fruit juice, prunes, peaches & grapefruit. There was as much cooked breakfast as you wanted consisting of sausages, bacon, fried bread, beans, tomato, fried eggs & scrambled eggs. Tea & coffee was brought to the table as was a rack of toast. The breakfast was more than adequate & nicely cooked.
All members of staff were very polite & helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jillyanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    167
    124
    63
    41
See reviews for
58
190
33
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Caterham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

Dropped our 4 lovely children off to stay with Nanny and Grandad..
Just Mummy and Daddy to go away somewhere quiet..
You get the picture?
I dont like to moan but..
I booked this hotel through groupon as a try?
A deal came up through groupon so I decided to book a 2 night stay with a 3 course meal on the first night, all for £109. Bargain? To be fair, the food and service was very good, but the restaurant where the groupon people were to dine was in a very well lit meeting room on the dance floor..
The room we were allocated was at the front of the hotel and was very dark and had that (needing a facelift feel about it).. We asked to move and were offered an alternative which at the time seemed better.
However, after a sleepness night with a very thin duvet/smallest double bed I have ever slept in and the noisiest road just outside the open window which had to be open as the heating was on full blast!! I think you get the picture?
(Saturday morning)
Shower was terrible!! Might as well just stuck my head under the tap (more pressure)
Breakfast was excellent and again the staff and service couldnt have been better.
After shopping most of the day in Bournemouth, We decided that we didnt want to stay another night in this hotel, plus the fact it was so boring in Bournemouth in January. We visit the New Forest on a very frequent basis, but unless its summer, dont bother!
We came home, went out for dinner and had the best nights sleep. (You cant beat your own bed)
I wanted to go away and come home feeling rested and resfreshed. I came home well fed, but very tired and stressed.
Moral of the story is. Only book a hotel if its recommended or if its expensive. Otherwise stay at home.

Room Tip: Home sweet home
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2012

Just had a night away with my partner for some me time. Front desk staff really pleasant and helpful. Huge room at back of hotel away from street noise. Good choice for dinner. Good quality breakfast. Would return.

Room Tip: Room 117 at back so quiet and huge
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JEP61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2012

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights late Nov/Dec, Location very good and handy for shops and a nice walk on the beach. We found the staff polite and professional. The food and the price of drinks very good. The hotel could do with a makeover some places bit tatty.

Did not get the best sleep as some guests very noisey at 3am on both nights. For location and service excellent.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peter g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2012

I stayed here for 1 night having got a very good deal. I'm reasonably local and wanted somewhere to stay after a work do and the Trouville was a very lucky find - well beyond the usual room-only hotel. Good points for me:
- All the staff I encountered were extremely professional and polite.
- My (single) room was spotlessly clean, warm and comfortable.
- Use of the leisure complex. Sign in at reception. I was the only one to have used it that day and I had the whole pool and sauna to myself for an hour - really lovely.
- Breakfast was tasty and plentiful.
- Location. Was great for my needs, but also for anyone wanting to do shopping (under 5 mins' walk to town centre), go to the BIC (just down the road) or beach.
- Free parking in a large car-park.
- Free Wi-Fi with a good strong signal.
All in all, I had a very enjoyable time.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kakipii294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2012

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights with friends primarily to visit the Bournemouth Xmas Market, which is pretty much non-existent so wouldn’t recommend it, maybe it’s new to the town and in a couple of years’ time it will have expanded.
The hotel is in a good location, very handy for the town and restaurants with a car park attached. The reception, bar and restaurant staff are very friendly and efficient. We stayed in room 203 which was very small in comparison to the rooms our friends had. It was extremely cold at all times, even with the heating on which was controlled by reception. The floorboards are very creaky and the windows rattle when it’s windy, there was also a large damp patch in the corner of the room, however, the bed was very comfortable.
The bar area is large with plenty of tables and seating with the bar prices being reasonable. The dining area is a large room, again with plenty of tables with a hot buffet breakfast which is served. The food is of a good quality and plentiful, we didn’t have dinner as we went out each night.
All in all a reasonable hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol9159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights to visit the Bournemouth Xmas Market.

Before I get onto the Hotel - a word of warning - do not bother with the Xmas Market as it has just 15-20 stalls and doesn't really come up to scratch.

The Hotel however was very good. Nicely placed in the town on the doorsteps of pretty much everything. Car parking (free) is readily available right next to the Hotel. Inside the hotel it was just what you expect from a seaside hotel. Corridors, squeaky floorboards, a plentiful bar with nice seating. The breakfasts were superb quality. We went out for dinner so cannot comment on that. The restaurant area is very very nice and has great views. Service was always very good.

Evening entertainment was supplied on both evenings we were there. This may be because it was handling a Tinsel and Turkey event or it may be entertainment every evening?

The bedrooms were a bit hit and miss. We had room 205 which was excellent - very large with seperate large bathroom and even though the heating was mot on, it never got cold. Our friends had two other rooms which were not so good - one was freezing cold and the other was plagued by the squeeky floorboards from the room above seemingly all night.

Ocverall for us a good hotel. Our frineds may have different views.

Room Tip: Room 205 was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GraemeMaidstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Exeter Hotel
Royal Exeter Hotel
#10 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Collingwood
Hotel Collingwood
#8 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Central Hotel
Park Central Hotel
#7 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth
0.9 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#38 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Bournemouth Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Trouville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Trouville Hotel

Property: The Trouville Hotel
Address: 5-7 Priory Road, Bournemouth BH2 5DH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Trouville Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Lastminute, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Trouville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trouville Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing