We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In Need of an Update”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Trouville Hotel
Ranked #44 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
essex
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“In Need of an Update”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

My friend and I stayed here for one night over the MayDay Bank Holiday, as it was near to the BIC.
Our room on the 2nd floor room 223, was very poor, wallpaper peeling off the walls, ceiling yellow, room overly hot, no air conditioning, 2 windows that opened but due to noise from club nearby we could not leave these open in the evening !
We also were running late (not hotels fault) so ordered room service, which they said would be 20 mins, pasta dish and burger, it was 40 mins so we chased, it then appeared 'COLD' so we could not eat it, we got a refund but noone bothered to collect the tray !
Due to this food experience we did not have breakfast at the hotel
All in all I would say, dont stay, look for something better

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzanne t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    167
    124
    63
    41
See reviews for
58
190
33
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

I stayed here whilst attending a conference at the BIC. The venue is a two minute walk so it was ideal. It's about 4 minutes from the pier.
Food is acceptable. Breakfast is pretty good. I didn't eat in the restaurant for lunch and dinner but the smell was good.almost £6 for a single gin and tonic is a bit steep. Wetherspoons is just around the corner.
The lift is hilarious. It is ancient. It has a swing open door and an automated concertina cage door inside. It creaks and bangs.
I stayed on the top floor. The room was small but clean. The bed was very comfortable. There was no air-con so I had to sleep with the windows open. The road outside can get busy and noisy.
The bathroom was newly refurbished and nice but there was water damage to some woodwork.
The room door has a Yale lock that could not be further secured. There was no chain or spy hole. Some travellers might be concerned. The room had no safe and on check-in, I found my room door insecure. It has no automatic closing.It happened again during my stay meaning that my valuables were at risk as anyone could have walked in. I complained and it didn't happen again.
The room was clean and reasonably well maintained.
I have to add that the floorboards are a nightmare. They all creak loudly.
I would recommend the hotel if visiting the BIC but it is not brand new.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FiveStarVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

Second year I've stayed four nights in this hotel and it has improved, still a long way to go though. For a mid star hotel it sets itself a low standard and still fails to achieve it. Rooms are tired and in need of a lift, a lick of paint and a maintenance crew / manager that cares. Prices are good and the European staff work hard to give good service.

Had one meal in the restaurant, it was ok. When the menu says pate with melba toast don't give me some cheap basics pate with Danish crispbread and raspberry jam. If you can't do it, don't do it. I had pork which seemed boiled and friends had steak (at a premium) trouble is that looked boiled too, not near a flame.

Needs the Hotel Inspector to tell them where TLC needs adding.

Room Tip: Don't expect anything to be new except the beer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
233 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

We contacted this hotel, having noticed them on Gourmet Society. We were going to a show at the BIC, and this establishment offered free parking (if you eat there). This suited us, as we'd need to eat, and it was very convenient for the BIC.

The hotel (from what we could see) is a little dated, but the service from the staff was very good. They were attentive, polite and courteous. The food was absolutely fine. We ate in the bar area as the doors at the BIC didn't open until 7pm (and we didn't get there til 18:00).

All in all, it was a pleasant experience and we'd certainly consider using/staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CathyM_and_IanJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Had 4 nights here with a friend it's a nice friendly hotel but very dated needs modernising beds we're comfy but pillows were not food was excellent breakfast staff on the whole we're pleasant especially paulo but some never even smiled and constantly spoke to one another in their native language the pool not good changing rooms or lack of we're not good the jacuzzi was not working.all in all was ok would probably stay again but if I could find another hotel more modern I would.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheryl_ludlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west midlands
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

The hotel location was excellent for us but could be awkward for people with walking difficulties as is situated on a steep part of Priory Road. We found the reception staff to be very friendly and attentive, nothing was too much trouble. The restaurant staff were the same. We found the food to be excellent quality on an evening, however, at breakfast it was sometimes cold as it was a buffet service. The rooms were adequate but could do with some updating.
We would consider visiting this hotel again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front can be noisy, rooms at back can be dark due to excessive foliage and trees .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosebudWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sussex
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Very clean hotel, room very big, but very basic, it cost us £100 a night for 2 including breakfast and can easy say we have stayed at better for the cost.
We had room 198, which was level to a footpath, which was very noisy in the early hours of the morning with revellers going back to their hotels. Also on Monday morning we were woken up by the dustcart collecting the rubbish.
If you want a good night sleep do not accept room 197, 198 or 199 !

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whitesussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Exeter Hotel
Royal Exeter Hotel
#10 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Collingwood
Hotel Collingwood
#8 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Central Hotel
Park Central Hotel
#7 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth
0.9 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#37 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Bournemouth Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Trouville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Trouville Hotel

Property: The Trouville Hotel
Address: 5-7 Priory Road, Bournemouth BH2 5DH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Trouville Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Lastminute, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Trouville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trouville Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing