We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb hotel with a big heart”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Durley Grange Hotel
Ranked #33 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Hayling Island, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Superb hotel with a big heart”
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Just returned from a 2 week stay booked after reading the previous reviews left by others.
Chosen also for position for ease of access to all buses available at Poole Hill. This hotel has such a warm and welcoming feeling because it has staff that care and are truely commited to their guests. I have worked in the holiday industry for 30 years and know that your staff are so important to the success of any hotel. Well this hotel has some of the best staff any hotel could possibly have, from the welcoming reception with Emma and her team and the restaurant with the delightful Fatima. Nothing is too much trouble for anyone at The Durley Grange. We had a refurbished room, OK it was on the small side but so very smart, bright and modern and with everything one could possibly need. Yes, the lift is small but at least this hotel has one, so many do not and it works extremely well if needed for moving luggage etc. Food quality is excellent and again nothing is too much trouble, all you have to do is ask. Hotel provides live entertainment most nights, acts certainly chosen well for the clientelle. Anyone who has a problem and doesn't let the staff deal with it is being totally unfair and unjust to a great team. I certainly hope to be able to return and feel genuinely welcomed by 'friends' not people doing a job. Be warned, this hotel is special, it hugs you, so any visit to Bournemouth can only be a visit to The Durley Grange for me. Thank you all

Room Tip: Our room to the rear on first floor was not affected by any noise from lounge. Only disturbing nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    138
    30
    16
    20
See reviews for
79
154
21
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Very friendly good food and comfy rooms the swimming pool is very refreshing lovely staff. Can really recommend this hotel for a great stay in bournemouth. I have visited plenty of interesting places and plenty of boar trips

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johneastman58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tadcaster, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

stayed 4 nights at this hotel room clean and bright faced west so had some lovely evening sunshine.Our room was on 2nd floor the stairs were quite steep, used lift sometimes very small but did its job. Food was good plenty at breakfast had evening meal twice at first we thought the menu was very plain but the food was very nice when it came meat was nice and tender and some nice veg & potatoes,the menu was there for the full week so we were able to decide which days we would eat in the hotel so we could work our days out.The staff were very friendly. Hotel has parking which is handy also not far to walk to get onto sea front.We had a problem with the shower head in our bathroom we reported it they came and fixed it the same day. Swimming pool ok but could do with extra bench in changing room only 1 chair also while we were there the jacuzzi was cold.Would say the hotel is in a very convienent location for getting around

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 28christine_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Nice cheap budget hotel but dont expect attention to detail and quality and you get what yopu pay for for a one star bed and breakfast.............rooms adequate but small and bed a bit lumpy. Swimming pool is sweet and cooling after a hot day on the beach although hair dryer not working well in changing room and water in jacuzzi very cold.......... average food although buffet style would have been preferred as portions were quite small.
Thye stay was totally ruined for me and my partner though.........we booked for one night last Fiday night and checked out Sat am. Was a really hot day so decided to leave the car in the car park and go to the beach.town for the day. got back to hotel around 7pm and I left the car running with my partner inside to get the air con going....went back to hotel to quickly use the toliet/have a glass of tap water and get ready for the return journey home............I got back in the car and the hotel manager rushed out to confront me and accuse us of having some buffet dinner which of course we DID NOT !................ I am shocked and upset by this accusation and this confromtation totally destroyed the good charm and feeling of this hotel. I would not recommend it to anyone and only stayed here because the far superior Brittania and Heathlands were fully booked............leave well alone as the attitude of the staff is very poor !!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durley G, General Manager at Durley Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2013
Thank you about the comments that you made of our hotel. We tried our best to accommodate you after that you had checked out from the hotel on Saturday morning. We let you park your car in our car park and allowed you to join our residents and eat the sandwiches, strawberries and cream that we had layed out for them, whilst watching Wimbledon on the TV. Later on Saturday evening you returned took a plate from the resident buffet an then joined the queue, this was when the house manager approached you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Fab few days at the Durley Grange..... lovely small hotel with a real friendly and homely feel, thanks to Emma and Sue. The breakfasts were good and the evening meals, excellent and exceptional value for money..... the Chef is a real credit to the Durley Grange. On top of wonderful food.... fantastic live entertainment every night too. Nice swimming pool and sauna. Great location.... only 5 minute walk to the beautiful beach at Durley Chine, the park and shops. Looking forward to our next visit!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2013

a very clean and tidy hotel with welcoming and friendly staff.
FANTASTIC swimming pool for the kids and in a walking distance from the beach.
we had a great stay and very good value for money, we will definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank we-are-family-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durley G, General Manager at Durley Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay wit us and made full use of our facilities.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Durley Grange Hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 June 2013

After a stressful week I needed a relaxing w/end away from it all.
FOOD = EXCELLENT
STAFF= COURTEOUS & DOWN TO EARTH
ROOM= CLEAN & COMFORTABLE
This lovely hotel "does exactly what it says on the tin" and a special thanks to Emma and Sue who made me laugh and were thoroughly professional.
Thank you all. I will definitely return.
Fondest regards,
John Ball.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jball774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durley G, General Manager at Durley Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments on the Hotel. I will pass on you compliments to Sue & Emma.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
New Westcliff Hotel
New Westcliff Hotel
#49 of 66 in Bournemouth
486 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Collingwood
Hotel Collingwood
#8 of 66 in Bournemouth
628 reviews
0.2 mi away
West Cliff Inn
West Cliff Inn
#52 of 66 in Bournemouth
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#32 of 66 in Bournemouth
269 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Durley Dean Hotel
The Durley Dean Hotel
#38 of 66 in Bournemouth
928 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durley Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durley Grange Hotel

Property: Durley Grange Hotel
Address: 6 Durley Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5JL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Durley Grange Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Durley Grange is a privately owned, family run hotel, conveniently situated in a quiet corner in the heart of Bournemouth’s prestigious West Cliff and within easy walking distance to the town centre, theatres, conference centre and award winning beaches. On arrival you are greeted by friendly reception staff who will assist and advise you with all of your enquires. In order that we provide the perfect holiday break for you we can also suggest places to visit and book tee off times for golfers and for special occasions discreetly arrange flowers and chocolates in the room. The hotel is personally overseen by our Proprietor, Hamid who prides himself on creating a relaxed and informal atmosphere for all his guests, many who visit us time and time again. All of the staff offer a warm welcome and hospitality with an eye for detail to ensure that the hotel becomes your home during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, LateRooms, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Durley Grange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing