We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Durley Grange Hotel
Ranked #33 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Winchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tired”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfast was excellent although the hotel itself is a little tired and the drinks were expensive. The changing room of the pool was not very well kept and the toilet door was so warped it wouldnt shut.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    138
    30
    16
    20
See reviews for
79
155
21
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
rushden
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Every time we go to this hotel the staff seem happier more helpful and above seem to work harder
the food just gets better and better one little moan the bar prices are a tad too high i think but there you go what else can you say about our favorit hotel even loopy lo our friend Sandra loved it but she is easly pleased will be back next year Swiming pool is still great the best thing was that there were no kids there and most of the time we had the pool to our shelfs

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 19Daveg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We booked for one night as we were having a two night stay in the area and had spent one night in Swanage. The reviews looked promising. We arrived at 1.30 and the room was not ready so we left our bag and went walkabout. We got back about 3.30 and were given our key. The room was small with the fitted furniture looking quite new. The mattress was a bit hard and lumpy which didn't do our elderly bones much good and the bed linen looked old , a bit torn in a couple of places and very creased ( after reading another review earlier I just hope we didn't sleep in unwashed bedding) the bathroom had old stained carpet on the floor (??????) and there seemed to be a layer of dust around the bath which warranted a wipe down before entering. We chose not to eat dinner as it was a set menu and we have fairly small appetites. On the two occasions when we left the hotel and dropped the room key into the slot as requested, we had to wait a little while for a staff member to appear on our return to hand over the key. The breakfast however was first class and the staff friendly and fun.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SandieDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We travelled down on the last weekend of May from London (We all work in the Hotel industry).

Perfect for a relaxing break from city life. We had 5 Twin Rooms B&B - free Wifi included and the breakfast was wonderful! Sue certainly made the morning friendly and spritely.

We encountered Johnathon when making the booking and check in. Unfrotunately a guest was complaining and this made us a little uncomfortable but it happens. We felt he could have been chirpier.

The bedrooms were pleasent but need some concentration and refurbishment. Our Towel rail fell off and the Towels were all damp, even replacements unfortunately.

The pool and Sauna were great! We occupied this morning, noon and night when possible. The changing rooms spelt of mould and need upkeep.

I asked for a recommendation from Emma, for a good place to have Dinner, recommendations were great, correct and directions were a perfect way to view the town/ seafront in its glory.

Hotel owner was efficient and knowledgful, great conversationer! Really nice to meet him in person.

Overal a wonderful stay and highly recommended for a quiet place to stay near the beach- parking is a nightmare though.

Room Tip: Try getting Level 1 - easier access
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hallobago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sulby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I booked this hotel for a family trip. Needed 3 rooms - singles and doubles. Easy to book and no single room supplement - bonus! Then I need to arrange a late night check in - totally easy - bonus! There was nothing that was too much trouble. From start to finish my dealings with the Durley Grange were fabulous. The hotel confirmed my booking not only by email but also in the post -a fabulous customer service touch which I loved. We arrived at nearly midnight to be met by two really helpful members of front of house staff. We had two rooms opposite each other and one just along the way. All were spotlessly clean, well appointed and comfy. TV and hairdryers supplied. If you want modern chrome and glass this is not the hotel for you. But if you want a fabulous slightly retro feel UK seaside resort hotel then this scores 100%. The price of our rooms included breakfast and it was FABULOUS - 2 courses - fruits / cereals / pastries to start followed by a very well cooked Full English. All served in a traditional type waitress service dining room and I must mention Sue who served our table. Absolutely made our trip - wonderful prompt service, fabulous sense of humour. Cheeky and funny. If we go back to Bournemouth we'll be back at Durley.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DraggyBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Durley Grange as our friend was getting married at a local venue. Everything was clean and tidy. The breakfast ladies were great fun. The only negative was the sheets were still damp from tumble drying. Would happily recommend.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Again my mum and myself stayed at this hotel for a five night break. We are always welcomed by Hamid, the proprietor who makes us very welcome. All the staff are so welcoming and make our stay fun. Food is excellent and served by very obliging and friendly staff.

Only two negative observations: The sauna could have been slightly hotter and our bathroom unfortunately wasn't cleaned properly during the stay (floor needed hoovering/sweeping).

However this was far outweighed by all the positives. Our room was warm and comfortable and had a TV with plenty of channels. There was live entertainment every night in the Dorset Lounge.
An the swimming pool was very relaxing and is my personal treat each afternoon before the evening meal.

Had one night of very disturbed sleep with youngsters who were drunk being very noisy. We did complain the next morning, as did other guests. Hope they don't take groups of youngsters again although I appreciate turning business away is hard.

This really is a gem of a hotel. Many of the guests return over and over again. We met up with three other folk who we had seen before on our previous visits! We will probably see them again when we return in August for a further 4 night break! Can't wait.

Excellent value for money, excellent hotel, excellent staff - look no further - just book!

Keg and Muriel (Sandhurst/Crowthorne)
28th May 2014

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kegferretfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
New Westcliff Hotel
New Westcliff Hotel
#50 of 66 in Bournemouth
494 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Collingwood
Hotel Collingwood
#8 of 66 in Bournemouth
638 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Durley Dean Hotel
The Durley Dean Hotel
#39 of 66 in Bournemouth
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
West Cliff Inn
West Cliff Inn
#52 of 66 in Bournemouth
399 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#35 of 66 in Bournemouth
273 reviews
0.2 mi away
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
#51 of 66 in Bournemouth
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durley Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durley Grange Hotel

Property: Durley Grange Hotel
Address: 6 Durley Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5JL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Durley Grange Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Durley Grange is a privately owned, family run hotel, conveniently situated in a quiet corner in the heart of Bournemouth’s prestigious West Cliff and within easy walking distance to the town centre, theatres, conference centre and award winning beaches. On arrival you are greeted by friendly reception staff who will assist and advise you with all of your enquires. In order that we provide the perfect holiday break for you we can also suggest places to visit and book tee off times for golfers and for special occasions discreetly arrange flowers and chocolates in the room. The hotel is personally overseen by our Proprietor, Hamid who prides himself on creating a relaxed and informal atmosphere for all his guests, many who visit us time and time again. All of the staff offer a warm welcome and hospitality with an eye for detail to ensure that the hotel becomes your home during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Durley Grange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing