We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great new find”
Review of Mansfield Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mansfield Hotel
Ranked #80 of 132 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Lutterworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great new find”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

having gone off the trip advisor reviews me and my wife took a couple of days away at the mansfield,
What an absolutely great find .
I will start with the only negative because it is just a minor niggle,and is far outwayed by the positives.
The breakfast was a continental selection of cold meats,cheese,cereal,fresh fruit etc.all fantastic and nice.but as we went during the week this was the only option,We would have happily paid another £20 (We paid £70 for two nights B&B ) to have a big cooked breakfast to set us up for the day.AND THATS IT !

The room was spotlessly clean, nice hot shower, and the staff and owner were great,
One minute walk from the sea,and ten minutes stroll along the front to the town, what more could you want.

Room Tip: Ask for room number 8 nice to see the sun come up through the blinds
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    9
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
6
4
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We came to stay at the Mansfield Hotel for a mid-October weekend break and were pleasantly suprised with the quality of the room and the friendliness of the staff. The breakfast choices were varied (cereal, toast, croissants, tea, coffee, orange juice, apple juice) and the cooked breakfast was superb. I was even treated to Veggie sausages on the second morning, which I thought was very considerate (full maks for presentation as well!). The room we stayed in was very clean and had everything we needed.The bed was the size of Africa and incredibly comfortable. The only issue we had was that sound from the rest of the hotel tended to travel quite well so it was sometimes possible to hear entire conversations from the floor below. The staff were very helpful but not overbearing and were keen to ensure that we enjoyed our stay.

This was a budget trip and overall we were very happy with the Hotel, thank you!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

It's been said before by other reviewers, the staff are so friendly and helpful, and that made our stay in Bournemouth (19th to 23rd August) that extra bit special.

It might be said that helpful, friendly staff should be something you would expect but it isn't always the case, so at the Mansfield the staff make it obvious that nothing is too much trouble and in my opinion this will always add to the holiday experience.

The room we had was clean and fresh, with an enormous double bed, good quality linen and towels and also good quality pillows, not those cheap and nasty foam filled efforts that some hotels tend to use.

There is a "continental breakfast" served on week-days and I have never been a great fan of this type of breakfast but I can now say that I have been converted, there were the usual croissants, juice or coffee, but also a good choice of cold meats and cheese, fruit salad, yogurts, cereal, toast, jams and marmalade.

The location is also very good, being about a 5 minute walk from the beach and there's a choice of how you return to the hotel, either on foot or you can use the rail lift if the day has been long and tiring.

So, to wrap up, a totally enjoyable stay, and we look forward to staying again.

Room Tip: Put the Mansfield at the top of your list.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steevie91050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Came here with a friend who's based locally, made to feel really welcome by the supper friendly but efficient service.
The staff were helpful and knowledgeable about the local area, making our short stay a real pleasure.
Much better value that budget chain hotels, the room we stayed in was clean and had a fresh modern feel. Parking is limited so please check with staff. A very short walk to the beach, makes this a great place to stay if you're down for the air-show too.
I will definitely be back soon !

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jazz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

We were down here for the May bank holiday week-end and were in a large group (19).
The hotel was excellent for our needs, great location, great staff, good lounge / bar area. The rooms were adequate and the breakfasts each morning were superb, cereal, fruit, croissant and full English. We weren’t at the hotel for a great deal of time, but it was great for what we wanted and would recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wilcoxtww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

I know the hotel only in Winter term, they don't run as a hotel in this period, they are a residence/
For the price (£95) per week a double room I think is very good, it's quite clean, quite and renovated. Also the staff is friendly.
They also provided use of the kitchen, living room and computers (wifi for a laptop to).
The room as bathroom en suite, fridge and television.
I think for the price is excellent value and also the location is very good.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pepita_Ruiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, UK
Level Contributor
84 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

We stayed here for a stag do and can't really complain about it. Although decor and rooms are a little old an run down, everything worked and was very clean!

The receptionist was extremely friendly and helpful, breakfast was included and was a very nice Full English!

Location is 5 minutes walk from the beach and 10 from the pier, ideal for us as we could walk into town without paying for cabs.

Main negative was the showers which had very little water pressure so it was just a dribble!

But overall it was a functional hotel that served its purpose!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobYoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.0 mi away
Tower House Hotel
Tower House Hotel
#34 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#29 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ullswater Hotel
Ullswater Hotel
#50 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Savoy Hotel
The Savoy Hotel
#37 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
0.2 mi away
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
#52 of 66 in Bournemouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mansfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansfield Hotel

Property: Mansfield Hotel
Address: West Cliff Gardens, Bournemouth BH2 5HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 30

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing